We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place where stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice place where stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

In this hotel everything works as it is supposed to work. The staff is very professional and helpful: from the receptionist to the waiter and the cleaning lady. The room are big and illumineted: there i a nice view over the park. I've eaten very well, tha buffet was vvariegated and very tasty.
The hotel is about 20-25 minutes by walk from the city centre, but there are many bus linies which are near the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galimartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    87
    48
    11
    3
See reviews for
44
49
3
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel is located adjacent to a fascinating bird. The location is silent and serene. The rooms are average and I personally missed having a cooling device in the room. However, service was great and the people friendly. Overall, I would recommend it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asbedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel and I will stay again! It's location was great for us and the free entrance to the bird park was such a bonus. At breakfast buffet, there was plenty of choice of hot foods and cereals etc and breakfast was served until 11 which was great as we had the opportunity for a nice long lie in! The residents bar was very nice. We had an evening drink and the atmosphere was lovely. The rooms were clean and very spacious with bath and separate shower unit! Staff were helpful and friendly. The only thing I would say is that it would be nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlyChuck35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We wanted to visit the Keukenhof flower show and this looked good and reasonably priced compared to the other options, even though this is about 25 mins away by car. Still, the place is really nice. We enjoyed eating at the hotel restaurant - great ambience - could do with more choice of food by not pricey - I think the breakfast should be included in the price - at 10 Euro it is not expensive but neither is it cheap - we filled up at breakfast to make it worth its while. It has a bird park which is really nice. And the possibility of a boat ride though it was not in operation while we were there. Room was really big though no bath, only shower but excellent room regardless. Would have appreciated tea and coffee making facilities though. Nice bar to hang out after a day out - free parking and wifi quite strong - would recommend this hotel and will probably stay there again in the future. Ideal for families

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, with family and as part of a group. Cannot fault the hotel; comfortable, good-sized quiet room, pleasant bar and restaurant. Ate in the buffet restaurant in the birdpark one evening, absolutely fantastic experience, one of our teenagers commented that it was the best meal ever. Bird park and playground are lovely, and a great attraction for adults and children. Pleasant walk to the town centre, canal directly across the road, overall I would stay here again without hesitation

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallfootstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I remembered this hotel from around 25 years previously and as we needed somewhere for the night I thought we would give it a go.
The room was a good size on the ground floor with a balcony overlooking the bird park so it was very quiet apart from the bird calls.
The bathroom was good with both a bath and separate shower which was appreciated after a long drive.
We got a very good deal on the room and it was probably the best value of the whole trip.
The hotel is a little strange as reception is in one building, the rooms and bar in another and the restaurant in yet another building.
Breakfast was superb, a huge choice of both hot and cold items and a variety of cereals and other things. They also continued serving breakfast till quite late so we could have a lie in.
The bar was quiet and comfortable

Room Tip: Park side rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebrews10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The park is amazing! Location is good, the restaurant is bad, the room was big but needs kind of something to make you feel that you want to spend a couple of minutes in there, the staff can't hide the need for your money!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evdokimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alphen aan den Rijn
9.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw
8.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
15.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#7 of 16 in Leiden
642 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
914 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tulip Inn Leiderdorp
Tulip Inn Leiderdorp
#1 of 2 in Leiderdorp
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna
Address: Hoorn 65, 2404 HG Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Alphen aan den Rijn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alphen aan den Rijn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Avifauna has a four star hotel, restaurant, bar, tour boats, casino, party centre and birdpark with a large playground. Perfect for a day out, a weekend away and also very suitable for a business stay. Avifauna is also a special, exotic venue for your celebrations, marriage, dinner, meeting or congress. Avifauna is situated in the middle of the "Green Heart" of South Holland, about a 30 minute drive from Amsterdam, The Hague, Utrecht and Rotterdam and about a 20 minute drive from Schiphol Airport. Free parking area and free Wi-Fi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing