We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous, delicious, and getting there was half the fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Oude Smidse

De Oude Smidse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $41
Cuisines: Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, delicious, and getting there was half the fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I rode bikes from Amsterdam, following the Amstel to get to the restaurant, and had a wonderful time just getting there -- beautiful scenery on a lovely day! The meal we had was the best of our trip, and it's worth noting that the seafood starter with crab, shrimp, eel and more was spectacular, and the lamb was cooked to perfection. Sitting in the sun along the canal at this beautiful spot added to our fun as well, and the staff was very friendly and helpful (the manager was kind enough to lend me his iPhone charger, running out to his car to get it especially). I highly recommend a visit, and if you can get there by bike, so much the better!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSetNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    50
    9
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful food! Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely taster-menu style starter followed by gorgeous main course. We had a lovely family dinner made even better by the staff, the atmosphere and the surroundings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Singingmaria111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
677 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Charming by the water restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I like this traditional Dutch restaurant. It's informal, has a charming, nice and cozy environment, meaning exactly what the Dutch expression "gezellig" is about.

My sister-in-low and her family where visiting the Netherlands and we went there for dinner. The service was friendly and effective, although a bit slow (but that is the standard in NL). The dishes were good and we were all satisfied. I saw a change from last time we went there, which is a movement in doing more sophisticated dishes regarding the mix of flavours and presentation.

The view is wonderful if you are reserving a table that has view to the canal, with boats passing by and lights going on at night in the bridge right at the entrance of the restaurant.

Ouderkerk is this beautiful little town very cozy, specially at night. So a walk after dinner in the neighbourhood of the restaurant is a must. If it's not raining, of course!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“White44”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

A lovely restaurant, lovely welcoming staff, knew I spoke English and out came the English menu and they didn't hesitate to talk English. The setting in the restaurant was beautiful real old Dutch. The food was excellent, made my last meal in holland most enjoyable. Would recommend this restaurant. Also looking over the canal, and watch the canal boats go by, so beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had dinner with some business associates here this week. It was a gorgeous evening and we sat right by the water watching little boats go by, what a treat. Everyone loved their food, the seafood appetizer with a taste of king prawn, small Dutch shrimp, crab meat etc was great. Several of us had the sea wolf (even though we were not familiar with that fish), I can highly recommend it. They brought us various small plates of salad, something that tasted like marinated watermelon and fries. We all left the restaurant happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rejsegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Oude Smidse also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Oude Smidse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing