We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Weekend Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Weekend Holiday”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel would be fine for a one or two night stay for a couple but not any longer. There was very little storage for clothes. We just had 6 hangers and two shelves. We were a family of four staying for 3 nights. There was no draws. The room was clean and comfortable but basic. It had no hair drier or iron. The city location was good for traveling but bad because there was no free parking, main doors were locked at 10.30 due to the city location. There was only one key issued per room which meant we all had to come and go together as we had to key access the corridors as well as the room. The staff however were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent value for families as children ate free with every paying adult.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Peter L, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Newport Isle of Wight hotel. We find that the brand standard storage facility provided in the room is usually sufficient for most of our guests as they tend to stay for short breaks although we are sorry to learn that you were inconvenienced on this occasion. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. As standard we do not provide hair dryers or irons in our rooms however they are available free of charge from reception, subject to availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    113
    66
    25
    24
See reviews for
145
93
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We telephoned the Travelodge on Bank Holiday monday about 5pm as I had been taken ill In the day and we decided no to travel back home to the mainland, we were told that there were 2 double rooms available so we said we would come from the Hospital and check In....when we arrived we were told that there was only 1 room left much to our disappointment so our friends had to stay at The Braunstone House Hotel further down the same street which was more expensive but we were short of money and we were also told the room was Initially £60 but then when we said we would take the room we were told It was £66....!! We were given Room 1 which Is situated on the ground floor next to the corridor doorway, The room Itself was ok, clean with a nice comfy bed.....BUT the smokers tend to hang around right outside your window (even until very late) and you can hear every word......BUT the Corridor Door Itself Is the biggest Issue....WHY OH WHY the Hotel staff has not realised that this door should be fitted with a soft/quiet closing mechanism as the unit fitted to the door Is hardly working as this door SLAMS and SLAMS and SLAMS we were awake until 1.30 am and then awake again from 6.30 am with this door slamming continually.....!! 5 hours sleep for £66 Is abysmal....,I told the reception lady the complaint with the door which she politely apologised and said she would get maintainance to look at the door but this Is long over-due.....!! also there was only 1 hand towel and 1 bath towel for 2 of us....!! I deserve a full refund for this, and I wish now we had stayed with our friends at the Hotel further down the road...ok Its £80 for a double room but you get a full English Breakfast with Cereal and toast, tea, coffee, etc etc......!! Never again will I stay In a Travel lodge.....!!

Room Tip: Dont stay In Rooms 1-10, you will get hardly any sleep.....!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooter027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We’re really sorry to learn you were disturbed by customers using the doors in the hotel Scooter027. We ask customers to be courteous to other guests during their stay and we try to reduce noise by having insulated walls and double glazing. Our rooms should be set up with the correct amount of towels, and your feedback will be shared with our hotel staff so they are able to improve. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked this hotel, for just the 1 night before moving on to our holiday accommodation. It was booked several months before we stayed and we got a family room at a bargain price of £28.00. After reading the reviews I was a little apprehensive but as my husband said it's just for 1 night and if you want luxury then pay luxury prices. I am happy to report that this "budget hotel" was well up to standard. The room was very clean and comfortable. As we had arrived quite late we decided to eat in the bar/café which is just by reception. Again I was very pleasantly surprised! It's obviously not Michelin Star but it's very nice and good value for money and I am a very fussy eater. However we didn't have breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on the quality of it.
The car park is a pay and display across the road which is free after 6pm but just remember to put a ticket on before 8am.
A good basic hotel with helpful staff. Don't expect 5 star and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked a family room for 3 nights at 110 GBP in Aug 2013 peak season. The room was on the ground floor and could fit 2 double beds.

The staff have been friendly, the beds comfy and the service was excellent. The windows on the ground floor have limited opening for security. The hotel is in the middle of Newport you can walk everywhere in 5 mins. You also have free wifi

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Not a great fan of Travelodge as i find the beds are too low. I have stayed here before and found the hotel fit for purpose. It was a real surprise to find the bedrooms re-decorated with new beds (not low) and very comfy.
I always find the staff here polite.

Room Tip: Ask to be off the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated in the centre of Newport so very convenient. Bar area was very welcoming and the bar stayed open until late.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A great hotel with friendly, polite staff and a central location for activities close by. Located at Newport Town Centre with many High street shops within 5 mins walk and 2 car parks close by.

Family rooms are large and can accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids comfortably. Rooms are clean with comfortable beds.

Indian, Chinese, McDonald's, restaurants are within 10 mins walk also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Sukhbir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
8 reviews
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
4.7 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
307 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
811 reviews
6.4 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight

Property: Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
Address: Lugley Street, Newport PO30 5HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newport Isle Of Wight Hotel Newport
Travel Lodge Newport
Travelodge Hotel Newport
Newport Travel Lodge
Newport Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing