We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel for people who like to bicycle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Doorwerth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood at the edge of the numberous Woods around the Arnhem area.

Very friendly and helpfull staff.
Breakfast with enough variety and of good quality.
We dined one night at the hotel and it has to be said that it was suprisingly good, above what I expected it to be from a hotel belonging to a large group as Ibis hotels are.

Nice quiet terras (where you can have dinner as well as breakfast when the whether is good) with a great view over the hotels premisses:pool, large grass playing fields, childrens playground, the lake and the woods.

Swimming pool inside as well as outside were OK.

Rooms have basic functionality. Beds are good. The bathroom is very basic but also clean. No airco.

The hotel has a bicycle lending service: bikes are very good and at the reception you can choose from various tours in the neighboorhood from 30km to about 60km.
The hotel can also provide a pic-nic lunch for you bike ride.

About the terrain: i must warn you for the cliché that the Netherlands are flat. This part - the Veluwe - isn't. There are some hills.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front side are sunny in the morning and shady in the evening, so their cooler.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasqua68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 561 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst on business in Arnhem. In general this is a good hotel, really wish I had packed swim and gym kit as both the indoor pool (probably a bit chilly to use the outdoor pool) and the gym looked great.
Only negative was although there is free wifi in public areas this does not extend to the rooms which I feel nowadays i really should.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMAk981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Golden Tulip Doorwerth is very beautiful located near the Veluwezoom and Arnhem.
The rooms are small but very clean.
Breakfast is excellent.
Staff very friendly and helpfull.
By good weather you eat or drink outside on the terrace.
There is a small swimmingpool.
The hotel is child friendly.

Room Tip: Only 10 min away by car you can reach the Veluwezoom. A great surrounding for hiking and/or biking
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stes1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A very good location, being in a quiet suburban setting but just a stone's throw from the motorway.
The interior is modern and contemporary. The public areas include a pleasant bar with a large library area, and a restaurant that overlooks the grounds. The grounds looked nice, but I didn't have the opportunity to explore them.
The room was a good size and, again, furnished in a contemporary scheme. The only exception was the bathroom which was in need of an overhaul. The bed was very soft, which I prefer, but I did wake up with a bit of back ache! Free WiFi in the room is much appreciated.
We didn't eat in the evening but breakfast was fine. For me, it was missing a couple of options - i.e, no fresh fruit salad, but the other than that it was exactly as you would expect from a European hotel breakfast.
All in all, no complaints and I would recommend for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathijs F, Manager at Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks for your extensive review. Fresh fruit salad is available as a part of our breakfast buffet as well as dried and sorted fruits. Don't know what went wrong there. I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Despite looking rather drab from the outside, we found all of the interior spaces of the hotel to be light and modern. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and although rather old, are decorated with modern fabrics with one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. The bar and restaurant areas are well served and the food was of a very good standard. Despite us staying over a very busy Easter weekend, with many guests in the hotel, the levels of service were excellent. The breakfast buffet had a good selection, with a "brunch" style buffet on Easter Sunday which again was well stocked. The location is ideal for visiting any of the WW2 sites and museums in the area, which was the main focus of our visit. The hotel is situated in a wooded area within 5 minutes of a main motorway link, which made finding it after the drive up from Calais very easy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location. The first impression of the room is good - though the ceiling was quite low - but during the stay it became obvious that the room becomes very hot. Must be quite uncomfortable in summertime. Otherwise the room is clean and adequate. The next morning the breakfast buffet was chaotic. Tables were not cleaned after use so one had to clean it by yourself. Long rows at the coffee-machines and staff running around without a plan. The quality of the breakfast was good. It is a pity that the organization of the breakfast was not adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halley23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathijs F, Manager at Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for your feedback. The service during breakfast needs attention, especially during peak times. We start with een updated and improved breakfast concept next week; guest service is a part of that.

I hope you will visit our hotel again. In summer perhaps when the outdoor pool is open?

Kind regards,

Mathijs Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Hotel has an excellent location. In the woods between Arnhem and Wageningen. There is a lot to do in the neighborhood. Both nature and cultural.

The hotel itself is a low built (2 stories) spread out building with a large terrace and garden. Outside pool (only in summer) Inside heated pool, a small sauna (has to be reserved at the reception desk) solarium (reservation needed as well) some fitness machines. A large restaurant and a pleasant bar next to the reception area.

Our room (204) was somewhat dated, with a low ceiling with moisture staines and a dated but clean bathroom. The beds were new and very comfortable. Showering in the bahttub was somewhat uncomfortable for me (1,91 m) since the lowered ceiling was only 1,90 m high.

The hotel has free wifi, but speeds were not very fast. The room had a water cooker for tea or instant coffee.

Breakfast was OK and served till 10:30 normally and 11:30 on sundays. Plenty of time to sleep late.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathijs F, Manager at Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for this extensive and clear review. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Mathijs Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doorwerth
1.6 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel Wolfheze
4.5 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#1 of 14 in Arnhem
676 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel Klein Zwitserland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Bilderberg
Hotel De Bilderberg
#1 of 1 in Oosterbeek
741 reviews
3.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem
3.7 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Wageningsche Berg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem

Address: Kabeljauwallee 35, 6865 BL Doorwerth, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Doorwerth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Doorwerth
Price Range: $72 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Doorwerth
Doorwerth Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing