We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously sexy...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Auberge Damhotel Edam
Ranked #2 of 5 Edam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

unfiortunately it was a business trip... Hotel is great, deco, bar, food, location right in the middle of town. absolutely gorgeous. no price info as I was invited. but would definitely come back for a week end of exploring 40min away from Amsterdam. recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for L'Auberge Damhotel Edam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was prepared for the quirky decor - and it was just fine. Clearly someone really enjoyed doing the interior design. The rooms vary - ours was large and the wifi was perfect. Beautifully updated bathroom. Lots of big high quality towels. Food very nice. I had a warm goat cheese sandwich on dark bread that was wonderful. The owners take a lot of pride in their hotel. They accommodated our bicycles inside the hotel during the night. Most of the breakfast was good, except the only breakfast cereal they offered was Kellogs in a box - not my favorite- but there was plenty of other food..

Room Tip: We had room "Cupido", over the restaurant.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jksj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was quite surprised at the price but at 125 Euro including breakfast not a bad deal. The decor in our room was Gothic and interesting but the room was too small to accommodate it even if we weren't cycling and would have been even worse if we had suitcases not pannier bags. For a tourist trap in Edam overall not bad and the bed was very comfortable. The location right in the center of Edam next to the VVV and proximity sights and tourist attractions, needless to say 20 km from Amsterdam is very good. Vollendam's tourist trap is only 5 km away and the entire area is steeped in history. The small towns in the area like De Rijp are beautiful and have great character and cycle to these places if you are adventurous.The hotel has cycle storage and you can rent bikes in own. Cycling is the way to go here. You see so much more and it is nice and easy and very safe. Wear a helmet even so. Oh and the hotel has a very interesting gothic bar and restaurant reviewed separately.

Room Tip: Get a room bigger than the one we got which was room number 2. Tiny little room this only worth it i...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We didn't stay there but had lunch while visiting Edam. The decoration is really good (it looks like an old castle) and the food tasted great. I would really recommend it! The slipt peas soup and edam croquettes were great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie75k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We read the reviews, and didn't want a chain hotel, but really weren't expecting this. Life-sized angels on the bar, the Night Watch (Rembrandt) across one wall, chandeliers and candles (lit) everywhere. It is a lovely canalside wooden-framed building. The first room we were offered was completely over the top with chandeliers inches over the bed, statues covering the walls, but was filthy, the phone did not work, guests are locked in the "room" section overnight (apparently to stop access to the bar). To be fair it must be impossible to keep all the crystals clean, but the chest of drawers. They said it was antique, but... The location is superb, the town lovely quaint Dutch, with plenty to see in the vicinity. Advice to go to the area, have a look at this place,have a drink in the bar, but stay elsewhere. It was overpriced and not good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Really enjoyed the stay. Wish I could have stayed longer. Great room. Great food. Great staff. Just outside Amsterdam. Quiet. Wonderful area to experience. Will definitely return there with family. Went for business. Best hotel and food of my Germany and Netherlands experience.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Von Trapp room. Great for a couple and had extra bed as well.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The best Sarnies ever had got in out of the wind and rain (very strong winds 28th Oct), service needs uping, but shes pretty, so that helps. But the menu was a good looking one love to have time next time to stay and sample some of their wares,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glennlevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edam
1.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
1.7 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
467 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#2 of 4 in Volendam
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
1.7 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#3 of 4 in Volendam
168 reviews
12.4 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Damhotel Edam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Damhotel Edam

Address: Keizersgracht 1, 1135 AZ Edam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Edam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Edam
Price Range: $139 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Auberge Damhotel Edam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your L'Auberge Damhotel Edam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing