We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Doorwerth
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Having read the trip advisor reviews I was a little concerned about this hotel. However, I figured that they were old so we'd give it a go as we were attending an event in Arnhem and it suited all our needs as a family. First off, they must have got rid of all the rude staff because right from the start the staff here were so helpful and friendly I don't know how anyone could fault them.
We booked a family suite which was two rooms divided by glass doors, one double bed and a fold out sofa - ideal for our family of four. There was a tv in each room, fridge and a balcony overlooking the beautiful grounds. Before arriving we were going to check in and go out for the day but soon changed our minds when we got there. There are two playgrounds for the children, a lake and an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. We had a lovely afternoon sitting on the terrace having drinks and ice creams while the children played in the sunshine. In the evening we used the restaurant and the food for adults was excellent with a buffet for the children which they very much enjoyed. When the kids had eaten they ran off to play in the indoor children's room which had numerous toys and books and a huge screen plays children's dvds, leaving us to enjoy a couple of drinks. We also ate breakfast in the morning which was also very good with a large buffet selection to satisy even the fussiest of Brits.
To sum it up, we would return to this hotel in a heartbeat! Having used this as a base to attend an event, the children said staying at the hotel was the best part of the trip!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    218
    66
    25
    4
See reviews for
100
260
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somersetshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

I have stayed here each time I come over on the Arnhem Pilgrimage. I find the staff very friendly and the service good. Buffet breakfast has plenty of choice, the coffee is excellent.
I agree that the cleaning is almost an allday job, but you can't start to clean occupied rooms can you?
I don't drivew when in Europe and the bus service in to Oosterbeek and then on to Arnhem is adequate for my needs.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jusben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2008

It very much feels like a cheap American motel. However ... a good part of the time the internet did not work. Rather rude service.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kodada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2007

we stayed for 2 nights in the Golden Tulip Doorwerth hotel which is very close to Arnhem and great for biking trips at the Veluwe.
Although the rooms are quite standard the facilities make up for that. We hardly stayed in our room, just to sleep.
We very much enjoyed the outdoor pool, tennis courts and our kids loved the fantastic playgrounds. An ideal place for small kids - the hotel is extremely kid friendly.
We had a lovely dinner on the first evening and found the staff very friendly. Because our kids were so much at the pool we needed some extra towels, which was brought immediately at no cost.
If you wish to combine Arnhem with nature - an ideal place as the hotel is set in a big nature area.

  • Liked — the facilities, indoor pool, outdoor pool, 4 tenniscourts, children playgrounds etc etc etc
  • Disliked — Rooms are standard in size but ok
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gijsje100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2007

First of all the good things:
This hotel is just a stones throw away from Arnhem and the Veluwe. It’s clearly not the jewel on the crown of the Golden Tulip hotel chain, but it has standard rooms (** equivalent) and a nice pool with water that doesn’t freeze your b**s off as soon as you enter the water. They also have more sports facilities, such as squash, tennis, ping pong, body building/workout, ... The sauna is only available after booking. It seemingly has some kind of renown in the sports world, because during our stay the team of Real Sociedad stayed also in the hotel.

The restaurant is rather expensive and has a minimal choice.

Then the negative points. First a minor issue: no airco in this hotel.
Secondly, and a much worse problem is the quality of the cleaning service. When we arrive, and consequently also when we left, several insect corpses were adorning the walls. No effort whatsoever had been made to clean the walls. Dusting is not on the agenda of the cleaning ladies either.
The cleaning ladies also make it a habit of switching on a radio in one of the rooms where they work from 10 in the morning, with such a volume that not only they can hear it through the whole corridor, but that loud that they have to shout to each other in order to communicate. Any remarks made about this noise is seen as an infringement in their natural way of working.
As one could expect this Golden Tulip hotel has a so-called environment charter which claims to reduce the amount of laundry. Everybody knows the rule: towels on the ground shall be replaced. Well, this hotel has that rule, but doesn’t adhere to it. Wet towels on the ground are the client’s problem and shall not be picked-up, let alone replaced.
One day we found also our pillows and duvets more thrown than posed on our beds.

All in all, value for money hotel except for the very lousy room service.

  • Liked — Swimming pool
  • Disliked — Room cleaning service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2006

Stayed late october on business.

A rather tired old hotel in need of major reworking. Rooms very basic and useless for business travellers, no means of getting on-line.

Appeared like quite a fun little hotel for a leaisure break though.

Due to gebnerally run down appearance eat around the conerat local chinese very good. But little idea on how attentive etc staff were.

  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank Belter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2006

The Golden Tulip hotel in Doorwerth is just a standard 'old' Golden Tulip hotel. They are currently refurbishing their interior, which is in dire need of an upgrade.

Our party had three types of rooms: a normal room, a family room (which has an extra seperate 1 person bedroom with its own bathroom) and a suite.

Only the family room had a minibar and paytv. All rooms (even the suite) were equipped with 2 small beds put side to side to create a 'kingsize-like bed'.

The hotel 'feels' very old. The hallways and corridors are dark and smell a bit.

The hotel has free wireless internet available in most of the rooms. This is however _very_ limited. Only port 80 (web), 110 (pop), 143 (imap) en 443 (secure web) are allowed. Sending mail is not possible, even through authenticated mailservers. Using a VPN to your work is also likely to cause problems.

Hotel staff is very friendly and helpfull. They try to help you in the best way they can.

There is fitness equipment on site, which is not free of charge, same for sauna and solarium. The swimmingpool is free of charge (bring your own towel or use your room-towel). The pool is rather big (for a hotel pool) and the water is very warm, real nice after a long day of work. Changing rooms are a bit dirty though.

The hotel also has a very big park at the back, with a small artificial lake where you can tan in the summer. The hotel itself is situated nearby forests, which makes is comfortable for relaxation.

The diner we had in the restaurant was not that good. They have a buffet for children, whcih is nice. But the 'a la carte' menu is not that much to talk about. Breakfast is good enough and some variation is available.

All in all, if you don't need too much comfort and are more likely to spend a lot of time outside the hotel, this is a very fine hotel where you can relax in the swimming pool after wards.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ralfvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doorwerth
3.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Wageningsche Berg
1.5 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel Wolfheze
1.0 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel Klein Zwitserland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Buunderkamp
1.7 mi away
Hotel De Bilderberg - Trattoria Artusi
4.4 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#1 of 14 in Arnhem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem

Property: Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem
Address: Kabeljauwallee 35, 6865 BL Doorwerth, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Doorwerth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Doorwerth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Doorwerth
Doorwerth Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing