We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch at Seven”
Review of Seven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven
Ranked #10 of 16 Newport B&B and Inns
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch at Seven”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We just stopped in for lunch, the friendly Barman proudly assured us the soup that his mum makes was really good and it certainly was delicious, would gladly recommend the Sweet Potato and Red Pepper Soup.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SevenBandB, Owner at Seven, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks so much for the feedback, next time you should try my French Onion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Having lived on the Island for many years there's not many places we have not eaten at but today we tried Seven in the center of Brighstone, we shared a mixed platter of seafood and meat and boy was it good, house wine was superb and Mum and Son so friendly, I hope they do well, if the rooms are as good as the food then you are in for a treat, spot on, wonderful. Peter & Jackie Seely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SevenBandB, Owner at Seven, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
It was so nice to meet you both and we're very pleased that you enjoyed our seafood platter. Following your feedback we have now posted our opening times on the website and we're working on a menu section to let people know what we have to offer. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn lancs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

we travelled to the isle of white for the music festival 22.06.12 to 25.06.12 and the great fortune to book 3 nights at the seven, mike and carol are superb hosts with the backing of excellent staff. the room was spotless clean with big fluffy towels,a big comfy bed topped with big warm quilt. the breakfast was 5 star quality as where the sandwiches that were left in our room to eat when we returned late from the festival unfortunatley we did not get chance to sample the extensive menu but judging by the many diners this was no doubt as good as everything else.so be it a short break or a full holiday please checkout the very competative prices thanks mike and carol

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SevenBandB, Owner at Seven, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for the lovely review, I'm glad we could add a bit of comfort to a rainy festival experience. We hope to see you again, and that you get a chance to try our menu next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My friend and I had booked in at Seven for four nights because we needed somewhere comfortable and out of the way to stay during the Isle Of Wight Festival, 2012. We got exactly what we wanted from Seven. We ate dinner there on the first night. The meals were absolutely delicious, prawn cocktails to start, classic, fresh, mouthwatering. The mains, sea bass and fillet steak, cooked perfectly. We also gave in to temptation and had the cheese board to finish and the three cheeses they had selected with the home-made chutney were absolutely superb. We also had Sunday lunch there and the roast beef and all the trimmings were simply gorgeous. The wine list was also thoughtfully prepared and our choice, the Sauvignon, was excellent. I certainly felt that the pricing was fair, for the quality of food and drink.

The room we stayed in was very comfortable, pleasantly decorated (even if it wasn't really to my personal taste!) and the friendly, helpful proprietors' high standards were apparent in every aspect of our stay. The shower was very powerful, which was especially pleasurable considering the cold, wet festival weather of the weekend! The full English breakfast was such high quality and came in generous portions, really setting you up for the day. There were other options, but if was difficult to refuse the full English once you'd had it once!

Brighstone itself is a lovely, friendly, picturesque little village. A real taste of old England. A few shops, a very nice local pub which we visited on the first evening after dinner. It's a little out of the way for those without their own transport, but a few buses do run during the day to and from Newport, Brook and Freshwater. The church bells are a little loud on Sunday morning (hence the lost mark for sleep quality), but that's to be expected if you choose a B&B right next to an 11th Century church!

In conclusion, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to eat, stay or even to just pop in for a drink, cake or snack. I was especially impressed by our hosts' understanding of our muddiness from the festival. We tried our best to be as clean as we could, but it wasn't always possible - but it wasn't a problem for these hard-working, genuinely good people. It's not often that I feel completely satisfied by a stay somewhere, but this was one of those rare occasions. Thank you to Seven for a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffLynnesBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SevenBandB, Owner at Seven, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
A big thank you from the whole teaam at Seven, it's comments like yours that inspire us to continue with the hard work and long hours! It's a pleasure to meet such lovely people such as yourselves, and it would be great to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
690 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had called in at the place a few years ago for a drink and found it really weird. It was therefore with great delight that we found that it had changed hands and was such a lovely place. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bedroom was superb - clean, well decorated and very comfortable. The village is a gorgeous place as well. Unfortunately, they weren't doing evening meals when we were there, but just down the road is the Three Bishops which was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SevenBandB, Owner at Seven, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Seven. Unfortunately our chef was unavailable during your stay due to a commitment on the mainland, but I'm glad you had a nice meal in our local pub. We hope to see you again, and that you get a chance to sample our menu in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

It was out first visit to Brighstone in Isle of Wight. We were looking for somewhere to have drink & possibly dinner and decided Seven was the perfect location. Its a lovely looking building located opposite a beautiful old church, lovely sun terrace out the back with lots of seating. We stayed & had a drink, enjoying the evening sunshine on the terrace outside, decided to have a look at the menus & that was enough to make the decision to stay for dinner. A vast amount of choice on the menus, the owner was very friendly & was happy to accommodate our every need. The evening was going off cold so he offered to light the open log fire inside. This open log fire is a lovely touch, really adds to the atmosphere inside. We ordered the cold meat platter to share, this was promptly brought to our table, beautifully presented on a wooden serving board with chunky bread selection. For dessert we had apple & rhubarb crumble with custard & Cheeseboard, both were delicious. We were so impressed with the high quality of food we returned in the morning to sample the full English Cooked breakfast, again great value for money, good portion sizes & perfectly cooked. The owner showed us around the B&B rooms, they were all decorated to a high standard & in my opinion good value for money, next time instead of camping we will stay here. The current owners have only owned Seven since December 2011, continue working hard all your efforts will pay off. If your visiting Isle of Wight take a drive to Brighstone & visit Seven you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SevenBandB, Owner at Seven, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, it makes all the hard work worth while.
From all the team at Seven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had really nice stay. The owners were really friendly the rooms were very tastefully decorated and so clean. the food was out of this world the sun terrace was a very peaceful place to sit and have a drink.
The new owners have done wonders over the short time they have owned it and all the negative comments on here have been when the previous owner had it

Room Tip: very peacfull location. we stayed in Orchard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SevenBandB, Owner at Seven, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Apologies for the late response, we don't get a lot of time to sit and read our reviews but I wanted to say a belated thankyou for the lovely feedback. We're pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
4.8 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grange Farm
Grange Farm
#1 of 4 in Brighstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Chale Bay Farm
Chale Bay Farm
#1 of 4 in Chale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clock House
Clock House
#2 of 2 in Brook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven

Property: Seven
Address: Main Road | Brighstone, Newport PO30 4AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven B&B, Bistro and Coffee House is situated in the historic West Wight village of Brighstone. Set in beautiful countryside, we're only a short distance from the fabulous Jurassic coastline and just 'seven’ miles from the centre of the Island’s main town Newport.You can find us adjacent to the church of St. Mary which dates back to 1190 and our summer terrace is the perfect place to spend time whether having a delicious breakfast, light lunch or dinner in our newly refurbished licenced bistro. We do our very best supporting our local farmers using seasonal ingredients and reducing the distance our produce travels.Seven offers four comfortably furnished en-suite rooms; the perfect setting to stay and explore our beautiful Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Newport, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing