We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really handy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really handy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

Stayed here for a wedding, the staff were very accomodating to a large group of us, and the rooms were clean and spacious. Would stay in again for a trip to IoW.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olideacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2009
Thanks for you postive review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that the hotel and friendly helpful staff met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Isle of Wight soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    259
    69
    29
    16
See reviews for
240
240
32
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

I stayed at the Newport Premier Inn as part of cycling trip to the Isle of Wight. The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk to the centre of Newport and a 15 minute journed from East Cowes, where I disembarked from the ferry.

The hotel is well signposted from the main road into Newport and is in a quiet location with approx 70 rooms and a Table Table restaurant (the Medina Quay).

Check in was quick and they were very accomodating in that I wanted to store my cycle in my room (rather than lock it outside). This was no problem.

You know what you get with a Premier Inn and this delivered on expectations - personally I like these hotels as they offer a reasonably sized room for a reasonable price.

I ate at the Table Table restaurant - the food was very good, although the service could have been a little better as I was left sitting at my table without being told whether I needed to order at the bar or at my table!

All in all a good choice for exploring the Isle of Wight and indeed a central location from which to do so.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LHRFlyer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

Good hotel what you would expect from a Premier Inn, clean and tidy staff were helpful and friendly. Central location to get to most places on the island v. nr the car ferry terminal in Fishbourne. Just a couple of gripes the room was very warm in the evenings the hotel had provided one fan which helped a bit but as the windows could only open a little way due to safety reasons it felt quite stuffy. I did notice in the leaflet in the room that they are introducing Air Con which is a great idea as i think our summers are only going to get hotter! Also the volume on the TV is set at 20 max we could barely hear it now we dont spend all our time in our room watching the TV granted but its nice to watch the news or something in the morning we had the subtitles on the whole time! They must of had complaints about people having their TVs on too load but prehaps they could consider making it a bit loader so its a least watchable. There's a Table Table restaurant next door which is good value quite busy in the evenings food was nice. Would stay again maybe when its a bit cooler or when they've installed Air Con!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank straveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

Tucked away just off the road from East Cowes ferry terminal close to the main centre of Newport , provides good quality straight forward rooms with comfortable beds along with basic comforts you would expect from this hotel chain . Everything was clean , comfortable and tidy with things seem to be well maintained which leaves little room for anything to be negative about . It may not be the best value in town but you can get anywhere in the Isle of Wight in little time from here along with a handy pub/resturant within the grounds , it all seems worth it .
Without doubt would be first choice if returning to the island .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohneMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

Located next to council offices made this a quiet stop for me. Just 5 mins wall to centre of everything. Room comfortable and as expected. You get one of two views - car park or water, so it may be worth requesting. Check in was smooth and you pay on arrival, so no queues in morning. Breakfast is in the adjacent building - inside is very stylish and it was nice to have a window table. Good choice of hot and cold food for self service.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdboy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

I stayed here in December '08. As with all Premier inns the hotel is basic with reasonable facilities and good value. The hotel and room were clean and in good condition. Easy and free parking in the hotel's car park.

  • Liked — location, easy access, good value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sdjengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

We (my wife and 16 yr old son) stayed here after staying the previous night at the local Travelodge, i have to say it was like stepping into a 5* luxury hotel in comparison ! Simply put, if you are considering staying at the Travelodge, don't. stay at the Premier Inn. The rooms here are very comfortable, showergel provided, hairdryer, and TVs with all freeview channels. Rooms are well ventilated, ours overlooked the Medina River which is the estuary down from Cowes, only noise was seagulls and rigging clanking. We also had a sofa bed in our room so it would take 3 people but that doesn't seem to be an option when making the booking on the web site.The Pub/Restaurant next door was very good, one of the Table Table brands, food was good and there were a couple of decent real ales on tap also.
Plenty of car parking, hotel reception give you a voucher to put in your car window so its free too ! (not like TL).
Breakfast is in the Table Table pub/restaurant next door, it was excellent, a good selection of hot food and cereals, yoghurts etc...i've paid 3 x the price for the same at other hotels so it was great value too.
Summary, if you want good value budget hotel on the Isle of Wight i would highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — Every aspect of this stay was better than our previous night at the Travelodge
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay here the previous night also.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zoom6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Isle of Wight Sandown (Merrie Gardens)
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
Address: Fairlee Road, Newport PO30 2DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the very best of the Isle of Wight from our prime position in the heart of Newport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel Isle Of Wight
Premier Inn Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing