We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caterham Sevens visit”
Review of Monkey Haven

Monkey Haven
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Monkey Haven - your gateway to the wild and wonderful world occupied by our closest relatives in the animal kingdom. We're a happy home to whooping gibbons, cheeky capuchins, birds of prey and many more exotic creatures. We care for monkeys and other animals in need, in our lovely sanctuary outside Newport. Monkey Haven is a Gold Award winning attraction with plenty for you to see and do, so why not swing on by and visit us soon!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Caterham Sevens visit”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Owl & Monkey Haven looked after us very well the other day! A lovely attraction and well worth visiting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,118
    243
    55
    19
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a lovely attraction”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Like all things wonderful on the Isle it is small and perfectly formed. Friendly knowledgeable enthusiastic staff who took pride and Joy in their work. Its all about the love of the creatures in their care . Worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morris3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Wight
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful little place”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely couple of hours here with our toddler. We didn't mind the entrance price (8.50 each, under 3's free) as you can see where it is spent.
The whole place is well built and well kept. It is small but plenty to keep you occupied for a couple of hours. We met and stroked an owl and you could also watch the monkeys being fed. The play areas were great and very well thought out so we were able to enjoy the lovely cafe ( which was great value and food was delicious ) and play with our toddler in the under five play area which is cleverly built around it.
Very impressed and look forward to our return!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank islandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small but beautifully formed”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Super little attraction but it would be difficult to spend more than two hours there.

There are lots of interactive elements to it with keeper talks etc. An interaction with the maramosets isn't cheap at £50 (2 for £80), but gorgeous.

All the animals are very well housed, all very modern, clean and look like as good as a cage could be.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dyan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a lovely time with our 3 kids under 6. They were fascinated when meeting and stroking the owls. They loved the gibbons and the barn owls too. They enjoyed the play parks when they were finished seeing the animals. The monkeys were full of character, playful and appeared to be well looked after. There was an inside area where the kids could do other activities and also meet some tree frogs and tree snakes! It appears to be still developing into a larger facility and would like to go again in a few years time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mole17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Haven also viewed

East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
Totland, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Monkey Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing