We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single Traveller made very welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Single Traveller made very welcome”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had the single room 7. I was made wonderfully welcome and the staff took the time to chat to me.
The room was a good size for a single and very clean and well fitted.
A fantastic location with views to die for. The décor is driftwood and the restaurant is very modern and bright.
Lovely breakfast with fresh cherry tomatoes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalWalker1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    62
    16
    18
    17
See reviews for
90
101
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berryville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night after visiting Bude and had a beautiful sea view room, very nicely appointed and comfortable. The staff were all extremely helpful and genuinely cheerful and the food at supper was top quality. Beware the Rattler - a cloudy Cornish cider, very strong, hard to drink just one! The breakfast was rather ordinary but the Widemouth Manor Hotel is extraordinary in every other respect.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed in this Hotel and it is wonderful. We stayed in Room 1 which overlooks Widemouth Bay and is a lovely, large room with a very good en suite bathroom. The food is delicious and there is plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meals. As a vegetarian I was delighted that there was a good selection of food for me! There is a lovely bar with a pool table and a log fire and windows overlooking the bay. Also another more up-market bar with a lovely soft sofa and bar stools. The service is friendly and efficient. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in Rooms 1 and 2. Room 1 has a lovely view of Widemouth Bay. On one occasion w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noone66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was to be the only Hotel we stayed in for our holiday and thankfully it was only for one night. (the rest were B&B) although the dining room and bar had been updated and nicely finished, i'm afraid i cant say it for our room. Small coloured towels? and coloured bed linen that wasnt a good quality. the room needs a paint job. We had dinner there, looking forward to roast lamb, but came with frozen vegs and mint sauce out of a packet! Breakfast was poor, tinned mushrooms, hard bacon and totally poor. sorry but not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 221Bernice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Had our meal in the bar area as we had our dog with us but it was average food and the menu could have done with more choice but my partner enjoyed the ales which apparently are well kept :-) and the views on a clear day would be amazing

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 1968joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed for a week in August, we had three rooms between us - my mother in a single, our two kids in an adjoining/interconnecting room to ours. We were luck, we had rooms 2 & 3 at the coast end of the hotel, so we had the privilege of looking out the huge bay window on to the lower cliffs, beach and sea every morning and evening, a real joy.
All rooms were really well appointed, very clean and very comfortable, and, in my opinion, great value for money for the week. Beats a caravan or tent hands down!!

The breakfast is great, whatever you want, nearly, and always fresh and delicious. The hotel has a great restaurant, which we used many evenings, and an equally good bar.

The food in the restaurant is great, good portion sizes and quality, but a bit more variety would be nice. If you do not like fish or seafood, then you may struggle to find something different to eat every night, for a week, but never had a bad meal here, always good, and the service is brilliant all the time.

Had visited the hotel on a number of previous occasions when staying in the area (more than once per week), so this time round we decided to stay there, and I have to say, it was the right answer. Loved the rooms, love the staff, great location, good kids playground/garden. will be returning sometime, maybe next year :o)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1 or 2, to get the sea views, but all rooms have a view, be it country side or coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We were staying the weekend for a friends wedding (they selected Widemouth Manor Hotel) which turned out to be a perfect choice for them. It really reflected their personalities and the staff and service were excellent.

In terms of our stay, when we arrived our room wasn't quite ready, however we were shown to the bar and treated to some great hospitality. We had booked a double room, but were given two singles. When we queried this the staff were quick to fix the issue resolving the issue quickly and quietly.

Would definitely recommend this venue for a few days away if you are traveling to Bude.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widemouth Bay
0.9 mi away
Beach House B&B
Beach House B&B
#2 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
220 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
618 reviews
3.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
3.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
187 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widemouth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widemouth Manor Hotel

Property: Widemouth Manor Hotel
Address: Widemouth Bay | Bude, Widemouth Bay EX23 0DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Widemouth Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Widemouth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the beautiful North Cornwall Coast, The Widemouth Manor Hotel is set within its own gardens, and stands high up near the cliffs that overlook Widemouth Bay near Bude. The impressive manor, acquired in June 2015 is now a family run hotel. The hotel is decorated in cool shades of blue, reflecting its close proximity to the beaches of Widemouth Bay. Refurbishment has begun on the hotel grounds providing a panoramic glass fronted view looking over Widemouth Bay and the ocean. The Manor offers dining in the main restaurant and conservatory over looking the gardens which has its own lounge bar. Whilst a more relaxed atmosphere can be enjoyed in the adjoining public bar where dogs are welcome. Adjoining terraces surround the building, wheelchair access is now provided to the rear terraces overlooking the views. The bedrooms are well appointed and comfortable. Refurbishment has now begun to bring The Manor back to the imposing building of Widemouth Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Widemouth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widemouth Manor Hotel Widemouth Bay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing