We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay at Van Der Valkyrie was an extremely pleasant one. Our room (210) was very large as was the bathroom for European standards. The room was very clean and every day it was the same, excellent. The restaurant was very good also with great food and a very courteous staff.
I have absolutely no negative comments for this fine hotel. We will return one day.

Room Tip: We had room 210 and found it to be centrally located, not too close to the elevator. Very nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4mimi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    75
    45
    10
    3
See reviews for
39
42
3
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked this by accident as I was searching for hotels near The Hague and made the mistake of not paying attention to Expedia which classed this as 'near'. But, saying that, it was great, extremely reasonably priced and free entrance to the attached bird park, which turned out to be really good. This would make an ideal base for seeing Holland as it is near the centre and much cheaper than paying for hotels in the town centres. The attached restaurant is also pretty good (similar to a Harvesters style chain). We had one large room that slept all five of us, the room was clean but a little dated but since we spent little time in it this didn't make much difference to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexTiredDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a bit dated but it does have all you need. The twist is the bird park which is amazing as you do not realise you are in an industrial area by a motorway. This is the second Van der Valk hotel on this road trip and I would highly recommend them. Their restaurants are like uk harvester. The only thing I would suggest is to go with the half portion size and 2 courses as the food is both great and huge! Enjoyed this hotel as it was fun. Oh!, make sure your room is not on the side of the bird park as the chirping will keep you awake. We were ok as we had a duplex family room which was great. If you have little ones you will be over the moon with this choice. Amsterdam and the Hague are 40 mins by car.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Unfortunately I didn't have time to walk round the Bird park although I could see some amazingly huge birds from my room window. Was upgraded to a suite well that was a bonus .... enormous jacuzzi bath (with mirrors) stting area comfy bed. Could have done with some air con as it was very hot when I was there. Room service breakfast was more like a small feast.

Decor was quite dark and lack of sockets near table meant chosing between either charging laptop or table lamp.

Would be better for a weekend away and same I was travellingon my own in view of the upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Not only could I hear birds chirping all night, but also every group that waited for the elevator talked very loudly outside my room past 3 am and I got no sleep. When I complained to the hotel they simply said "oh sorry we are full"
I paid here to get sleep and I didn't get any! Definitely don't recommend.
My room was also old looking and I know some other rooms were much more modern.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlebitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked a 4 day trip to holland at the end of April the bride has always wanted to visit the Keukenhof gardens which I highly recommend this has a 70 acre showcase some 7 million flowers...we stayed at the hotel avifauna about 30 mins away from amsterdam our room was very clean and the view was fantastic overlooking a bird park which is free to enter if your stopping at this hotel..we found all the staff very friendly and helpful the breakfast is continental which was fresh every day our evening meal was at the restaurant adjacent the hotel which was very nice...overall we had a fantastic stay the only downside is the distance from the town....the area is quiet and relaxed and very very clean
We would have loved to stay there longer but back to work for us

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pushback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

When we stay in a B&B or small inn we expect them to reflect the local culture. When staying in a hotel we expect a good bed in a clean room with a helpful staff. We don't normally expect a fabulous bird park with a great kids playground for the same price. We originally chose Avifauna for its proximity to Keukenhof Gardens. We decided to stay here rather than trying to stay closer to the gardens - the prices can get outrageous during the spring season. We had a rental car and found it to be an easy trip from the Hotel to Keukenhof and a relaxed stroll through the avian gardens was the perfect end to a busy day viewing the tulips. In fact we found the bird park at Avifauna to be one of our more memorable stops in the Netherlands and the grand-kids visiting from Germany loved the Kid's park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank touristtrekking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alphen aan den Rijn
9.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw
8.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
21.3 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Den Haag-Nootdorp
22.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
8.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna
Address: Hoorn 65, 2404 HG Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Alphen aan den Rijn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alphen aan den Rijn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Avifauna has a four star hotel, restaurant, bar, tour boats, casino, party centre and birdpark with a large playground. Perfect for a day out, a weekend away and also very suitable for a business stay. Avifauna is also a special, exotic venue for your celebrations, marriage, dinner, meeting or congress. Avifauna is situated in the middle of the "Green Heart" of South Holland, about a 30 minute drive from Amsterdam, The Hague, Utrecht and Rotterdam and about a 20 minute drive from Schiphol Airport. Free parking area and free Wi-Fi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing