We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food in a quiet atmosphere & semi-formal environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jagershuis - CLOSED

Jagershuis
Amstelzijde 2-4, 1184VA Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen, The Netherlands
020-4962020
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
263 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“High quality food in a quiet atmosphere & semi-formal environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have been here many times. It's consistently one of the restaurants that we pick during "restaurant week" each year in the Netherlands due to the high quality food and professional service. It's nicest around lunch time for a Saturday or Sunday brunch (a bit less formal than the evenings), and you should definitely ask for their wine recommendations as they have a wide selection. All in all, a great little place in a very quaint little town. A perfect day at this restaurant would involve a long bike ride from Amsterdam to go out to Oudekerk. It's a beautiful cycle along the river, and a very relaxing way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderfool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    9
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
240 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“nice setting and ambience, food tries hard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I went with several friends and we had their 5 course menu that was on special. Everything was very nicely presented with a lot of attention to the decoration. Unfortunately there was less attention to the content- the sauces were pretty but not very flavourful; the Angus beef slices tasted OK but were tough; the soup with sauerkraut was very acidic and lukewarm; the dessert, a Bailey's concoction was quite good. Service was very effective however the pressure to order more wine (we were asked at least 3 times) was a bit too much considering there were drivers in the group. We had eaten at Ron Blaauw earlier in the week and for virtually the same price, we had an incredible meal so that we couldn't help but compare. There is potential here, especially that the location is beautiful and the decor very cosy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“We had the chef special and loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to have a business diner with good food and wine. We had the chef special which was celebrated by the waiter by serving a complementary glass of champaign. The price was just right and we had a fruitful evening. We really can recommend it

Helpful?
Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
Level Contributor
235 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“BUSINESS DINNER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

After a busy day at a tradeshow I invited some good business friends to enjoy dinner in a beautiful restaurant overlooking the AMSTEL river in Ouderkerk a/d/ Amstel.
First we had some cocktails on the terrace and later went inside for our dinner.
The quality of service and food was perfect. I recommend the Lamb and soft shell crab but really all dishes are lovely.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TRIPSPJLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good value for money in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a business lunch here today. the sun was out, and we sat outside on the beautiful terrace overlooking the river. Nicely in the shade. A pleasure to arrive and see all the tables nicely laid out with white linen etc. Perhaps placed a bit too close to each other thats the only remark i would make. Service is quick and adequate. We took the lunch menu and before we knwe it, The starter arrived. They say on the menu that it can be served within 1 hr which i had never seen but is very useful for a business lunch. Nice main course, with fresh vegetables. At 85 euro very good value for money. The best place in ouderkerk. Very easy to get there from amsterdam. Parking is an issue use the valet parking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tvanhalewijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jagershuis also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing