We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Waalwijk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Waalwijk
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waalwijk
Ninove, Belgium
Level Contributor
176 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We only stayed 2 nights in this hotel (mid of August).
Reception - friendly and helpful
Rooms - comfortable and nice rooms. Only negative: there is no airco. (in this hotel there is only airco at the reception). Unlucky the days we were in the hotel: it was outside 34 degr. So ... the rooms were extremely hot. 'Lucky' there is a fan in the room.
Breakfast - simple but very good for this kind of hotel
Aubergine restaurant (linked to this hotel): very good !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyCau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    52
    34
    13
    2
See reviews for
28
31
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed there after a day in Efteling. When we arrived around 1.15 AM, our key didn't work any more. we called the night phone but nobody answered for half an hour and finally let us in our room.
Otherwise really nice, modern, well equipped room and bathroom. Beautiful breakfast buffet with a good variety of products.
To bad we had bad internet connection in the room and I don't know what happened with the floor carpet but it's not soft and comfortable at all. My private opinion is that the mattresses are to hard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joachim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We went to the area to see the tulips, but the hotels near Lisse were very expensive (250€ and up). We decided to stay here, and drive the little over one hour the next morning. The room was very comfortable (quad room; 2 adults and two teenaged children) for our family; larger than other hotel rooms for four in which we stayed. The beds were actual beds for the children, and not pull-out chairs or couches--very comfortable and we could have even slept one more comfortably. The bathroom was quite large (by European standards) with a full tub and a separate shower. The hotel is only a 10 min walk (mainly on pedestrian only zone) to the city center of Waalwijk--very clean, friendly, and easy to get there. There is plenty of shopping on the street, and a few restaurants (but not many on which we could find reviews--even on Trip Advisor). The hotel is nicely decorated with unique and interesting art by a local, who was also seen giving classes in the hotel on Saturday and Sunday. The staff is excellent and very helpful. Free parking and we had WiFi included. Breakfast was very solid (great, strong coffee) but not spectacular. It had a smaller selection of meats and cheeses than other places in Europe where we have stayed, but they did also have scrambled eggs and bacon. I would recommend more meats and cheeses and additional fruit offerings.

On the negative side, the quad room that we had backed up against the elevator, which was not so smooth running (to ride in or to hear), and it banged around. Fortunately, it seemed that nobody used it after about 2300. Fix the elevator for a smoother, quieter ride for those in the elevator and those in adjacent rooms.

Also, the hotel was busy and we went to breakfast right after a tour group left. Still, we had to pick through the plates and silverware to find some that were totally clean. Perhaps a new and more powerful dishwasher is in order.

All in all, a nice hotel for this trip and wonderful for families--we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while my husband was on a business trip. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The food in the Aubergine restaurant was very good and the staff very pleasant. Would recommend

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe room, it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 604CarolM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Comfortable if somewhat dated hotel. Good kitchen. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRMARKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijmuiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Waalwijk because we had planned to go to Efteling amusement park. And it was a good choice. The hotel is located very close to the center and shopping areas. We just walked and reached it within a while.

We liked the hotel atmosphere. There was simple but interesting by all kind of great painting. We were not so satified with employees because they were not so service-minded and also not helpful. A housekeeper didn't shut the door of our room. It's quite pity for us.

Breakfast was great. Free parking is very useful. Flat screen TV was terrific. Unluckily, beds were dusty. We could say that the room and bathroom were good size, not too big, not too small.

We would stay there again because of the location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsy, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

We booked here as they had family rooms that took 5 people - this naturally kept the costs down - the price per night was 117 euros for the room including a hearty breakfast - great value for the 5 of us

Finding the hotel was easy with the sat nav but it it did require a u-turn and a side street but we got there in the end - plenty of parking too.

The entrance lobby was modern and clean, staff were warm and welcoming.

Our room was up 2 flights of stairs and it seemed like the one and only lift serviced the main block rather than our block - given that the family rooms were all in the block without the lift this could cause problems for families with young children given the amount of stuff that also has to be carried up the stairs.

One thing that stuck me was how low the banister rails were around the stairs, being from a health and safety mad country it was something that raised an eyebrow with me.

The room was large, it had 3 single beds and one double - given this it is always going to look a bit like a dorm - it had a large bathroom with shower and seperate bath, it was big and clean but was dated with it's 1970's plastic accessories, there was plenty of hot water which was a tad yellow at times. There was also plenty of storage space.

The room felt a little barren as there was a lack of decor. The beds were comfortable and the windows had black out blinds/curtains, the heating was not on which was a bit of a godsend given that one of the beds was right up against the raidiator.

We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel, breakfast was typically Dutch with pastries, breads, meats and cheese - it was generally good. The evening meals were lovely and the set meal was good value at 16 euros for a 3 course, the children's meals were set at 10 euros and this was for 3 courses too, the starters and desserts were fab but the main children's meal was not that exciting or healthy. The restaurant staff were good and friendly, a little slow at times but there was no rush.

The hotel location is ideal for Efterling theme park, it was approx 3 miles away and easliy found.

The hotel is from the 1970's and it does retain that style in some parts of the building.

I had read that the TV channels did not stop you surfing past adult channels, this was a concern of mine given that we had our young children with us but we did not have any such issues.

This certainly is not a 4 start hotel but it's a fair 3 star, it is good value for money especially if there are 5 of you in a room, it is also hard to find hotels that have quin rooms so this is an added bonus. The location is ideal for Efterling and the food was good, I would stay here again when visiting Efterling, however, I would be concerned about staying here in the summer as there was no air con but the windows did open wide so there may not be such an issue in the larger rooms

  • Liked — Location and rooms that took 5 people
  • Disliked — low banisters around stairs
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poe.tuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waalwijk
NH Waalwijk
#1 of 2 in Waalwijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Hotel De Kroon
#2 of 3 in Kaatsheuvel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Efteling Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaatsheuvel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waalwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waalwijk

Property: Hotel Waalwijk
Address: Burgemeester van der Klokkenlaan 55, 5141 EG, Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Waalwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waalwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waalwijk 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Waalwijk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing