We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too hard or done without a smile....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Widemouth Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outdoor Adventure Residential Activity Centre
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Brief from the groom... outdoors, busy, fun and different....
Internet searched oudoor activities & bunk house.... OA appeared... good web site informative and had most info there.
All further contact was brilliant, friendly and all questions answered with a tone of a smile.
Regular contact kept through out.... and this before we arrived.
The day I was dredding, arrival and the stags impressions. .. well the view started the mood, and the staff just added to it... couldn't do enough for us. Always a smile and with great efficiency.
Accommodation clean tidy and comfortable just the job.
Activities. ... relaxed well organised but limits could be pushed... which was refreshing in a day and age of H&S... (from little Ed)
All in all brilliant, flexible, fun and what it says on the tin Outdoors & Active...
Well done to the team and to Eggy our lead instructor.
Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrELow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were staying in Tavistock for 3 days and wanted to find a large stretch of beach to visit. We found Black Rock Beach, which had plenty of parking, though it cost you £4.50 for the day. There is a cafe and shop and toilets there. The beach was a lovely size and lots of rocks for rock pooling too. Safety flags everywhere to advise best places to swim and surf. I would point out that this is recommended as a dog friendly beach and there was plenty of the. We actually counted 21 dogs off leads while stood at the sea edge but as I am a dog lover it didn't bother me but it needs to be known if visiting with little ones.

3  Thank jacqueline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Spent a 3 day long weekend at Outdoor Adventure as a Stag after my best man excelled himself with outstanding planning, preparation and organisation. This continued once we were all on site and were met with enthusiastic activity leaders, decent accommodation and great food. Don't be put off as we were a Stag group as they cater for families and even school groups keeping dates separate. Overall I can't rate the Centre and Staff high enough with an easy willingness to help striking the balance of fun and safety perfectly. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -OKMrEd-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently took a group of young people to the centre for a fun packed adventure week with Outdoor Adventure. The staff were absolutely fantastic and extremely professional with our inner city children and made sure their learning environment was engaging and that there was plenty of fun to be had!!

They completed a range of activities including, surfing, kayaking, coastal traversing, rock climbing, orienteering, archery, body boarding and abseiling along with evening activities such as team games, beach walks, BBQs, camp fires and on the last night - a disco!

Every single day the itinerary was jam packed and the children had plenty of time to participate in each activity, whilst having some individual reflection time. Even when the weather changed and hindered original plans, the centre was always ready with a cover plan. (This only happened once). The centre supplied absolutely everything the children needed (staff too), and its such a bonus that they have their own minibuses for transportation to the beach when you are there.

Accommodation and food is also worth a mention..... The children upon arrival had to make their own beds, a task that many had not had to do before - which provided many giggles across the hallways! Their bedrooms were perfect sizes and comfortable enough. Everything was clean and tidy and the washing facilities were either in the pupils rooms, or communal. The view from the centre itself is beautiful, the children loved going out onto the hill first thing and 'chilling' before breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food is served in overly generous portions, and is served up by the loveliest 2 women, who really cared for the children whilst we were there. They were more than happy to cater for all dietary needs!

I have already booked in again for next year, and loved the place so much I popped back down in my half term!

Thank Jodiehowe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went coasteering as part of a stag do, guides were really good fun, and very safety conscious. The wind and swell was too high and dangerous for us to go far from the bay but we had a great time all the same and I would recommend the activity and definitely go again with Outdoor Adventure.

Thank dlotinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a great morning Coasteering with a couple of the lads from Outdoor adventure on 23/8/12.
They came up to Tintagel, where we were staying, which made things convenient. The guys were great fun, but kept an eye on our safety. We were very lucky to be the only people on the trip that day, but even if we had had more in the group I'm sure it would have been great.
We thoroughly recommend this activity if you are staying near Tintagel and want to get the blood pumping.

Thank SandPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really fun time, guides were great and helpful. Stood up on the second day due to the attention of the coach, just the Cornish weather a bit off putting. Overall great experience and would definitely recommend it to a friend.

1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Widemouth Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Widemouth Manor
Widemouth Manor
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House B&B
Beach House B&B
#2 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Widemouth Fields
Widemouth Fields
#2 of 4 in Widemouth Bay
112 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Outdoor Adventure Residential Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outdoor Adventure Residential Activity Centre

Address: Atlantic Court, Widemouth Bay EX23 0DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Widemouth Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Widemouth Bay
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residential Activity Centre is located in a stunning cliff top setting. We provide School Activity Trips, Family Activity Holidays Stag/Hen Weekends and Surf/Coasteering day course lessons. Our 30 year proven track record of delivering quality programmes and outstanding safety record has gained us a National reputation as one of the leading Centres in the UK. Our team are lively, committed and highly experienced and use spectacular activity locations. Approved by AALA, LoTC, RYA, BCU, Surfing GB, NCC and IIP. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outdoor Adventure Residential Activity Centre Widemouth Bay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing