We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!”
Review of Hotel Waalwijk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Waalwijk
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waalwijk
Ijmuiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Waalwijk because we had planned to go to Efteling amusement park. And it was a good choice. The hotel is located very close to the center and shopping areas. We just walked and reached it within a while.

We liked the hotel atmosphere. There was simple but interesting by all kind of great painting. We were not so satified with employees because they were not so service-minded and also not helpful. A housekeeper didn't shut the door of our room. It's quite pity for us.

Breakfast was great. Free parking is very useful. Flat screen TV was terrific. Unluckily, beds were dusty. We could say that the room and bathroom were good size, not too big, not too small.

We would stay there again because of the location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    53
    35
    13
    2
See reviews for
29
31
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arsy, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We booked here as they had family rooms that took 5 people - this naturally kept the costs down - the price per night was 117 euros for the room including a hearty breakfast - great value for the 5 of us

Finding the hotel was easy with the sat nav but it it did require a u-turn and a side street but we got there in the end - plenty of parking too.

The entrance lobby was modern and clean, staff were warm and welcoming.

Our room was up 2 flights of stairs and it seemed like the one and only lift serviced the main block rather than our block - given that the family rooms were all in the block without the lift this could cause problems for families with young children given the amount of stuff that also has to be carried up the stairs.

One thing that stuck me was how low the banister rails were around the stairs, being from a health and safety mad country it was something that raised an eyebrow with me.

The room was large, it had 3 single beds and one double - given this it is always going to look a bit like a dorm - it had a large bathroom with shower and seperate bath, it was big and clean but was dated with it's 1970's plastic accessories, there was plenty of hot water which was a tad yellow at times. There was also plenty of storage space.

The room felt a little barren as there was a lack of decor. The beds were comfortable and the windows had black out blinds/curtains, the heating was not on which was a bit of a godsend given that one of the beds was right up against the raidiator.

We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel, breakfast was typically Dutch with pastries, breads, meats and cheese - it was generally good. The evening meals were lovely and the set meal was good value at 16 euros for a 3 course, the children's meals were set at 10 euros and this was for 3 courses too, the starters and desserts were fab but the main children's meal was not that exciting or healthy. The restaurant staff were good and friendly, a little slow at times but there was no rush.

The hotel location is ideal for Efterling theme park, it was approx 3 miles away and easliy found.

The hotel is from the 1970's and it does retain that style in some parts of the building.

I had read that the TV channels did not stop you surfing past adult channels, this was a concern of mine given that we had our young children with us but we did not have any such issues.

This certainly is not a 4 start hotel but it's a fair 3 star, it is good value for money especially if there are 5 of you in a room, it is also hard to find hotels that have quin rooms so this is an added bonus. The location is ideal for Efterling and the food was good, I would stay here again when visiting Efterling, however, I would be concerned about staying here in the summer as there was no air con but the windows did open wide so there may not be such an issue in the larger rooms

  • Liked — Location and rooms that took 5 people
  • Disliked — low banisters around stairs
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poe.tuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed for two nights at Hotel Waalwijk. We had a great time.
The hotel is oke but not a 4 star hotel!! You can already see that from the outsight.. Lobby en restaurant are good.. The two diners we had in the hotel were very good! Our room was oke, but a bit old en very warm and that for a april day (dont want to think what a hot summer will be like). The hotel staff was very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was good but also not a 4 star!
Overall oke hotel.. but I will not go back!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Inhabitant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2007

This is a pleasant enough hotel with spacious rooms and an excellent breakfast provided.
However, the hotel has a flat roof and no air conditioning. The room (in May) was very hot. I would hesitate to go there in the summer as one would not be able to sleep. The interconnecting doors are not sound proofed and we noticed the difference between the room next door being occupied and vacant by the noise.
The staff with one exception on the reception were unfriendly and disinterested.
The breakfast things were very rarely cleared away which meant my daughter and I had to sit in the smoking area and others had to sit amongst the debris of earlier 'diners'. Once the food on the buffet had run out it took a long time to be replenished.
Once the table clearers arrived, it was very obvious that they would rather have been somewhere else and there was a lot of bashing and crashing going on.
There is a display in the entrance hall of pamphlets describing local attarations and places of interest. I didn't see what I was looking for and when I asked if they had any information on my chosen place the 'short' answer was "if it's not in the rack then,no." I'm sure they are not personally responsible for what goes in the rack but there are more friendly and polite ways of speaking to customers.
We were never once asked if we had enjoyed our stay - they probably guessed what the answer might be.
The hotel was good value for money but I would consider paying more for a little more comfort and a friendly greeting.

  • Liked — Excellent Breakfast Provided
  • Disliked — Unfriendly staff and hot room.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MaeRoseCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waalwijk hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waalwijk
NH Waalwijk
#1 of 2 in Waalwijk
663 reviews
Hotel De Kroon
#2 of 3 in Kaatsheuvel
128 reviews
Efteling Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaatsheuvel
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waalwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waalwijk

Property: Hotel Waalwijk
Address: Burgemeester van der Klokkenlaan 55, 5141 EG, Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Waalwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waalwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waalwijk 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Waalwijk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing