We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD BASE FOR INTERLAKEN/LUCERNE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Krone Giswil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Krone Giswil
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Giswil
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“GOOD BASE FOR INTERLAKEN/LUCERNE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Krone, for 6 nights at the beginning of June, as part of the Leger Swiss Alpine Railway holiday.

Let me say straight away this is not a 5* hotel. It is what used to be called a "pension style" hotel. (classed as 3*) On that basis, and the experience we had, is why I have given it an "Excellent" rating.

The hotel in a little village (Giswil) twixt Interlaken/Lucern. We asked for a balcony room and were given one in the main hotel, (they have 2 annex blocks) Our room was modern, light and airy, and very comfortable. However the bathroom was small, with no bath, but with one of the best showers, I have ever come across.

The food was basic, but of a very good quality and varied. Breakfast, was the usual continental but the 4 course evening meal was very fulfilling. Only downside was the cost of alcoholic drinks which was, as we expected, very expensive!

The staff were polite and helpful, although their grasp of the English language was limited. However, they usually had a smile on their faces and when we left on our final morning, they all came out, onto the pavement to wave goodbye. You don't get that at many hotels!!

Room Tip: We had room 22 on the 2nd floor. This overlooked the road, (similar to our B roads) but the double g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
29
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel in a quiet location so nothing to do if an evening. We where placed in the annex which unfortunately was very noisy. We could hear people snoring, walking around, showering, even using the loo! So take ear plugs! The room itself was basic and clean. Would have been nice if there had been tea making facilities and a couple of English channels on the tv. Not everyone wants to keep going to the main hotel for a hot drink, especially when its raining. The best thing about this hotel was the food, what it lacked in presentation it made up for in taste. We where not served one thing that we didn't like, it was all delicious. One problem in the big dining room was flies, swarms of them, we had competitions to see who could catch the most! Would have been nice if they had put some entertainment on, very boring if you don't have a car which British guests didn't!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justjuicyjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very friendly host, a wonderful and typical restaurant with beautiful wooden furniture and art. Try the local dishes! the rooms are old but well kept, the beds are cofortable and great to fall asleep in no time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fox G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Krone over the New Year holiday. The rooms are clean, comfortable and very warm, we stayed in the Blumenhaus annexe in room 117 and had beautiful views of the church and surrounding mountains. The food was very good and on New Years Eve the Gala dinner was superb, the staff were excellent, very attentive & helpful.The bar was really nice, cosy around the log fire if sometimes it was a little bit smokey. The drinks were reasonably priced considering it is Switzerland, beer was around £4 a pint. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a Leger coach holiday over the Xmas period. Our room was situated in the Blumenhaus annex which is only about 100 feet from the main hotel building. This annex has a lovely outlook towards the village church and surrounding mountains. The church clock chimes every 15 minutes but you soon get used to it and even I as a light sleeper had no problem with it. Our room was large, clean and warm. The bed was especially comfortable and ensured a good nights sleep. We found the food to be well cooked and presented. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The bar area consisted of wooden tables, the only downside being there was no lounge area for guests to relax in. All in all this was a neat and tidy hotel and would recommend to other travellers on this type of holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms 113, 114,115,116 and 117 are situated on the 1st floor of the annex overlooking the church. 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, Surrey UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Visited this hotel on a Leger tour over Christmas. The hotel is listed as a 3* hotel, but I would have judged it as a De/lux hostel. The rooms were clean, warm and the beds comfortable. You could hear people moving about in the rooms above and heard someone snoring next door, so choose the main building for a room. The breakfast was very basic continental and the evening meal provided was unadventurous although well cooked and presented. When I first saw the menu I was concerned, but plain fare can be enjoyable too. The hotel lacked a comfortable lounge area to sit a chat. The bar was traditional too with wooden tables and chairs, no cushioning to soften ones seating! The hotel had 80 British tourist staying with them, so you would expect an English speaking TV channel? No, only Swiss of course, German, French, Italian and Italian. Would they change Sterling into Swiss Francs, no, only Euros or US Dollars. In fact it would appear we Briitsh were not welcome at all from a facilities point of view, so why Leger chose them in the first place?. If you wanted to use their WiFi, well that was 5 Swiss Francs for 15 mins!
Thankfully we were only there for four days. To be fair all the staff without exception were helpful, courteous and worked very hard to ensure we enjoyed ourselves. We noted there was very few staff on rota and had a lot or clients to look after. The Manager of the bar was cheerful and work everyday over Xmas, he was a very helpful individual too. The chiming of the church clock in winter is not a problem, but might take a bit of getting used to in the summer with the window open!

The hotel is well located in Giswil a short walk to the station and within easy reach of Lucerne.On a clear day good views can be enjoyed of the surrounding Alps. If you are not too demanding, but just wish to eat and sleep, then Hotel Krone will be fine.

Room Tip: Try and obtain a room in the main building, far more convenient than using one of the two satellite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have just come back from a Leger Coach trip to Switzerland and stayed in this hotel. I have read some older reviews which did put me off a bit, but I soon forgot about them on arrival. The staff make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. they are running around for you all the time. The food was excellent and always served with a smile.
The hotel itself was very clean and tidy and the rooms were spacious with good facilities. We stayed in the secondary building away from the main house called "the BlumenHaus" and had a balcony looking out to the snow capped mountains. Set in a little village with beautiful views all around. The church bells rung regularly, but this was in keeping with the location and did help to break the silence of the area. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the place for you.
It is just a very short walk to the village shop which has a Spar Convenience store for any last minute shopping. An excellent hotel and holiday. Thanks to all the staff at the Krone Hotel and to Leger Coach Tours.

Room Tip: The BlumenHaus first floor rooms with balconies have fantastic views, but all rooms in this hotel ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giswil
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahnhof Giswil
Hotel Bahnhof Giswil
#1 of 4 in Giswil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Lowen
Hotel Lowen
#1 of 1 in Lungern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Sarnen
Hotel Krone Sarnen
#2 of 3 in Sarnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Seehotel Wilerbad
Seehotel Wilerbad
#1 of 3 in Sarnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
7.3 mi away
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
#7 of 10 in Meiringen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#1 of 1 in Kerns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Giswil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Giswil

Property: Hotel Krone Giswil
Address: Bruenigstrasse 92, Giswil 6074, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Giswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Giswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Krone Giswil 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Krone Giswil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing