We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay & Eat with the Best Views anywhere.”
Review of Beach House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay & Eat with the Best Views anywhere.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

THE BEACH HOUSE
This is a great place to stay the team that took it over just last year are working incredibly hard to bring it up to date. And although that have not yet achieved their goals yet they are well on the way. You cannot fault the cleanliness of the hotel even though it is a little dated. The team that work there seem to really want to make it work and their enthusiasm shows through. It does not look much from the road but drive around to the car park and give this place a chance you will I think be pleasantly surprised in spite of the lack of curb appeal.Eating here is a must with some of the best food to be had in Cornwall. The Chef hails from Vietnam and I understand has worked at Rick Stein’s he has a classical French background, you will find different menu’s each day. This was some of the best food to be had anywhere. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 1,2 & 3 for the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falcon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    73
    24
    12
    9
See reviews for
50
115
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This chef is seriously good. The food is amazing. Fusion food at michelin star quality. I had pan seared scallops with fennel and leek compote, melted Davidstow cheddar, caper and chives beurre blanc for starter. For main I had marinated andglazed cornish duck breast, peking duck torte, potato dauphinoise and spiced plum sauce. And chefs special lemon tart served with clotted cream and raspberry coulis. All of it was just perfect. some of the best food in Cornwall. We also spent the weekend at the hotel. It was a perfect weekend break away from the city. The view from our balcony accross the bay was breath taking and the room it's self was comfortable and spacious. The staff are amazingly friendly and can't do enough for you. If you like good food good views and great value you need to go and stay at the beach house.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taggerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Booked this Hotel purely based on price (£56 a night) and what an absolute gem! it's like you are staying with friends and not at a hotel, and this is purely down to the atmosphere that Beth & Mike create. The breakfast is fantastic, proper thick bacon, meaty sausages and golden yolks. The view's not bad either. It's just what you need first thing in the morning, the sun rising out of the sea, and a beautiful sea vista that leads along the coastline to the cliffs. Perfect, just perfect.

In the evening you are in for a treat as well. The chef really shows his flare, talent and training off with the quality of the meals that he produces. It's a small menu, but totally worth it as he can make those dishes absolutely perfect. Price you pay for them is an absolute bargain compared to what you would pay for a similar dish elsewhere.

The rooms are nice and cosy, and this isn't saying cosy because of size, no, because of the decor and the furnishings. The beds are extremely comfy with lovely fresh linens. In the room I stayed in, it also had a TV/DVD combi, which was nice as it meant I didn't have to miss the rugby! (stayed while the 6 nations were on)

Seriously though, if you have read this review, stay here! you will not regret it! I fully intend on going back on the Summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 290craigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

An oil painting in the process! this place is such a breathe of fresh air for Widemouth. The owner hospitality and enthusiasm was a welcome need after visiting my elderly grandparents. I'm now really excited to see what it will look like in the Summer and can't wait to attend one of the events.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STiping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here from Christmas Eve to Boxing Day 2013, having found it quite late in the day, almost by accident on Lastminute.com. Not knowing much about it, and seeing the various photos of what appears to be a rather uninviting exterior, we were a little apprehensive. To make matters worse the weather predictions for the Bude area were looking somewhat dire. To offset this Beth’s encouraging phone calls and emails helped to allay our fears.

As it happened we need not have worried, apart from 3 sunny days, the welcome we received; the warm and cosy atmosphere; the fantastic food (the Christmas Day lunch was simply amazing!); the comfortable beds in the spotlessly clean rooms (who cares if they are a bit dated – apparently serious work is going to be done on them during 2014), and the service and personal attention from Beth and Kieran and various members of their family (including 2 Christmas cards and a small gift) – was everything we needed to make this one of the best Christmas’s we have enjoyed in a long while.

We will look forward to seeing how this best kept Cornish secret evolves over the coming months.

Thank you Beth and Kieron (and everyone else!) for a huge amount of hard work, and for staying so cheerful!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrelcoConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Beth, Mike, Kieran & the rest of the team, you are the new owners with a huge amount of enthusiasm & hospitality. You are doing a brilliant job! You know there is a lot of hard work ahead refurbishing & I wish you well with that.
Spent 5 glorious nights here with my wife & despite the dated decor in the bedroom it was spotlessly clean, warm, had a comfortable bed & a view to die for from the huge balcony of room 3, overlooking the whole bay, awesome!
Breakfast was hot, plentiful & well cooked, served up in the recently decorated beach style dining room, definitely influenced by Beth's bohemian style, which also runs through into the bar area.
During the week, evening meals are also served up here & offer an eclectic menu, using local & fresh produce. Again, well cooked & plentiful.
At present, the head chef, a protégé of Rick Stein, only works at weekends & if you get the opportunity to use the main restaurant, (it's open to none residents), do so!
The food is wonderful, all cooked fresh & to order, with his own Asian twist on things.
I had a Peking Duck dish with plum sauce that was absolutely delicious.
If we didn't have to get back home we would have extended our stay over the weekend & we were both sorry to leave.
All in all, look past the 70s decoration in the bedroom(s), these are being addressed & in time will be updated. Yes, you are paying for a spectacular view from the half dozen or so 'sea view' bedrooms, and to be honest... It's worth it.
I will be visiting again & hopefully sharing a JD, (or a Tarquins), sat at the tables on the beach with a sunset!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank R00ster1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widemouth Bay
0.9 mi away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
269 reviews
2.5 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
188 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
618 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
2.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House B&B

Property: Beach House B&B
Address: Beach House Cottage Marine Drive, Widemouth Bay EX23 0AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Widemouth Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Cornwall's best kept secret in the making! Beach House is situated on the beach overlooking the stunning Widemouth bay with 1.5 miles of golden sand. With private beach access & sea view balconies, the up and coming venue offers one of the best locations in the area for a relaxing or high energy adventure beach holiday. Already gaining rave reviews, our newly renovated panoramic bar, restaurant combines classic French cooking with global flavours to create a modern contemporary menu. Enjoy delicious delectables, gin sangria on our beach jetty & sleep with the sounds of the sea. Now under new management, & work in progress watch this once 60s holiday destination turn into one of the best venues on the North coast. 1st class food, unbeatable location & affordable budget accommodation with the best balconies and prices in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Beach House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House B&B Widemouth Bay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing