We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rough diamond!”
Review of Beach House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A rough diamond!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stared here for one night while exploring the north Cornish coast.

Upon arrival, the exterior looks very dated and neglected. There were letters missing from the hotel's sign and the paintjob was drab.

On the inside, the decor is still very 1970's Heaven's waiting room. There's a Thora Hird chairlift on the stairs and the carpets are ancient.

However, the hotel has come under new management just recently, and already I can tell it's going to become a fantastic, vibrant hotel. The new staff were amazingly friendly, chatty and sociable.

The view from the hotel looks out over the bay. The drinks are reasonably priced (although I would have liked to have seen one or two local ales). The beachside cafe, which is part of the hotel, has been completely redecorated. We had our evening meal in there. I had the 'line caught fish of the day and chips' which was red gurnard, caught from the bay you can see just out the window. It tasted FANTASTIC. The food here alone is worth the five stars I have given. We also had breakfast here. The two women who served and cooked breakfast were friendly and seemed like really nice people. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

Although the rooms look very dated, it had everything we needed for a pleasant stay. The bed was very comfy and the area was just so quiet at night. Very peaceful!

The decor is a work in progress, but this hotel is going to be THE place to stay on the Cornish north coast.Highly recommend. Plus we got the room and breakfast for £50. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    75
    24
    12
    9
See reviews for
51
116
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's a while since we ate at this restaurant. It has new management and redecoration. The view is the same over the sea but the menu has expanded to more than fish and chips although this is what we had. It was a lovely meal which we all enjoyed The fish was fresh, you could taste the sea! The welcome and warm of atmosphere was echoed in the bright fresh redecoration. Yes we will go again and sample another item on the new menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

On their flyers they advertise the Beach House as Widemouth's Best Kept Secret....not for much longer. What a turn around this place has had. We first visited two years ago for dinner one evening and found, like other contributors, that the premises resembled a run down nursing home. The transformation that the new owners have made exceeded all our expectations, though there is still a little work to do.
As a party of six we started with the scallops for some and mussels for the rest. Both were sourced locally, plump succulent and tasted absolutely fabulous. There was a reasonable interval between the starters and the main courses as the latter were cooked to order. Three of us had the Peking Duck, absolutely enormous with a fusion of flavours to salivate over; two had fresh fillets of Brill served with noodles and a side of fresh steamed vegetables and the last had an enormous steak with mushroom sauce and a separate side of chips. The Peking Duck, which filled the plate on its own also had side dishes of new Cornish potatoes and fresh veg.
Wine had been selected from a fairly comprehensive list and was very reasonably priced.
Unfortunately, we were all so full after the mains that we were unable to partake from the extremely tempting sweet menu, settling for coffee instead - nice and strong and hot.
The decor in the room is interesting, though the route through to the restaurant area is somewhat bland, and the bar area could do with a bit of a spruce up.There was a buzz throughout the evening of conversation from the other guests, but we were not seated that close to other tables for it to be intrusive. In the background at times you could hear a little music, but this inevitably stopped as the staff were so busy serving that they forgot to turn the machne back on. Sometimes that is a good thing! If you can get a window seat you are looking out across the beach, and the sunsets are really warm and inspiring.
We will all certainly go back when the next birthday celebration comes around. We had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sesachili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a lovely place to eat at. The menu is not large but thats no bad thing as at least you know you will be getting fresh seasonal produce. The fish is supplied by local fishermen and Cornish produce is used wherever possible. The Chef is Vietnamese and has lots of experience cooking in some of the best restaurants in the country, this shows in the style of his recipes. Service is excellent and not obtrusive with friendly staff who appear like magic when you need something!
The decor still needs a little work to produce a unique ambience but I understand this is in the pipeline for this winter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_E_Newman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my 4 days here. Very friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant food very good. Hotel is a work in progress but comfortable and very clean. Great potential for the future and I will definately stay here next time in the area. Only downside was that the surf was a bit blown out.

Room Tip: Just go with a balcony. The dawns and dusks are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerleon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We first visited this hotel in early June of this year and yes, the management was new but filled with enthusiasm for their new venture. The welcome and good quality food , a beachside terrace with cocktails and amazing sunsets made us promise to return in September with our large family group. We turned up, 8 adults and a toddler and were accommodated without a murmur on a busy teatime service. The restaurant has been refurbished and has a lovely tropical beach ambience with relaxing chill-out music. We were told there was a new chef, and boy is he doing a good job. Our meals ranged from Mussels, scallops, beautifully cooked steaks to the delicious Thai flavoured sea bass(already reviewed) and gorgeous desserts-creme brulee , my absolute favourite. Although busy , service was prompt and efficient. Congratulations to the team. We can only see The Beach house going from strength to strength and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaerleonFirst_timers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

you certainly don't get much for your money! from outside unappealing, pebble dash, entrance and ramp car park looking. Inside, old fashioned outdated carpets everywhere, rails, stairlift, shower curtain instead of a door to the bathroom. noise coming from everywhere. hideous furniture in the room. Breakfast with long wait, staff kept saying food on its way,'being cooked from fresh'- yes I know bacon doesn't ready cooked from the supermarket but it doesn't need 35 min!!!Dining room- mish match of mexican with tat. yes views are superb, rooms have large balconies, but that is about the best you can get. it is ruined by two inexperienced people who disconsider their customers and charge an arm and a leg for very little

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widemouth Bay
0.9 mi away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
270 reviews
2.5 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
187 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
618 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
2.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House B&B

Property: Beach House B&B
Address: Beach House Cottage Marine Drive, Widemouth Bay EX23 0AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Widemouth Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Cornwall's best kept secret in the making! Beach House is situated on the beach overlooking the stunning Widemouth bay with 1.5 miles of golden sand. With private beach access & sea view balconies, the up and coming venue offers one of the best locations in the area for a relaxing or high energy adventure beach holiday. Already gaining rave reviews, our newly renovated panoramic bar, restaurant combines classic French cooking with global flavours to create a modern contemporary menu. Enjoy delicious delectables, gin sangria on our beach jetty & sleep with the sounds of the sea. Now under new management, & work in progress watch this once 60s holiday destination turn into one of the best venues on the North coast. 1st class food, unbeatable location & affordable budget accommodation with the best balconies and prices in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beach House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House B&B Widemouth Bay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing