We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a hotel than B and B!”
Review of One Holyrood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
One Holyrood B&B
Ranked #1 of 15 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night. Welcoming owners and rooms recently renovated to a really high standard. Location is right in the Center of town and high street. Breakfast was lovely with options for either continental or full English !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAJU007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 199 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was looking for somewhere to stay for a business trip at the last minute, near the centre of Newport. One Holyrood was friendly, clean, well appointed - great modern showers, plenty of big towels, lots of tea bags and fast broadband.
Good continental breakfast (excellent bread - and marmite - always a plus) with the option of a cooked breakfast>
I only wish I had longer to see the town and have a break.
I had dinner in Olive near the church - good food and felt very comfortable for a woman eating alone

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The B&B from the outside looks like a quirky art shop, but behind the large glass window is a beautiful newly renovated b&b; run and owned by Charlie and Raine.
We went to the Iow for a weekend break with our 1 year old but couldn't find many places; if at all, who were happy to accommodate a young baby, but Charlie and Raine we're more than happy and met all our needs, including providing a travel cot in our room.
We'll be going back over next year (when the weather is warmer and drier)and without question will stay here again.
We couldn't ask for more, the rooms are generous sizes; are decorated beautifully and are spotlessly clean, a large range of choice for breakfasts in the morning and owners who made you feel at home!
We can't thank you enough Charlie and Raine!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davkatros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great place to stay. I arrived at 9pm and was greeted by the friendly owner. My room was immaculate and decorated to an extremely high standard. The room had very fast internet access, TV, tea and coffee making facilities and high quality biscuits. The towels were also of a high quality as was the bed linen. The shower was good (although the water pressure was not very strong) with shampoo and shower gel provided. The continental breakfast had a choice of muesli, cornflakes, fruit, yogurt and toast with jam and butter. Overall the owners have done a fantastic job in renovating this property. They have kept some of the original brickwork especially in the dining room so it keeps its rustic charm, but the rest of the accommodation is decorated in modern neutral colours and is immaculately clean. The local restaurants are about a 10 minute walk away and the owners are keen to point out which ones are the good ones. If you want a quaint property that is full of character, but with the cleanliness that a modern property offers, One Holyrood definitely delivers.

Room Tip: I stayed in the attic (room 7). The window by the bed does not have a blind, so an eye mask might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonBHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We decided on a 5 days break and thought we would give the Isle of Wight a go as it has been years since any of us had visited. I spent quite a while looking for either a reasonable hotel or B&B and was about to give up when I stumbled across One Holyrood.

The B&B has only been open a few months but it is a lovely little gem. Charlie and Raine (the owners) were friendly and most welcoming. The rooms are all quite modern and have everything that you would need and were really comfortable. We stayed in room 6 which was lovely and our friends were in room 3. Room 3 is at the front of the hotel so was a little noisy, especially on Saturday night when the pub over the road kicked out.

Continental breakfast is provided in the main price, which was a good selection of fresh bread, cereal, fruit, juices and you could have a full English breakfast for a small charge.

I would definitely recommend staying at this B&B if you are looking for somewhere central to stay on the Isle of Wight - we would definitely stay again.

If you are looking for somewhere to eat I would recommend the following:

The Bargemans Rest - very good but portions are huge, be warned I am not kidding.
Blacksmiths Arms - again very good and again portions are huge
Travellers Inn (Godshill) - we only had lunch at this pub but it was really good and well worth the visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was at the back of the hotel. We didn't have any problems with noise w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen_stevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at One Holyrood before, during and after our Wedding day. Charlie and Raine provide a level of customer service that you'll never find in a bigger hotel (and I work at a hotel)! They were warm, welcoming and accommodating. We stayed in room 7, which is big, bright and decorated in a rustic, yet chic fashion. The big red bathtub in the room adds a touch of luxury! The little things like biscuits, q-tips and bubble bath were provided and greatly appreciated. Breakfast was a lovely selection of croissants, fresh bread and preserves, yoghurt and fresh fruit. You can also order a full english if requested, which on one morning we did and it was excellent! All in all, everything was outstanding, especially the hosts. We will definitely be back! See you again soon Charlie & Raine! Pam & Nick

Room Tip: Room 7 is fantastic! We went back after the wedding and stayed in room 2 our second night, as room 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Having spent 5 hours solid looking for a 'non floral carpeted' hotel or B&B my eyes lit up when I stumbled across ''One holyrood'' a beautiful converted bakery. I have been travelling to the Isle of wight for over twenty years and it was a refreshing change to find such a gem, I am probably one of the worlds worst critics but Charlie and his lovely wife were so welcoming and obliging I wouldn't wish to taint the wonderfull job they are striving to achieve, all places have teething problems and I have full faith that this on on the right path, nothing was to much trouble and i'm sure if any complaints had off been made they would have been rectified within seconds, excellent communication throughout our stay and a genuine warm welcome, We stayed in room 7 with its stunning period beams and shabby chic decor it was a tiny piece of contemporary heaven.''the Crazy bear group' could learn a thing or too about customer service as I predict this place will go from strength to strength.

Room Tip: Room 7 was fabulous and would like to try room 6 next time as that looks equally as stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
0.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newport
47 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newport Quay Hotel
Newport Quay Hotel
#3 of 15 in Newport
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Lodge
Castle Lodge
#2 of 15 in Newport
107 reviews
7.2 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Holyrood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Holyrood B&B

Address: 1 Holyrood Street, Newport PO30 5AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $102 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — One Holyrood B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at One Holyrood B&B (Newport, Isle of Wight) have been individually designed with quality, luxury, character and comfort as a priority. Accommodation is spread out over three floors of this Grade II listed building and though having undergone total restoration the building has maintained its charm and architectural integrity. One Holyrood B&B has a charming south east facing breakfast / dining area overlooking a garden planted solely with scented plants. A Full English or Continental breakfast is included in the room rate and we use locally sourced and seasonal Isle of Wight produce wherever possible. Breakfast is served from 8am, with an earlier time available on request. In good weather breakfast can be served in the garden. We're open all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your One Holyrood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Holyrood B&B Newport, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing