We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hilton Garden Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
“Hilton Garden Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

A very new clean hotel in an excellent location. Very good facilities, polite and helpful reception and restaurant staff. There is an excellent shuttle service to Leiden city centre. The hotel is also well served by public transport. The car parks in the hotel are well designed and secure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Vijay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Vijay,

Thank you very much for your great review it was a true pleasure to read.
We hope to welcome you back one day and wish you safe travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    315
    45
    10
    6
See reviews for
193
312
18
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Absolutely brilliant Hotel. In walking distance of Leiden where you can get a train to Ansterdam, etc. Very friendly and lovely staff. The rooms are spacious and clean. Huge selection at breakfast and lovey dinners. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would stay again. The free secure parking was an advantage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocobiggestfan90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear coccobiggestfan 90210,

Thank for your great review. I will make sure to share this with everybody here, especially the kitchen crew will really appreciate your comments.

We all look forward to welcome you back one day and I wish you safe future travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wanted an economy hotel near Delft, this Hilton Garden Inn completely met our needs. Although close to a freeway (Autobahn) exit, the winding residential streets made locating without GPS a bit difficult.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lowell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Lowell B,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisdor. I am very pleased to read that you had a great time with us.
As we only opened a year ago, unfortunately, not all GPS systems have the correct directions uploaded yet, however, they are working on it. I apologize for the inconvenience. Just in case for future reference, on our web site we have an alternative address mentioned which is just round the corner and will be found by all GPS systems. Alternatively, if you enter next door’s museum CORPUS, no doubt that any system will direct you correctly to our hotel.

Thank you again for and we wish you safe future travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We are a young couple. we are very satisfied with the hotel choice. Extremely friendly staff. Clean and classy. Complete gym, a modern and free. Free underground parking. Excellent WiFi. Possibility to rent bicycles. Ability to use the washing machine (€ 5) and dryer (€ 2.5). Free internet lounge. Do not be afraid to ask the staff for all your needs! The town of Leiden is charming. We were sorry to leave. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio6681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Fabio6681,

Thank you very much for your great review you shared with fellow travellers. A lot of the important hotel features you have mentioned.
We all will be waiting for you on your next trip to Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were a little concerned about the location, however, a short transit from Leiden Central (train station) to the nearest bus stop left about a 5 minute walk to the hotel. It was the first stop on the bus route to Lisse. We quickly got into the mode of walking to the central station, about 20-30 minute, but then again, we enjoy walking.

There are not any places to eat in the near vicinity, so we often purchased groceries in town (fruit, yogurt, wine, snacks, etc). We enjoyed the grocery shopping experience and were introduced to South African wines.

The room did come with a small refrigerator. The hotel does have a fine restaurant and a variety of menu selections, but was a little pricey for our budget. There is also a small, well stocked, 'take and go' pantry with many items. It included beer, wine, and, and microwave.

The room was spacious and clean. It came with a safe and free wireless. It was very comfortable. Housekeeping was very efficient, did an excellent job, and, was attentive to our requests. Coffee in the room consisted of instant coffee in small packets (as did the cream & sugar).

The service at the front desk was OUTSTANDING and very friendly! We arrived early in the a.m., well before check-in time, after a long flight. They accommodated us by giving us a room immediately. Very gracious,given the same situation at other 'major chain' hotels who refused to do so. The front desk was very helpful in answering all of the questions that tourists tend to ask. They were always very professional, provided change, and, were up-to date on bus schedules.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would very definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We transferred from a room on the front side, which faced the highway. Our room on the opposite did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisM579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear DennisM579,

Thank you for your great review here on Tripadvisor it was a true pleasure to read.
I am very glad you had a great time with us and I will make sure to pass on your very kind remarks to our Front Desk -, and housekeeping staff. They will appreciate this very much.

Thank you again and we all hope to welcome you back again one day at the HGI Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

A very clean and comfortable hotel. We requested a room on the side facing away from the motorway so it was quiet. Breakfast included. Good value for money. Staff were friendly. Having parking under the hotel was convenient and secure. We used their bike hire for a day out to the beach at Katwijk aan Zee and an evening in Leiden.
While the name of the hotel is prominent when viewed from the A44 motorway (the Trip Advisor entry thumbnail photo) when you are approaching the hotel on the very small access road on the other side there is no hotel name evident till you are very close to it and you see the name on the end of the building. Could do with a name board more visible from the access road.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room as for a room on the other side from the motorway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mervyn C,

Thank you for your great review. You made the right choice to hire a bike and cycle through the area, especially with this great weather and sea being so close.

I thank you for comment regarding the name board. Fortunately, after over a year negotiating with the local authorities, we received our permit and we will place a board next to the high way.

We all look forward to welcome you back again one day at the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden.

Your Sincerely,
Sjoed Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This Hotel is very clean, comfortable and secure. A bit out of town location but we had our car and wasn't a problem. Free secure parking is advantage. If the hotel has a swimming pool you can class it 5 star hotel. The room price was included breakfast and overall it was good value. All hotel staff very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Abdullah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciska G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Abdullah S,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your recommendation to fellow travellers and your suggestion to rate our hotel 5 stars if we had a swimming pool. That's a great compliment for the entire team.

Thank you again and I wish you safe travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Ciska Goeijenbier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oegstgeest
0.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
1.3 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 15 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#6 of 15 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Fitland Leiden
1.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
2.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Address: Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, 2342 BH Oegstgeest, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden > Oegstgeest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden is an award-winning, modern hotel in Leiden, which is home to one of Europe's oldest universities. Our hotel, located in the picturesque birthplace of Rembrandt, is just ten minutes from Leiden town centre and close to Katwijk and Noordwijk beaches. Relax in a spacious guest room with signature Hilton Garden Inn amenities, including adjustable beds and complimentary WiFi. This Leiden hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant which is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pick up snacks and drinks from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, located on Leiden's Bio Science Park, offers naturally lit, flexible meeting and event space. The hotel has a private dining suite and five modern meeting rooms for up to 112 persons. Each room has complimentary WiFi access. Free parking and A/V equipment are included as standard. The adjacent CORPUS Congress Centre and Bio Science Park form the unique components for successfully organising large meetings, product presentations or multi-day congresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing