We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all a good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We were staying the weekend for a friends wedding (they selected Widemouth Manor Hotel) which turned out to be a perfect choice for them. It really reflected their personalities and the staff and service were excellent.

In terms of our stay, when we arrived our room wasn't quite ready, however we were shown to the bar and treated to some great hospitality. We had booked a double room, but were given two singles. When we queried this the staff were quick to fix the issue resolving the issue quickly and quietly.

Would definitely recommend this venue for a few days away if you are traveling to Bude.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 315 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had lunch here on a trip walking the South West Coast path. It was on a Wednesday lunchtime during the week the school term starts, which maybe explains why it was rather empty. But we had a really really good lunch here and were a bit mystified about why there weren't more people here. The service was friendly and efficient and they made menu substitutions for us. We had a salad and chicken burger between us, both were fresh, made with good ingredients (e.g. no ground-up chicken) and were well made and put together for a simple lunch. The inside of the bar/restaurant is nothing special (standard modern pub decor, somewhat bland); when we were there the staff were busy cleaning everything very thoroughly which inspires confidence. The garden where we sat has lovely coastal views. So I would come back for lunch here anytime, especially when it's nice enough to sit outside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank James3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming here for years and it still a good place. This time we had to sit in the bar area because we had out dog with us. The drinks were ok, food was good, prices were a little high. All in all will return again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank markallen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went to Widemouth Manor for the last night of our stay in Bude as a bit of a last minute change of plan, ended up being one of the best decisions ever! The room we booked was absolutely beautiful with the most amazing sea views and was beautifully decorated. We planned to eat out and had booked a restaurant elsewhere which we immediately regretted after smelling the food and seeing how much people seemed to be enjoying their meals at Widemouth Manor. We spent the rest of the evening at the bar and spoke to some of the staff, who were more than happy to engage us in conversation and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was delicious and the serving staff were delightful and efficient, all in all, one of the best nights my family and I have had in the past 19 years of visiting Bude! Wonderful experience that I would recommend to anyone, we will definitely be re-booking!

Room Tip: The family adjoining room has a magnificent view of the sea, and has two bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckycox1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This Hotel/Restaurant is amazing! Their were 14 of us (6 adults & 8 Children) and we arrived at 10mins to 9pm. With the kitchen closing at 9pm the staff immediately set up tables for us whilst we ordered at the bar. The food was cooked and on our tables at 10mins past the hour. The food was outstanding, all with massive portions. The pricing was also spot on. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Bude.

There is also a play area at the rear with a big bouncy castle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We went for a meal at the end of a lovely holiday in Bude. What a disappointment.
All was going well with the starters, except that my grand daughter's main course came out with the other starters. Not to much of a problem.
The main courses came and should have been served with bubble and squeak and came with veg. 3 of the steaks should have been medium and 2 came under done and 1 was as tough as old boots. 1 child's meal was bought out as an adult portion. We had drinks on the bill that had not been served.
Sorry but I would not recommend to anyone even though the views are lovely looking out over widemouth beach

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Fantastic location, great restaurant. Food excellent and good value for money. Useful play area outside for kiddies. Room was basic, and layout of rooms upstairs was reminiscent of a nursing home . Unfortunately there was an intermittent beeping noise during the night in our family room, which appeared to be the smoke alarm. When we booked the hotel, I was advised that in one of the rooms we would be able to hear the noise of the fan from the kitchen below. We could certainly hear it, but it wasn't a huge problem. Bit pricey for rooms that were rather basic.

Room Tip: Family room is affected by noise of the fan from the kitchens below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisejh1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widemouth Bay
0.9 mi away
Beach House B&B
Beach House B&B
#2 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
235 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
3.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
653 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
3.5 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widemouth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widemouth Manor Hotel

Address: Widemouth Bay | Bude, Widemouth Bay EX23 0DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Widemouth Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Price Range: $94 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Widemouth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the beautiful North Cornwall Coast, The Widemouth Manor Hotel is set within its own gardens, and stands high up near the cliffs that overlook Widemouth Bay near Bude. The impressive manor, acquired in June 2015 is now a family run hotel. The hotel is decorated in cool shades of blue, reflecting its close proximity to the beaches of Widemouth Bay. Refurbishment has begun on the hotel grounds providing a panoramic glass fronted view looking over Widemouth Bay and the ocean. The Manor offers dining in the main restaurant and conservatory over looking the gardens which has its own lounge bar. Whilst a more relaxed atmosphere can be enjoyed in the adjoining public bar where dogs are welcome. Adjoining terraces surround the building, wheelchair access is now provided to the rear terraces overlooking the views. The bedrooms are well appointed and comfortable. Refurbishment has now begun to bring The Manor back to the imposing building of Widemouth Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Widemouth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widemouth Manor Hotel Widemouth Bay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing