We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Room with a View (An amazing one!)”
other travelers have booked this property
Philoctetes bungalow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Philoctetes bungalow
Privately owned bungalows set on a well kept and quiet site. Views of the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Philoctetes bungalow
Privately owned bungalows set on a well kept and quiet site.
Views of the sea
Seating area on the lawn in front of the bungalow
Cosy and comfortable living area
Open plan dining / kitchen area.
Double bedroom with sea and countryside views.
Twin bedroom
Bathroom with electric shower.
Children's play area
Indoor swimming pool, with sea views.
Fabulous views from the front of the site.
Summerleeaze Beach Bude
Lock gates looking out to sea at Bude.
Vast sandy beach at Widemouth Bay.
End your day with wonderful sunsets.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Widemouth Bay, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gez666215
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Room with a View (An amazing one!)”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Philoctetes, the bungalow was everything we hoped for and the fabulous view from the front room window will live long in our memories. The camp site offered an array of things to do and excellent food. The only complaint was the unsettled British weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views from the Lounge window
Liked least: The walk either through fields or down an unpaved road to Widemouth Bay beach.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are really glad you found the property and location to your liking. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet W
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing, welcoming, well equipped holiday bunglaow”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We enjoyed a lovely weeks holiday staying in this accommodation. Well situated in Widemouth just outside Bude, North Cornwall.
The bungalow has been updated to a very high standard. I would definitely recommend to friends and family.
Thank you, we will certainly book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,
Liked least: Having to come home
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2015
Thank you for kind feedback. In the past 12 months we have replaced / renewed many items in the bungalow and we constantly looking for ways to improve it. We are very glad you like what we have done. Looking forward to hearing again from you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siva S
Sutton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accomodation with acessible aminities”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Good short beak for family of 4 with all the facilities,Bocastle with superb farm shop.Visited Bude town centre where able to buy the locally brewed ale from different areas of Cornwall.
Morrison supermarket was helpfull immensely.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our holiday home. We are really glad you enjoyed your holiday and we hope you choose to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Didn't want to go home”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a lovely relaxing week's holiday. With the bungalow having everything you need and more we felt completely relaxed and at home from day 1. Everything was spotlessly clean. The views from the living room window were stunning and those sunsets are amazing. The site itself was chilled and relaxing, we had the best nights sleep ever. Although the weather was lovely during our stay, the on site indoor pool was just perfect, the pool temperature was lovely and warm and such an added bonus to our stay. We will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything you could think of was there in the bungalow
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2014
Thank you for your pleasing comments.
We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday and found it relaxing, we do hope that you visit again sometime in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic weeks holiday”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A lovely little holiday home that's very comfortable with everything you need. The site is very nice, well maintained and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The site also has fantastic views and is well located with plenty of places to visit within a short drive. Great surfing and dog friendly beaches. Looking forward to returning in August and next year. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.
August and hopefully another great holiday will be here before you know it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian C
Alcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great value for money.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We spent a week here which we booked quite late, fortunately for us someone cancelled! Clean,comfortable and a great base for exploring this beautiful part of the country. Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our bungalow and hope you will visit us again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny G
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous bungalows with everything you could possibly need on a lovely, well kept site and very reasonably priced. The bungalows are spacious and well maintained. There is on site entertainment if you wish but the site is quiet.
We have been many times as have the rest of my family and friends and we will definitely go back!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and its wonderful when we get the same customers returning year after year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing