We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious, high-quality throughout, great location.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Widemouth Bay, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Spacious, high-quality throughout, great location.”
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Poldare is on top of the hill about a mile south of Bude and sits on top of the cliff overlooking stunning coastline. There is a road between the house and the cliff edge which carries some fairy fast-moving traffic, but it's never unpleasantly busy and is almost completely unused at night, making the location very quiet from dusk onwards. The beach is not accessible from immediately outside the house, but the walk to Widemouth Bay along the coast path is a about 20 minutes and is a lovely way to arrive at the sea.

The owners have clearly made a great effort to equip the property with the best equipment and furnishings available - everything from the toaster and the kettle, through to the mattresses and pillows are top of the range. The Sonos and the Nespresso machine were also very welcome.

The layout of the house is unusual but generally works really well - with the bedrooms mainly on the ground floor but separated from the main living quarters, so those that go to bed earlier are not disturbed by those who stay up later. The only slightly odd part of the design is the lack of a door to the upstairs bedroom - it (and its ensuite) take up the whole of the upper floor and the stairway is effectively the threshold. It wasn't an issue for us but could be for others because the noise from downstairs is very apparent.

Widemouth Bay is a great place to stay, with an excellent pub and restaurant within easy walking distance. And Bude is close enough to be a useful hub even though the location feels very removed from the town.

Would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review 'Poldare'.
We will pass your comments on to the owner.
We would love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherlyT
Tenby
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Sited overlooking the sea , Poldare is a very comfortable & well equipped house. Coast path just over the road . Care needed to cross though . Although not a busy road when we was there the cars did drive very fast. The house is extremely well equipped with stunning views. Bedding high quality , comfortable beds. Pleasure to cook in the kitchen .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at ‘Poldare’.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_J_no...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location 1/2 mile to beach short drive to Bude - quiet, good view, spacious property”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely house - somewhat expensive, but didn't let us down with local amenities and well maintained house. The managers especially Bridget were great - helped with our needs for a smaller person - travel cot, stair guard, high chair = 5* help.

If it is warm - it could have done with a few pedestal fans. The first floor room attracted the warmth. That said - we managed ok. Open plan may not suit all families with young ones as cupboards, TV, cooker are easy reach items so supervision is needed. At the rear the BBQ and patio set were lovely to use. I would recommend a gate at the side and a small fence past the wheelie bin to make it totally enclosed (for kids it would be safer as main road can get busy with fast cars). Lots of places to eat locally and in Bude. we had very nice meals at two places within walking distance. Take-away - hard to get to delivered - so collect is advised - especially Tapas and Indian meals.
Beaches were very good and typical of cornwall - clean and well manned with lifeguards. Sunsets are spectacular....
I would come again to this area - lots to offer for sightseeing and relaxing, adults and kids alike. The property is in an enviable location and wont disappoint - although just wished the price per week not as high.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at 'Poldare' The owners plan to have gates and fences fitted in the coming months.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew504
Powys, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a stylish spacious home in an ideal setting with just a few little niggles”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location of the property is great, close to Bude and 2 minutes drive from the fantastic Widemouth beach. The coastal path is just over the road and provides great views and walks and there were beautiful sunsets streaming into the living room. As for the house itself it is clear that some thought has gone into providing a stylish, minimal, spacious living experience and the kitchen is well equipped and well laid out, one of the best we have ever had. The outside space is more than adequate for outside eating and relaxing. Though there were niggly issues that just shouldn't have existed - the upstairs bedroom had no door on the bedroom, either at the top or bottom of the stairs so bang went any privacy! The en-suite bathroom had only a shower hose attached to the bath which spurted water all over the floor as there was no screen and the tiny designer wash basin would splatter water all over your clothes if used , and bending down to try and wash your face meant risking poking your eye out on the tap! With no hooks on the door or chair to lay clothes on they had to just be dumped on the floor and with no decent mirror in any of the bedrooms my girls ended up with a portable one on their laps getting ready on the floor, again no chairs or dressing tables when there is plenty of room for such. We couldn't work out if the playful kitchen chairs actually fitted the size of the table and some of our party could almost rest their chins on the table top when sitting down. Having said that I would recommend family groups to try Poldare out - we have stayed at 2 other cottages in the village over the years and it would only take a little more thought to iron out these issues (and a lot of thought has gone into other areas) which to be honest we did not let detract from a great holiday in a fantastic part of the country with so much to see and do..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We will pass these comments to the owners. Despite these issues we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at 'Poldare'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torspo
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Week in Cornwall (Apart from the changeable weather!)”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed here for a week in August.

The kitchen is very well equipped and the house has a fantastic view over the sea and is only seconds from the coastal path.

The youngest of our party of 7 was 10 and we found the house setup more towards families with younger children. There is only 1 usable shower (the 2nd is an over the bath style) which when you all get back in after a day at the beach can be a bit troublesome.

A few changes would be make this much better. Here are some of our suggestions:

Install at least 1 full length mirror. There are none in the house at the moment and only small mirrors over the sinks.
Consider putting a door somewhere in the master bedroom, at present it just an open stairway which gives no privacy
Provide some bigger pans, cooking fajitas for all of us had to be done in 3 different pans.
Provide another fridge. The single fridge / freezer just isn't big enough on it's own
Considering everything in the kitchen is John Lewis or Le Crueset upgrade the BBQ tools.
Provide more garden furniture. The large outdoor table and chairs are great for dining outside, but for relaxing there are only 2 loungers.
Provide more than 1 bath mat for the downstairs bathroom. By the time the 7th person had their shower it was soaking
The internet struggled with 4 kids devices, if it's possible to upgrade it that would be great
Waterproof the areas around the baths with tiles?
Blackout blinds in the main bedroom

The house came supplied with basics such as washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, bin liners, iron, ironing board, washing machine etc. which was a great help.

The small supermarket just down the road does all the basics and fresh hot baguettes, croissants etc in the morning as well as having a fresh fish counter. Elements which is just a 2 min walk up the hill towards Bude is brilliant, but make sure you book if you don't want to be disappointed! In Bude the Tasty Pasty does an amazing take away cream tea (4 for £3.50) which we had twice and took back to the house and made use of the teapot!

Whilst we were there we also went surfing and coasteering with Freewave (high recommended) as well as horse riding with Broomhill Manor.

Bridget from Breakwater Holidays was an absolute pleasure to deal with.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review-we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We really appreciate your comments and will pass them to the owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy L
1 review
“Perfect family set up”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A short break that revitalised us.
We found the distance from London, more than manageable and straightforward.
The set up of bedrooms suited our family, with lovely bright bedrooms. The beds were very comfortable with beautiful linen and we slept well as it was so quiet.
The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of plates, cups and cooking equipment. Loved the kiwi charms!
Our evenings were spent in the living area which had a stunning view of the sea, with stunning sunsets. The living area could be closed off from the sleeping areas, giving the kids peace and quiet.
We walked our 9 and 11 year old to nearby Widemouth bay and Bude town on different days, sampling friendly cafes in both places.
Bude has a huge supermarket and indoor pool which was a great rainy day activity. We even took the kids horse riding locally.
I think the owners have put a lot of thought into the set up if this house. It had everything a family needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing