We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superb location, great food and excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Twist

Restaurant Twist
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb location, great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

A colleague who lives locally took us to this restaurant, which has an outside area on the river. Thje weather was lovely which made for an excellent setting.

The food is a fusion between Indian and Thai, with some interesting combinations. WE all had the special tandoori chicken which came with the most perfectly cooked naan bread (think and light) a range of very tasty dips and the wine choices were very tasty.

This was one of the best Indian meals I have ever had and we finished with an ice cream over the road which was AMAZING

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank garryturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very fresh, very unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went there just to try some "different" food and were very pleasantly surprised with the unique taste of each dish we ordered. We ordered mushrooms with cheese as starter, lamb as main course and the food was absolutely amazing. The location is also very excellent with great views on the water. Thoroughly recommended to anyone who loves food!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakhwinder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“very, very average….”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

it's just not worth the money to be honest. if you can sit outside it's fun: you sit next to the water, boats go by…..but that's it. It's supposed to be fusion cooking, but the only fusion is on the menu. A few exotic dishes and not prepared well. Sorry, can't make much of it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mvm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We decided to try the new restaurant in the area. I was pleasantly surprised with the food. I ordered a shrimp starter, then chicken marsala. I was pleased with the modern style of the dishes compared to traditional indian restaurant. My partner had the chicken sate, and it too was a much better quality than what you typically get in Holland, it had more flavor in the sauce and much better quality chicken than we usually get. The service was very friendly and helpful, and we had some really nice wine. They have cozy outdoor seating. Overall, for the price, it's a good value. And really nice addition to the neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FoxyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch at Twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Happy to report an excellent lunch at Twist today. Another reason to visit the Amstelveen riviera... ;-) The spicy chicken wings, the Samosas with a delicious Tamarind sauce and a marvelous Chicken Tikka Sandwich all delivered. Lekka as they say round here. The owners staff the front end and as you would expect from a steak holder, smirk, are charming, kind and professional. 10 out of 10 for this one guys and thanks for the great lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tom_tcconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Twist also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Twist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing