We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Widemouth Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outdoor Adventure Residential Activity Centre
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I last visited Outdoor Adventure in 91 and 92. I was impressed then by the location, the excellent staff, good equipment and great food so I decided to book again seeing it was run by the same people. Upon arriving with my son and niece (both 14 years old) I was a little concerned that maybe things might have been watered down however this was most definitely not the case - we had a brilliant time.

We did coasteering (probably our favourite activity) surfing, body boarding, coastal traversing, climbing, windsurfing and archery. All the activities were well organised with OA striking the right balance between safety and excitement. Unlike a recent PGL holiday where most of the activity time was spent waiting for a turn then 5 mins actually doing the activity at OA were just got on with it - fantastic.

My son and niece both quickly made friends with other children of similar age and were able to be more independent by eating on their own in the evenings and going off to the beach after supper and then coming back to play Monopoly rather then watching television.

We had an absolutely great time doing exciting, different things and were all exhausted by the end of the holiday - oh and the food was excellent too !!

Thanks for a really memorable holiday

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 104 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hi. My family and I spent last week at this activity centre in Bude. We are in our 40's my son nearly 18, my daughter nearly 15. The activities offered were superb, the instructors were all very knowledgeable, highly trained, patient and great fun. We all felt very safe at all times.
The centre is friendly, well equipped and homely. The food was great, we were well fed with tasty, hot and cold foods. It was full on, going from one thing to the next which was great. Everything was laid on for us each day and all we had to do was just turn up and follow instructions. All the parents got on really well and so did the kids, there was a wide age range and at no point were they bored. Evening entertainment was also great and we all loved every minute of the holiday.
If you want a superb, memory making holiday for you and your family, this is definitely it!

The scenery is breath taking, the centre/people are great, the achievements and memories life changing!

We were driving out of the gates when the kids asked us when we thought we would be able to come back.... Enough said! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Booked by email and phone for 5 to coasteer for an afternoon. Met the van in a field near Tintagel as instructed. Friendly guides knew their stuff. Good kit - warm wetsuits. Down to a lovely hidden cove. They have routes for both high and low tide. 2 hours clambering over rocks, swimming and jumping from the cliffs. We've used OA several times in the past and they have always done a fine job.
Going back again with a different crowd next week.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Run_sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

6 of us aged 13 to 47 went Coasteering for the first time ever at Bossiney. We were met on time and quickly provided with all the essential safety gear and wet suit. It was a steep walk down to the sea and after a short safety talk we were quickly in the water. Everyone found something to remember a brilliant 2 hour experience, whether it be a high jump or battling with the waves in the "Horse Shoe" and through the "Elephant's nose". Great fun and the staff were excellent, always around balancing safety with a sense of adventure!

1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is the first surf lesson my kids have had with outdoor adventure, they had a fantastic time and said the teacher was great at explaining things as well as been a fun person! My youngest got very cold in the 2 hour lesson so Tom sorted him out withn a towel and a coat so he could warm up! A great experience for the boys we will definetlely use these guys again

Thank lmckinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have not long moved to the area and my 11 year old son wanted to have a go at surfing. Not knowing anything about the activity, I entrusted my boy to OA for a 2 hour beginners lesson. It was fantastic to see them get into the water so soon enjoying themselves. Such a huge grin on his face during and afterwards says it all.

He enjoyed it so much that he is dragging his mate along for the next session.

Keep up the great work.

Thank Cozza_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Brilliant ,great fun, really friendly and encouraging . Taught age range 13 - 22 .
Definitely will go again .

Thank Patzie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Widemouth Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Widemouth Manor
Widemouth Manor
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House B&B
Beach House B&B
#2 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Widemouth Fields
Widemouth Fields
#2 of 4 in Widemouth Bay
112 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Outdoor Adventure Residential Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outdoor Adventure Residential Activity Centre

Address: Atlantic Court, Widemouth Bay EX23 0DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Widemouth Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Widemouth Bay
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residential Activity Centre is located in a stunning cliff top setting. We provide School Activity Trips, Family Activity Holidays Stag/Hen Weekends and Surf/Coasteering day course lessons. Our 30 year proven track record of delivering quality programmes and outstanding safety record has gained us a National reputation as one of the leading Centres in the UK. Our team are lively, committed and highly experienced and use spectacular activity locations. Approved by AALA, LoTC, RYA, BCU, Surfing GB, NCC and IIP. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outdoor Adventure Residential Activity Centre Widemouth Bay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing