We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely end to our holiday!”

The Widemouth Manor Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely end to our holiday!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Food was lovely and staff accomodating. No problem with supplying a half portion of an adult meal for our daughter as she didn't want anything from the childrens menu. Stayed in nearby holiday camp and came here for our last night. Thoroughly recommend!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    46
    17
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning Location, tasty food, friendly service and good value prices”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The title says it all. I took my parents for lunch at the Widemouth Bay Hotel and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

At lunchtime there is a good choice of pub food (the garlic bread is heavenly!), it's well cooked, the portions are generous, and the prices are very reasonable indeed. Service came with a smile, was friendly, and they were keen to make sure we enjoyed our visit.

We ate in the bar, with an open fire and incredible views of the beach below, an expanse of coastline and inland to the rolling countryside.

Well worth a visit and there's a big garden and great piece of decking which would be fabulous on a sunny day and to watch the sun set into the sea on a summer's evening.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Outstanding for families”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I've just written a more lengthy review in the Hotels section but thought I'd pop one here. This is the best combination of pub food and children's facilities I've ever come across, and I eat out a serious amount. Proper chips, delicious seafood pasta, stunning garlic bread with yarg and salami.

So good my family went back again the next day. If you have kids, hate most pub food and it's a pleasant day, you won't find better.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Huddersfield_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing meal. What are people moaning about ?”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The service was great. The sunday lunch we had was roast beef. It was presented really well. There was lots of meat. The veg was great. One thing which I always rate as being important is that the plates were hot. So hot we couldn't touch them. Amazing.

The service was good. The price was 8.95 go there. We would defiantly return. My friend is a chef at a private school and she couldn't fault the meal.

T

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HerefordEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I visited Widemouth manor with family on a Sunday, we hadn't booked a table so were unsure if we would be able to eat.
We were met by a very friendly face who managed to find us a table, and we were given the sunday lunch menu which has an excellent choice of dishes.
Our Sundau lunch was the best we've had in a long time, the meat was succulent and the vegetables were fresh and not overcooked. The Yorkshire pudding is huge!
Definatly be coming back again very soon!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tillykins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Widemouth Manor Restaurant also viewed

Widemouth Bay, Bude-Stratton
 

Been to The Widemouth Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing