We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious and well equiped”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge now with very large flat screen TV. Wood burning stove plus C/heating
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge now with very large flat screen TV. Wood burning stove plus C/heating
Rose barn with free WiFi Four poster bed with en suite shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Lounge now with very large flat screen TV. Wood burning stove plus C/heating
Rose barn with free WiFi
Four poster bed with en suite shower room
Dinning room (with second TV not in view)
Wood burning stove
Second bedroom
Bude Canal going out to sea
Widemouth Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Widemouth Bay, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Keith T
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious and well equiped”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just a couple of miles out of Bude this is a spacious and well equipped cottage. there were probably enough plates to have used new ones for every meal of our two week stay. Plenty of outdoor space for BBQs but quiet and private. Friendly owners. You'll need a car to get to the beaches but if you want to stay out of the hustle of Bude this is perfect. Good local pub in nearby Maramchurch serving food and real ales.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are happy that you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to meeting you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherilee1...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely new year”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We spent 3 nights in rose barn over the new year weekend and our friends stayed in oak, acorn and ivy. The barns were all decorated lovely and rose barn was a great place for seeing in the new year. Fab location and Yvonne was so helpful. We will definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it was lovely to meet you all and will be looking forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JemmaJemm...
Jinja, Uganda
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy, homely and idyllic, all wrapped up into one”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I chose this property based on the pictures, the location and the reviews.
We are not disappointed on any level.
Our first contact during the experience was with Yvonne...what I can I say...she is just bloomin' wonderful. Every single message I sent beforehand was replied to within half a day and she gave us the warmest welcome on arrival...all throughout the stay, she was only a knock on the door or a phone call away if we needed her (although it was all so great we actually didn't need her)...anytime we saw her, she was always so warm and friendly...in fact, we were very sorry to say goodbye to someone who now felt like a friend!
The barn itself is just wonderful and has a lovely homely feel from the minute you open the door...lots of ooohs and aaaahhh as we walked around the property which is exactly as you see in the pics.....it has a really lovely feel and is exceptionally well equipped (every cooking utensil you could need (if you can be bothered to cook), every electrical appliance you will need and more crockery than you can shake a stick at! We did take lots with us but drove back with most of it unused. We also had a very welcome stash of milk, tea, coffee, suagr and choccie biscuits!
You obviously need to take the basic consumables so things to remember are such things as dishwasher tablets, toilet rolls etc but there is a Morrisons, Lidl, Sainsburys and Co-Op all in Bude, a short drive away (but far enough away to know you have rented somewhere really private).
Also, there are plenty of places as you drive around selling chopped logs for the wood burner, but if you need to find somewhere quickly, the Spar garage in Bude sells bags of them.
The location of the barn is also fantastic....it's only 2 miles from Widemouth Bay Beach which means you can have lazy days with a beach virtually on the doorstep.
The general location is great with only a short drive to Bude and very easy driving distances to beautiful places such as Hartland Quay and Boscastle...the options are endless (we always ended back up at Widemouth Bay to watch the early evening surfers).
We can highly recommend The Bay View Inn at Widemouth if you fancy eating out somewhere close...TripAdvisor is pretty up to date with eateries and places to go.
All in all I would highly recommend this as a wonderful holiday rental and will be discussing with Yvonne a return visit.
On a final note, but one you forget within the whole epxerience, Yvonne was very quick to return the deposit.
Thank you Yvonne, for everything xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, I enjoyed meeting you both and am looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
157anthon...
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“quiet, friendly and well equipted”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

the barn was converted to a high standard, the main living room was stunning. the whole of the rental furnished to a high and comfortable degree. most holiday homes i've stayed at looked a bit tired but not this one. the managers were very friendly and helpful. whilst the area around the home was quiet, it was close to the sea and places to go. well worth a stay - enjoy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house
Liked least: map shown on tripadvisor - glad i didn't rely on it to get to property
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonfro...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding!! Very happy customers!!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My family and I have just arrived home from a brilliant week in Cornwall!! Accommodation was wonderful!! A real home from home and John and Yvonne were really helpful and friendly!! Cannot fault anything, my only regret is that we had to leave so soon!! I will definitely be back!!! Thank you so very much!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it was a pleasure to meet you all and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray L
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great getaway in a great location”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is the second time we stayed in the Rose barn and it is certainly somewhere we will stay again if possible. The location is just over the border between Cornwall and Devon so perfect for travelling to Lands end, Devon or Somerset. The Complex has 5 barns in total and is a really peaceful setting. Bude is just round the corner and has everything you need. TV in the dinning area is great for DVDs and the lounge is a great place to sit in the evening whilst the kids sleep in peace in the main part of the barn. Beds are comfy, rooms spacious and you have everything you need in the barn itself. Yvonne and John left us milk, biscuits and wine which is always a lovely touch. Yvonne was also kind enough to take in a parcel for us that I had sent due to my inability to organise myself prior to leaving for the holiday! Nothing is too much trouble and I really can't recommend their barns enough. I hope to get back their soon as we love the place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & character of the property
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to see you all again and was no trouble at all to look after the parcel, looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic weekend in a fantastic cottage”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My friends and I spent a fantastic long weekend at The Rose Barn cottage. The cottage was clean, nicely decorated and spacious. Tea, coffee, milk, biscuits and a bottle of wine was waiting for us when we arrived, which was much appreciated. The cottage is a short drive away from the beaches and Bude town. Yvonne was really friendly and very helpful during our stay and I would recommend the Rose Barn to anyone.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review, we look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing