We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!”
Review of The Stag

The Stag
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Stag
Ranked #4 of 16 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

At £5 for a pint of lager is extortionate and £4.70 for house red small wine is too much, staff thought it was funny when prices were questioned! Food was not the best lamb taste very bland chicken and bacon pie had no bacon, really not happy was surprised so many people here, as it was poor at best! Other places to choose from, won't be going back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillipipip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    14
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
18
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
198 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Pretty good food and nice service. Prices are reasonable appart from £2.75 for a bit of sauce to go with a steak. Belly pork was great, starter of scallops was ok but one scallop sliced into three! Charge more and give us whole scallops.
Sardines were great and fish and chips was done really well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank negreen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Recently been refurbished to a high standard, thought we would give it try as its our local, very impressed with the service, food was very tasty and nicely presented, most enjoyable. Average price for a meal off the specials board about £12.00,puds a bit expensive at £5.50 we had a spiced apple, plum and orange crumble, we shared it most enjoyable. Will I be visiting again? certainly will

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tarafudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Cracking little place, clean, great staff, great food, great value rooms, car parking good, beer good, as my first introduction to the Isle of Wight I was impressed. Locally sourced gastropub fare, above the usual standard. Free Wi-fi etc. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
1.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
8 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
6.5 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
810 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
1.6 mi away
One Holyrood B&B
One Holyrood B&B
#1 of 16 in Newport
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag

Property: The Stag
Address: 2 Cowes Road, Newport PO30 5TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stag 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your The Stag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stag Newport, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing