We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Culinary Treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Jaimie Van Heije

Restaurant Jaimie Van Heije
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Culinary Treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

While an evening out in OuderKerk we decided to give this restaurant a try. We were not disappointed.
I had not looked at reviews here on TA prior to arriving so had no idea what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised with the evening. Enough so to say we would go back. I see on here that some people talk about the size of the dishes here...while perhaps small the amount of effort and the suprising tastes in every bite make it a culinary feast and great wines to match. It was slow the night we were there, but let us say World Cup, Tuesday Night and summer nights can do that to restaurants. Service top and the food even better. The advantage of these slower nights is you get a chance to meet the team running the place and even chatted a while with Jaimie chef/owner afterwards.
I think the best thing to say about this place is that there is a passion in the air here to delivery a quality product! If you are in the area, or even visiting Amsterdam it is worth the trip out for this Culinary Treat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    48
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
704 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Quality over Ouantity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We liked the friendly and ambitious staff who greeted and served us in this established restaurant which was previously owned by a Michelin star chef and taken over by his sous-chef. We enjoyed the fine quality of the three course set menu as well as its presentation but were somewhat disappointed by the portions and the location of our table. Their regular menu appears too limited to warrant an encore.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T-Bird1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
230 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Top notch restaurant 20 min outside Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Perfect place to have a nice long (summer) lunch or perfect dinner! Jaimie van Heije is a protégé of an impressive number of Michelin star chefs that started his own place a short while ago. The food is superb of quality / taste with some 'funny' detailsnow and then.
When staying in Amsterdam, DO take the time to travel to Ouderkerk aan de Amstel and try Jaimie's restaurant. Especially as the combinatoir of the two (the food and the beautiful and very old city of Ouderkerk) make such a great way to spend some time away from the crowds!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Playful Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Amidst the clean lines, there were pieces that gave the place a playful ambiance. And they were equally playful in their cooking. The unexpected combination of flavors, that worked really well, was the highlight of our dining experience. The staff were friendly. While settling the bill, the waiter allowed me to practice my Dutch with him. Though the location is outside central Amsterdam, the trip to Jamie van Heije in Ouderkerk aan de Amstel was so worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch and Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

A group of four of us (one Dutch, two British, one American) went for lunch at this restaurant, and had an absolutely wonderful lunch. We were totally enthralled by the quality, taste, and variety of the menu. We all had different food, from vegetarian to fish and red meat, and were not disappointed in the least. It was all wonderful. I can not exaggerate how impressed we all were with the food, and service. We are going back tonight, again! That should say something about the impression it made!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ddmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Jaimie Van Heije also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
 
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Jaimie Van Heije? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing