We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birds of paradise in Holland”

Restaurant Avifauna
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
275 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Birds of paradise in Holland”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

School trips, weddings, business, culinair - and hotel arrangements, Christmas activities, children parties, you can find or do it in Vogelpark Avifauna. But of course it's all about birds: exotic birds like hornbills, parrots, pelicans, hummingbirds and macaws, larger birds like the bold eagle, ostridge, crane bird, European stork, vultures and very special ones like the secretary bird, the New Zealand kiwi and the Lapland owl. It's very easy to find yur way due to the many signs, you can visit several restaurants (for breakfast/lunch/dinner or snacks/ice or buffet), there is a kindergarten and often lot of activities for children are organized. The huge parking facility is for free and you can stay at the Van Der Valk Hotel, in that case the Avifauna ticket is for free. We enjoyed the very pleasant atmosphere and the beautiful gardens. My wife was delighted to be surrounded by many small, wonderfully coloured exotic birds, on her hands, arms and even head, birds of paradise in Holland!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neuteboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    58
    34
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bleiswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a family day”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The park as well as the boat ride is a great way to spend the day with the family. Young and old people enjoy the birds, the show and the boat trip.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnneliesFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice overall, except...”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

There was a family of mice in the restaurant at dinner time. I highlighted it to the lady serving us who did a poor job of acting surprised and then promptly did nothing about my complaint.

However, it us a Michelin recognized restaurant and the food is great for a terrific value

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asbedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

When we booked at the hotel we had no idea it had a birdpark - it is really nice even though we did not have much time. Very relaxing. Next time I go I think I will try the restaurant there. The fact that the entry is included in the hotel's room rates is a great incentive to just hang around a little bit. It is not very very big but still worth 2-3 hours of your time. Pleasantly surprised.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“'best meal ever'”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

One of our group rated it as best meal ever; certainly, great value, great selection, great atmosphere; whatever you want to eat, they had plenty of it

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank smallfootstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Avifauna also viewed

Alphen aan den Rijn, South Holland Province
Alphen aan den Rijn, South Holland Province
 
Alphen aan den Rijn, South Holland Province
Alphen aan den Rijn, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Avifauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing