We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy return visit”
Review of Beach House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We first visited this hotel in early June of this year and yes, the management was new but filled with enthusiasm for their new venture. The welcome and good quality food , a beachside terrace with cocktails and amazing sunsets made us promise to return in September with our large family group. We turned up, 8 adults and a toddler and were accommodated without a murmur on a busy teatime service. The restaurant has been refurbished and has a lovely tropical beach ambience with relaxing chill-out music. We were told there was a new chef, and boy is he doing a good job. Our meals ranged from Mussels, scallops, beautifully cooked steaks to the delicious Thai flavoured sea bass(already reviewed) and gorgeous desserts-creme brulee , my absolute favourite. Although busy , service was prompt and efficient. Congratulations to the team. We can only see The Beach house going from strength to strength and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank CaerleonFirst_timers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Beach House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 230 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

you certainly don't get much for your money! from outside unappealing, pebble dash, entrance and ramp car park looking. Inside, old fashioned outdated carpets everywhere, rails, stairlift, shower curtain instead of a door to the bathroom. noise coming from everywhere. hideous furniture in the room. Breakfast with long wait, staff kept saying food on its way,'being cooked from fresh'- yes I know bacon doesn't ready cooked from the supermarket but it doesn't need 35 min!!!Dining room- mish match of mexican with tat. yes views are superb, rooms have large balconies, but that is about the best you can get. it is ruined by two inexperienced people who disconsider their customers and charge an arm and a leg for very little

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I went to the Beach House will family and friends for my birthday in August and can not wait to go back again. Service is exceptional, so friendly, helpful and efficient. Food was out of this world, compliments to the chefs!! We were in the newly refurbished part and were all so impressed with the comfortable, warm and relaxed atmosphere as well as the excellent choice in tunes!! After such an excellent night, we tried to go again two weeks later, but they were fully booked so we popped down for a cocktail instead, which again was excellent. Whilst there I couldn't help notice that the menu had completely changed, and the options were just as mouth watering!! Will be going back at the next opportunity without a doubt!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliePlatt_279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights while attending photographic workshop in area.
Beach House has recently been taken over by an enthusiastic young couple Beth and Kieran who could not have been more charming and helpful. Great praise to receptionist Mim who when I arrived earlier than expected was totally un fazed and after contacting housekeeping found me a room that was ready.
Has to be said that the room was basic and the en-suite element distinctly quirky. However it was immaculately clean, the bed new and extremely comfortable, all linen was new including lovely large sized bath sheets rather than the scarcely adequate bath towels found in some places.
I am in the same business and understand completely their situation in that having only recently taken the place over - barely three months, it is not possible to do everything at once.
My room had a balcony with a sea (and road ) view which was fine and could well be described as '70's retro chic'. However it is a work in progress. Newly painted walls could have done with a little wall art (or removal of the picture hooks)
Breakfast was fine for the price I paid - not a wide choice but the cooked options were good and delicious and served with a smile.
Catering is in two parts- a cafe offers a basic range of dishes, mostly accompanied with chips and this also provides a local takeaway service which usefully complements the small general shop own the side catering for the camper- van and beach trade.
There is also a newly established restaurant and lounge area beside the bright bar both of which have great sea views. The food here is a kind of Cornish - Asian fusion seafood style which (although sadly I didn't have time to try) was declared excellent by friends who ate there.
I wish the new owners and their cheerful young companions all the best and I imagine that in 12 months time the makeover will be complete and I look forward to coming back one day

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a two night stay. Knowing the area I considered the price of two rooms good value as I knew that the views would be stunning with excellent access to one of my favourite beaches, however the standard of the rooms can only be described as very poor and in real terms over-priced. This is a former 'residential' home; the stair lift being an immediate give-away. The hotel was not dirty, however the 70's decor, in-room sink, shower and toilet (described as en-suite!) complete with smelly yet colourful carpet, left one feeling that way. The staff were pleasant, but inexperienced and struggled with the most basic functions. My main issue is that the room, food and drinks prices are reflective of a high-end establishment, yet the service and accommodation fails to achieve such standards. I wish the staff well in their future efforts but stress the need to improve all-round as stunning views alone will not bring me back to the Beach House Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms have a seat and grab handles in shower. Similar handles in toilets with stair-lift on one the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

hello we went here on the Friday 16th august to the 18th and it was not what we expected but
the staff and owners were very nice friendly and the breakfast was very good but the food for dinner wasn't very good so we went to a pub it needs to be updated but check out the view and the beach good surf

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dean301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Only went to at rather than stay at restaurant. A bustling restaurant which is popular with locals and visitors alike, very helpful staff and lovely seafood dishes. Good value and very family friendly with a varied menu. A short walk to beach ideal for family groups.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeyweasel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widemouth Bay
0.9 mi away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
304 reviews
2.5 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
214 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
560 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House B&B

Address: Beach House Cottage Marine Drive, Widemouth Bay EX23 0AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Widemouth Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Price Range: $82 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Cornwall's best kept secret in the making! Beach House is situated on the beach overlooking the stunning Widemouth bay with 1.5 miles of golden sand. With private beach access & sea view balconies, the up and coming venue offers one of the best locations in the area for a relaxing or high energy adventure beach holiday. Already gaining rave reviews, our newly renovated panoramic bar, restaurant combines classic French cooking with global flavours to create a modern contemporary menu. Enjoy delicious delectables, gin sangria on our beach jetty & sleep with the sounds of the sea. Now under new management, & work in progress watch this once 60s holiday destination turn into one of the best venues on the North coast. 1st class food, unbeatable location & affordable budget accommodation with the best balconies and prices in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beach House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House B&B Widemouth Bay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing