We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of Hotel Krone Giswil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Krone Giswil
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Giswil
Kingswinford
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Krone over the New Year holiday. The rooms are clean, comfortable and very warm, we stayed in the Blumenhaus annexe in room 117 and had beautiful views of the church and surrounding mountains. The food was very good and on New Years Eve the Gala dinner was superb, the staff were excellent, very attentive & helpful.The bar was really nice, cosy around the log fire if sometimes it was a little bit smokey. The drinks were reasonably priced considering it is Switzerland, beer was around £4 a pint. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
29
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a Leger coach holiday over the Xmas period. Our room was situated in the Blumenhaus annex which is only about 100 feet from the main hotel building. This annex has a lovely outlook towards the village church and surrounding mountains. The church clock chimes every 15 minutes but you soon get used to it and even I as a light sleeper had no problem with it. Our room was large, clean and warm. The bed was especially comfortable and ensured a good nights sleep. We found the food to be well cooked and presented. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The bar area consisted of wooden tables, the only downside being there was no lounge area for guests to relax in. All in all this was a neat and tidy hotel and would recommend to other travellers on this type of holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms 113, 114,115,116 and 117 are situated on the 1st floor of the annex overlooking the church. 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, Surrey UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Visited this hotel on a Leger tour over Christmas. The hotel is listed as a 3* hotel, but I would have judged it as a De/lux hostel. The rooms were clean, warm and the beds comfortable. You could hear people moving about in the rooms above and heard someone snoring next door, so choose the main building for a room. The breakfast was very basic continental and the evening meal provided was unadventurous although well cooked and presented. When I first saw the menu I was concerned, but plain fare can be enjoyable too. The hotel lacked a comfortable lounge area to sit a chat. The bar was traditional too with wooden tables and chairs, no cushioning to soften ones seating! The hotel had 80 British tourist staying with them, so you would expect an English speaking TV channel? No, only Swiss of course, German, French, Italian and Italian. Would they change Sterling into Swiss Francs, no, only Euros or US Dollars. In fact it would appear we Briitsh were not welcome at all from a facilities point of view, so why Leger chose them in the first place?. If you wanted to use their WiFi, well that was 5 Swiss Francs for 15 mins!
Thankfully we were only there for four days. To be fair all the staff without exception were helpful, courteous and worked very hard to ensure we enjoyed ourselves. We noted there was very few staff on rota and had a lot or clients to look after. The Manager of the bar was cheerful and work everyday over Xmas, he was a very helpful individual too. The chiming of the church clock in winter is not a problem, but might take a bit of getting used to in the summer with the window open!

The hotel is well located in Giswil a short walk to the station and within easy reach of Lucerne.On a clear day good views can be enjoyed of the surrounding Alps. If you are not too demanding, but just wish to eat and sleep, then Hotel Krone will be fine.

Room Tip: Try and obtain a room in the main building, far more convenient than using one of the two satellite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have just come back from a Leger Coach trip to Switzerland and stayed in this hotel. I have read some older reviews which did put me off a bit, but I soon forgot about them on arrival. The staff make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. they are running around for you all the time. The food was excellent and always served with a smile.
The hotel itself was very clean and tidy and the rooms were spacious with good facilities. We stayed in the secondary building away from the main house called "the BlumenHaus" and had a balcony looking out to the snow capped mountains. Set in a little village with beautiful views all around. The church bells rung regularly, but this was in keeping with the location and did help to break the silence of the area. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the place for you.
It is just a very short walk to the village shop which has a Spar Convenience store for any last minute shopping. An excellent hotel and holiday. Thanks to all the staff at the Krone Hotel and to Leger Coach Tours.

Room Tip: The BlumenHaus first floor rooms with balconies have fantastic views, but all rooms in this hotel ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our stay here was great. The cow bells all day long took awhile to get used to as did the church bells. This is a real Swiss Gem beautiful scenery and the service in the Krone was excellent the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The chalet was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeless61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Located in a beautiful, rural Swiss valley, this unpretentious hotel has several annexes, all close by, with adquate facilities. It stands out, however, by having ever-helpful, friendly staff and delicious food. It caters for coach parties more than individuial travellers, but the standard of the service and food have not been allowed to suffer as a result. Over a five-night period, there was huge approval of the soups ("The best tomato soup that I have ever tasted", for instance) and the main courses were always unexpectedly tasty. The Continental breakfasts were standard, but the muesli incorporating grated apple was above par. We Brits missed our hot options (scrambled egg, fried egg and bacon, sausages, etc.), but had not expected them.
A nearby Catholic church has a very loud clock, chiming every quarter of an hour and chiming the time on the hour. This disturbed our sleep on the first night, but we slept through it thereafter.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and choose to stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimSharrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our stay at Krone was the most memorable one. Location, hospitality and excellent service is what KRONE is.
Serene locations,hospitality is what is wonderful about the hotel.
Looking forward for our next visit and expecting to stay for more time at Krone.
Thank you for the wonderful service offered.
mercy

Room Tip: Choose to stay in cottage than the hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giswil
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahnhof Giswil
Hotel Bahnhof Giswil
#1 of 4 in Giswil
21 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Sarnen
Hotel Krone Sarnen
#2 of 3 in Sarnen
64 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seehotel Wilerbad
Seehotel Wilerbad
#1 of 3 in Sarnen
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#3 of 5 in Hasliberg
36 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
522 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Loewen
Hotel Loewen
#1 of 1 in Lungern
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Giswil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Giswil

Property: Hotel Krone Giswil
Address: Bruenigstrasse 92, Giswil 6074, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Giswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Giswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Krone Giswil 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Krone Giswil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing