We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Perfect Retreat”
Large tropical garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large tropical garden
Hot tub house and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Large tropical garden
Hot tub house and garden
Ralph's Spa barn
Large grass terrace
Hot Tub
Hot tub in summer house
Double doors to decking
Colour change lighting
Lounge and Kitchen
Superior fitted kitchen
Kitchen fully fitted
Newport IOW
Garden
Carisbrooke Isle of Wight
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Newport IOW
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newport, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
P0LLY68
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed December 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We chose to stay at Ralphs Barn for a last minute and much needed break - and couldn't have chosen better! The Barn is situated just out of town (local restaurants, supermarkets etc are relatively close by) yet its location is really quiet, private and quite secluded. Owner Clare was really helpful and a delight to deal with, and both her and husband Delisle gave us a lovely warm welcome on arrival with a tour and operating instructions, before leaving us to enjoy our stay.
Everything was spotlessly clean and well equipped with everything we possibly needed. The mood lighting gave a lovely touch and the private hot tub located in the summerhouse was superb.
All in all, Ralphs Barn is a great place for shutting off and completely unwinding and is perfect for couples looking for a romantic retreat. We definitely won't hesitate in staying again and we will certainly be recommending it to friends. Thank you Clare and Delisle for a perfect place to chill out and unwind, Ralphs Barn really is a little gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness, privacy, relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctompk
hertfordshire, uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely little retreat! Highly recommend”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fantastic 5 days at Ralph's Spa Barn in August. Location was peaceful and relaxing, and the hot tub was a nice little add on.
Location of the barn is fab - right in the centre of the Isle of Wight, so everything is within easy driving distance.
Claire & Delisle were fantastic hosts - thanks guys! We hope to come back soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location was very peaceful and relaxing!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beauautos
2 reviews
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Warm welcome, lovely relaxing getaway set in great surroundings, well equipped kitchen & altogether a great place to stay in the isle of white whilst celebrating our anniversary

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2013
Thank you so much hope you return next year
Also Thank you for leaving it so tidy greatly appreciated
Kind regards
Clare and Delisle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ralphs spa barn we loved it”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Stayed for 6 nights with extended family members and we loved it. The garden makes a lovely place to sit out and have a barbeque, the hot tub adds some luxury. Walking distance to Newport town. Has all the facilities needed and some added extras such as mood lighting, luxury bedroom, full screen and music system. Beautiful views all around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendly and helpful landlady and landlord
Liked least: no internet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2013
Hello
So kind hope you return and we have a few more extras to add to your holiday.
Kind regards
Clare and Delisle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea
Reviewed August 6, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2012
Thank you so much its great to be appreciated and you left the barn spottless so kind.
We feel when you rent a house it feels like your own so what is the difference with a holiday rent.
We are so pleased you had a lovely week stay and hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Clare and Delisle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swindon
Reviewed June 30, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2012
Hi Girls
The barn is yours for festival due to your repeat bookings some times years in advance.......:).
Great your back next year looking forward to seeing you all again
Kind thoughts
Clare and Delisle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rebecca G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for a relaxing and romantic weekend get away”
Reviewed March 6, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

My boyfriend and I had a lovely long weekend. It's a really good size. And they've really thought of everything. Champagne glasses, wine glasses (sorry for breaking one), an iron, washining machine, clothes horse, lots of hangers, home made jams and cordials, sky tv, lovely bed, salt and pepper pots, lots of pots and pans. It's the little things that make you feel at home and nice homely pieces have been added to stop the barn from feeling like a non-personal hotel.

The hot tub being in a shed really worried me, but it's really lovely and really works. Felt like a bit of a celebrity with the palm tree and my Champagne.
The mood lighting does make a little noise, but it's not noticeable unless you're listening out for it.
It seems that any bad comments people have given to the barn have been rectified. For example, there is a bread knife and place mats.

The location is good, not too far from m&s and morrisons. It's a good base to explore the rest of the Island.

It really is a great place. =) I will probably return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The hot tub, and the lovely big bedroom
Liked least: hm... I guess if you could move it next to the sea and make sure there's always lovely weather??
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2012
Hi
Thank you for realistic and honest review and do hope you come back next year .
I liked the bit you were a bit worried but ended up loving it.
Thank you
Clare and Delisle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing