We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Good hotel. A 10-minute drive from Leiden. Near the hotel is a very interesting museum Corpus - the museum in the form of a human figure. You can travel around the human body inside!. You can sign up for a tour at the museum site.
The hotel is new, recently built. A very nice modern room. Large modern television. Bathroom with good makeup, hair dryer. No mini-bar, a refrigerator only.
The breakfasts are very good, cooked to order omelets and waffles.
The hotel is located next to the freeway, to the center of Leiden can be reached in 10 minutes. Leiden - a very beautiful city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vesnyshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear vesnyshka,

Thank you for your review shared with fellow travelers.

It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoy our hotel, our special and famous Hilton Garden Inn Waffle and the CORPUS museum right next door. The "trip through the human body" they offer is very unique and exciting.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to share your comments, and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 976 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We came tithe Netherlands for a family trip and looked for a central hotel to make a star trip from.
The Leiden Hilton Garden in was a FANTASTIC choice.
Clean, well made, excellent service, big family room and very fare in price.
We will defenetlly come back!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Dan,

What a great pleasure to read your comment and to share this with the entire team.

To receive these comments shows that we are succeeding in our aim to offer our guests an experience beyond their expectations.

We all are looking forward to welcome you back here at the HGI Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this property on a Saturday night in September. Check-in was swift and we had our two rooms quickly arranged.
Hotel is modern and situated next to Corpus- the museum that is shaped like a sitting man- next to the motorway!
The car park is a multi-storey version and the entrance is way too steep for the car...our car is brand new but had difficulty getting up the slope!

Rooms are pods and the noise does carry from room to room.

Linens on the bed were rather coarse, but maybe because they are all new still!

Breakfast was great with eggs to order!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 747jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear 747jet,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel with fellow travelers. It is always great to read positive comments in order for us to know that we on the right track to meet and exceed our guests expectations, especially as we only opened our doors just over a month ago.

Indeed our linen, as everything else in the hotel, is brand new.

I hope we can welcome you again at the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden on your next trip to the Leiden area.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel just opened , had minor problems , but were all handled in a very pleasant way . Hotel is well located between Amsterdam and The Hague . Very quiet , large rooms , lot of parking , fast Internet and a reasonably good restaurant .
Brake fast is nothing special , but acceptable .
Service excellent . Because of the just opening a very good rate , but see now on Internet still reasonable and value for money .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronpentagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Ron Pentagon,

Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor.
Indeed we only opened our doors less than 5 weeks ago and I am very pleased to read that the minor problems were dealt with adequately and to your satisfaction.

It is great to read that the service provided by the team was excellent and for sure I will pass on your compliments to the entire team.
We all hope to welcome you back at The Hilton Garden Inn Leiden when your travels brings you back to the Leiden area.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It is almost perfect, with only problem being its distance from the train station - 30 minutes walking , 10 minutes on the bike, which you can rent on that train station. Of course taxi :) Back to the hotel - fresh, spacious with really helpful staff. I must praise the front desk manager, who was very helpful and helped me sort out a little trouble when the city council towed my bike (yes, they do that :).

Room Tip: try to get a room not facing the Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michalnajman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear michalnajman,

Thank you for your great review, especially your kind words about our front desk manager in particular, I have shared your comment with her immediately.
I had heard about your bike being towed away at the train station, indeed, this does happen here in The Netherlands. I am glad that this has not troubled your stay with us and I am looking forward welcoming you back again here at the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, a brand new hotel that compares very well with other sites in this chain. I was in a room on the "quiet" side away from the motorway -- I suspect that the rooms on the other side are a little noisier. Extra large room, with a large bathroom and great shower. Breakfast is the usual good standard for Garden Inns. Items in the Pantry are possibly a little expensive, but convenient.

As the roads around the hotel are still being constructed partly, getting to the hotel is not easy even once you can see it. There are some signs to "Corpus" (the museum next to the hotel) which are good to follow. Getting out again is also difficult, as several roads are closed due to construction.... and a problem with the exit gate from the hotel parking required a couple of excellent and highly motivated managers to exercise their weightlifting skills early in the morning to force the gate up. A small teething problem that I am sure is now solved!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear David,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments of your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden here on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to read your kind review.
Thank you for pointing out to fellow travelers, in order to reach the hotel best, just to follow the CORPUS signs. We are working intensively with the local authorities to place signage to the hotel, unfortunately, it does take a little longer than we had foreseen.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden on your next trip to the Leiden area.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel only opened a few weeks ago, and it is impressive how well it is organised. We arrived late in the evening. (you may want to print out a map as our sat nav had a problem finding it). Parking is available free in an underground car park. Reception staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The hotel is modern and crisp in style. Bedroom was extremely comfortable with a lovely modern bathroom. Tea/coffee facilities in room. Buffet breakfast was very good, eggs cooked to order, waffles, fresh juices, delicious pastries etc. The hotel is located less than 10mins drive from Leiden centre, and provided good value for money and a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galaxykent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Galaxykent,

I just wanted to thank you very much for your fantastic review of our hotel.
We all certainly appreciated your very positive and complimentary review and I will make sure to pass it on to all my team members.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to share your comments, and we all hope when your travels bring you back to Leiden, you will once again stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden.

Yours Sincerly,
Sjoerd Sybesma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oegstgeest
0.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#7 of 17 in Leiden
664 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 17 in Leiden
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
1.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
0.6 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leiden Oegstgeest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Address: Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, 2342 BH Oegstgeest, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden > Oegstgeest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Price Range: $88 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden is an award-winning, modern hotel in Leiden, which is home to one of Europe's oldest universities. Our hotel, located in the picturesque birthplace of Rembrandt, is just ten minutes from Leiden town centre and close to Katwijk and Noordwijk beaches. Relax in a spacious guest room with signature Hilton Garden Inn amenities, including adjustable beds and complimentary WiFi. This Leiden hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant which is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pick up snacks and drinks from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, located on Leiden's Bio Science Park, offers naturally lit, flexible meeting and event space. The hotel has a private dining suite and five modern meeting rooms for up to 112 persons. Each room has complimentary WiFi access. Free parking and A/V equipment are included as standard. The adjacent CORPUS Congress Centre and Bio Science Park form the unique components for successfully organising large meetings, product presentations or multi-day congresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing