We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Standen Farm
Nearby Hotels
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight(Newport)(Great Value!)
$40
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$146
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
24
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 24 of 24 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2012

West Standen Farm is as good as the other reviewers have already stated. Excellent home-from-home family holiday location with fully equiped kitchen (including (in the stable at least) dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, microwave, fridge/freezer), great bedrooms (2 doubles (1 en-suite), 1 twin and 1 bunk bed), bathrooms and sitting room. Feeding the animals each morning was great fun for all and Sally and Edwin couldn't be more helpful hosts. Thank You for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philcollins50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Stable at West Standen Farm is a beautifully converted barn which has been furnished to the highest of standards and is set in beautiful countryside.Edwin and Sally were extremely welcoming without being intrusive.A wonderful cake and bottle of wine were left on the table for us on arrival.
The children were made very welcome and were allowed to assist with the feeding of the animals each morning-a wonderful experience for them.
We would most definitely recommend this location for a holiday and will certainly be sataying there again

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have stayed in The Stable at West Standen Farm several times now and at different times of year - it's such a great holiday, we just have to keep going back! Beautiful accommodation, very spacious, comfortable and child-friendly (we've been there with children ranging in age from a few months to 10 years, plus grandma, and it's suitable for all). The farm and converted stable & carriage house are set on a hillside with far-reaching views of the countryside, secluded from the hustle and bustle of the island's towns and seaside resorts, yet only a short drive from all the attractions that the Isle of Wight has to offer. The farmers, Sally and Edwin (and lovely dog Grace) are kind, welcoming and always willing to share their vast knowledge and experience of farming with guests. The cattle, sheep, pigs, goats, ponies and chickens are lovingly cared for and we've enjoyed "helping" Sally each morning with the animal feeding and egg-collecting round. In April/May, we even had the privilege of witnessing the birth of several lambs, and the excitement of visiting the barns each morning and seeing the new arrivals. As on any working farm, young children do need adult supervision for their own safety and that of any young animals.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed in The Stable at West Standen Farm in June 2010. Quite simply it was the best example of Self-Catering accommodation I have come across in the UK.

The accommodation is of a very high standard, tastefully decorated, comfortable and made a real home from home. The owners Edwin and Sally were extremely friendly and helpful and could not have been better hosts.

The best part for our little boy was the opportunity to help feed the chickens, lambs, pigs and calves. He was in absolute heaven.

We like our stay so much we are going back next year but this time for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahernafernah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews