We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good but small portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jagershuis - CLOSED

Jagershuis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good but small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Really enjoyed this restaurant in a lovely and surprising location. Just 15 or so k from Schipol the food and service was great. Add in good wine and it was all very well presented at a reasonable price. The only gripe is that the main course, I had prawns -did not have that many prawns which was disappointing as they were delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    9
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
145 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not convincing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We got invited by friends who had bought a groupon voucher.
Turned out that we were getting a 7 course surprise menu. Before starting we were asked for items we did not like, and the input was taken into account.
Would be too much to describe all dishes, and actually non of them really stood out such that it deserves to be mentioned in detail.

What needs to be mentioned that even for a 7 course meal the portions were very small ( due to the groupon?) except for the dessert, 4 lemon flavored items, which was way to big.
Quite an extensive wine menu, good blend of french and new countries wines.
The place was nearly empty, on a Saturday evening only 3 tables were occupied, and the service was friendly but a bit uninterested.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Marjo1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot near the Amstel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a nice meal in het Jagershuis but not as special as I expected it would be. Setting is nice along the Amstel, I presume that in summer it will be great on the terrace. Service is ok but not outstanding. The wines are nice but overpriced. The choice of dishes was very limited, but when you’re not to picky, that’s not really a problem. And yes you can get a nice vegetarian meal. Regarding the whole setting I would hesitate to recommend this place however it is a very nice spot along the Amstel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
269 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a decent meal in het Jagershuis but not anything of a wow, that's good. Setting is nice along the Amstel. Service is ok but not that friendly. They have nice wines (but are very expensive) We had a 6 course menu which was not at the same level as some of the neighbouring restaurants. Must admit that I've been before to this restaurant when the standard was higher than this time. Maybe just unlucky.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Versatile - romantic date or business lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I love the location of this restaurant in the stunning village of Ouderkerk. Parking nearby and free BUT limited spaces, so arrive early. Indoor seating is pleasant, outdoor in summer is spectacular by the water. Food was for the most part reasonably flavoursome, although not really stretching the taste buds, just very safe cooking. The bill was high but we'd ordered a lot of drinks. Service was fine but not remarkable. Certainly, for a business lunch it's a good choice, for a romantic date sit outside on a hot summer's day and he/she can't fail to be impressed by your choice as the location is what makes this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jagershuis also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing