We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable family break, home from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Oak Barn with a few chickens visiting.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oak Barn with a few chickens visiting.
View from twin bedded room across the fields. Upstairs double room,wake to the sound of the birds and check out the views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Oak Barn with a few chickens visiting.
View from twin bedded room across the fields.
Upstairs double room,wake to the sound of the birds and check out the views.
Farmhouse kitchen/diner ideal for family meals.
The cosy sitting room leading from the kitchen.
Beautiful Bude.
View across cornfield from twin bedroom
View over Widemouth Bay
Sunset from Helscott Barns
A view across the living room with squashy sofas down to the kitchen.
The view down to the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Widemouth Bay, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Derek O
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable family break, home from home”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a lovely stay at Helscott Barns, we stayed at Oak Cottage.

About 2 miles to Bude Centre which was not a problem but you would need a car. A very quick drive away to Widemouth Bay. Enjoyed some amazing sunsets and strolls along the beach there.

A comfortable place with plenty of kitchen facilities to cook for a family of 6. A great big field at the back with amazing views for the kids to run around and play football in or fly a kite.

The double bed in downstairs bedroom wasn't the most comfortable but apart from that no complaints and would be more than happy to return.

Thanks for a lovely holiday.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Thank you for leaving us a review, it was lovely to meet you all and hope to see you again.We will look into the bed situation, thanks for letting us know and it will be replaced by next season.John and Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_W_B...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was clean and comfortable in a very peaceful location. The owner friendly and helpful. We had many trips into Bude and enjoyed walks along the coast and dips in the sea and sea pool. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendybutt...
bradford west yorkshire
2 reviews
“Great Accomadation , well looked after by John and Yvonne , great area for visiting North Cornwall”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We,ve just returned home after staying at Helscott barns (ACORN) where we had our sons wedding reception in a marquee on the field at the back of the barns which was very big and had great views looking out to Bude. The barns were clean and well maintained and John and Yvonne were fantastic hosts and made sure our stay was very welcoming and if we had any problems they would soon deal with it no problem.
The rest of our family stayed in the other barns at Helscott and they felt the same way as me we all had a great time their has a family celebrating our sons wedding.
The barns and the field ajoining them were a great venue for our Son,s wedding reception and we all had a fantastic week .Thanks John and Yvonne .

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2015
We enjoyed having you all here, it was a lovely day with a beautiful bride and handsome groom, the music was great and we hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unaom
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect relaxing country cottage within a short car ride of all amenities”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2014

We had a lovely laid back trip to Helscott Barn. The cottage was charming with lovely décor and a super kitchen. The bench outside the cottage is a perfect sun trap and a great spot to catch your breath after a busy day touring. We managed to fit a lot in our our trip with surfing on the local beach in Bude, a trip to Padstow and the Eden Project (all easily do able as a day trip). Our host was very helpful and a lovely lady to chat to. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great base for us”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent five days at Oak Barn - using it as a base while walking the Coast Path.

It was great to come back to a cottage with everything we needed to make it an easy stay. John was extremely helpful; the location was convenient; it was well equipped and was very clean and tidy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H
Downham Market, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really lovely place to stay”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have just spent a week at Oak Barn. We had a great time, the Barn had all the facilities you could want. Very cosy lounge, bedrooms ideal for our stay.

Yvonne and John were very welcoming and friendly, my little boy was made really welcome. Would definately go again.

Thank you for a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
Thank you, it was lovely to meet you all and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic barn that catered for all our needs, would definitely return”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We travelled as a family of 4, with a 5 year old & 4 month old, & have to say the owners Yvonne & John were so accommodating & friendly, offering useful tips on local beaches & restaurants that enabled us to have a fab family holiday.
The barn itself is well furnished with plenty of space & is very very cosy, with lovely plush sofas to rest on after the kids go to sleep!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It catered for all our needs
Liked least: no real drawbacks..
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing