We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One small city, industrial and something entertaining one, as well”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vogelpark Avifauna

Vogelpark Avifauna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
1,038 reviews
937 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“One small city, industrial and something entertaining one, as well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

So, to tell now some words about our town, we lived and worked in, that is Alphen aan den Rijn.
That is a town and municipality in the western Netherlands, between the cities of Utrecht and Leiden and near to renown city of Gouda, known widely by its production and trade of the cheese. The town is located on the banks of the river Oude Rijn (Old Rhine). There is about 110 thousands inhabitants in the municipality.
We worked here for a month or so, in the HYVA factory, that produces the pipes for water, gas.
The factory is located in Hoorn street, near the main course of Oude Rijn. One day, we walked
without hurry to be back to home, and stumbled at Vogelpark Avifauna, that is very nice bird park.
It is the world's first dedicated bird park, opened in 1950. There is a lot of greenery and ponds here within the limits of the park. We really found some peace and rest in such surrounding, after the noisy work day. The restaurant and children playground are also here, and we tried some dutch meals, after the park visiting. As the representative bird for the park, Tucan was featured on the posters for the park's opening in 1950.
Really well passed afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    104
    38
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“birds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This park has a great collection of birds. You can also watch the bird show held at regular intervals. The park also has a grand playground for kids.

The restaurant serves good meals for a moderate price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingdutchman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful bird park-- for children and adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Don't think that this is a park for children. Sure, there are playground. But beautiful gardens and lovely meandering paths make this an enjoyable trip for adults as well as adults! And make sure to attend the shows-- the presenters are really fantastic, and the birds are well-trained and allowed to fly free during the shows. I went in with no expectations but at the end of the day, I had a difficult time leaving! A truly enjoyable experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elocinoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

we never visited this bird zoo but it is really worth to visit. The shows are good and the birds and the garden is lovely.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lmlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not just for children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I visited here wih my mother who requires a wheelchair for places such as this and we chose the visit with that in mind.
Of course the primary focus for the Vogelpark is children and there a couple of play areas and activities for the kids, but the pleasant gardens and the colour of the many tropical birds is fantastic for people of any age.
We didn't feed any of the birds, which you can in one of the four indoor bird houses, but I would guess if you have children then this would have been real fun!
I really enjoyed my day, I was particularly taken with the large birds, buzzards and vultures, although I would suggest that if you have small children you might want to ensure that you attend the activities or the food hall when these big birds are being fed as it is a little gruesome.
It was in general easy to manoevre around and the map and guide were easy enough to follow, although there were a couple of occasions when my rudimentary Dutch was tested.
Quite simply, I'd recommend this to anyone who would like to have a fun day out, although I would add the note of caution that it will be better enjoyed when the weather is good; we were lucky enough to have a sunny April day

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BobGraham1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vogelpark Avifauna also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
Wassenaar, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Alphen aan den Rijn, South Holland Province
 

Been to Vogelpark Avifauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing