We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, location and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jagershuis - CLOSED

Jagershuis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food, location and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Have had the pleasure to dine, and lunch, here a few times these past months. Very much like the 'old chic' atmosphere, and the food is always great.
Choose this for my goodbye dinner when leaving my last job. Had a very enjoyable evening in separate room downstairs, near the bar. Service was great, very flexible when there were lastminute changes in both guestlist and menu.
Love the location in Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, by the water.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarionEngelschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
817 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Mediocre French Dining”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have been to this fine restaurant several times and reserved because of the French Restaurant Week. The rainy weather put a damper on the idea of dining outside with a nice view of the Amstel river. The three course meal started with a nicely presented and tasty Niçoise Salad with raw tuna. Coq au Vin was the main course and even though the chicken was very tender it lacked excitement. Dessert was very disappointing as the crepes were cold ,dry and too thin to warrant being called Crepes Suzette without the Grand Marnier. The décor and ambience are fine and the service including the Valet parking was good. Paying by credit card was trying because of the so called new machine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T-Bird1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
521 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant with lovely views”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a really nice restaurant with gorgeous views . We had to abandon our lunch table today because of rain and found that the interior was equally pleasant with a good atmosphere and tasteful decoration. The food was very well prepared and presented and the whole experience was well worth the short drive from central Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good but small portions”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Really enjoyed this restaurant in a lovely and surprising location. Just 15 or so k from Schipol the food and service was great. Add in good wine and it was all very well presented at a reasonable price. The only gripe is that the main course, I had prawns -did not have that many prawns which was disappointing as they were delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
174 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not convincing”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We got invited by friends who had bought a groupon voucher.
Turned out that we were getting a 7 course surprise menu. Before starting we were asked for items we did not like, and the input was taken into account.
Would be too much to describe all dishes, and actually non of them really stood out such that it deserves to be mentioned in detail.

What needs to be mentioned that even for a 7 course meal the portions were very small ( due to the groupon?) except for the dessert, 4 lemon flavored items, which was way to big.
Quite an extensive wine menu, good blend of french and new countries wines.
The place was nearly empty, on a Saturday evening only 3 tables were occupied, and the service was friendly but a bit uninterested.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Marjo1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jagershuis also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing