We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming staff but flies at dinner”
Review of Hotel Krone Giswil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Krone Giswil
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Giswil
Alton, Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very welcoming staff but flies at dinner”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here with Leger in May 2012. Very small but comfortable double room. Some noise disturbance from footsteps from room above. Biggest problem is the number of flies that plague the dinning room. Fly swatters provided but still not very nice! The hotel is set in some very stunning scenery but not much else going on in the village.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedRob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
29
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with a Xmas in Switzerland tour with Leger Tours. We read reviews about this hotel before we got there and there was a mixed bag. We found this hotel to warm, clean, cosy and very friendly. For a 3 star hotel I found it to be what we expected. The staff were great the food was good and plenty. The beer was cold and their wine celler had good reds. If we are ever in this part of the world again we would stay there again. You get what you pay for and with that in mind if you don't want to pay for 5 star but enjoy a great stay in a very cosy clean hotel then I must recommend this one

Room Tip: Don't be put off if you feel uneasy about rooms being away from the main house. Its really not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shabby169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The people who have bagged this hotel clearly want five star for one star prices. Get real people. For the price of tours that stay here this is perfectly fine. No complaints and a cute setting. Great mountain views.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Not R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I - both retired - stayed there this month with a Ledger Coach holiday on which you don't always get the greatest accommodation (you get what you paid for!!) but this was the best. The bedrooms are in 4 different wooden chalets around the main house - the room was airy with french doors leading onto a balcony with a lovely view. There was lots of Wardrobe and Drawer space, there was a bath and a shower with a window that opened!
The food (half-board) was exceptional with lots of Swiss food for us to try and always a vegetarian option : a starter, then soup, the main course and a desert.
The drinks were expensive (but so is everything in Switzerland) The Staff were very friendly and nearly everybody spoke English. Would I go there as an independent traveller: Oh, yes!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 22oap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Recently ,we stayed as a part of Trafalgar Tour for two days. Location being good 30 minutes drive from Lucerne , it was a kind of 'dead' , after sunset.If someone wants wuiet and only village scene , it was great , but for short duration ,on tourism , it is totally avoidable.Breakfast and one dinner was also average only.Rooms were small , but who designs and provides washing basin in the main 'living 'room....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subhash g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stopped there for 2 nights during our group trip. Our room was good as we were in the "im Mondschein", but some members of our group were on another outside building and their room was like in a basement. It was damped and smelly.

We did like to stay in the middle of this picturesque village.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen_Harbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

it was awful the main reception and dining area was like sitting in part nunnery and school dinner hall and really brightly lit no charachter whatsoever,,it actually reminded us of the bates motel in psycho,food average ,but everyone still hungry after.rooms allocated outside of hotel meant you had a freezing icy walk in darkness,very dangerous,no im sorry anyone wishing to stay there again must be mad,waste of money

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snobunny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Giswil hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giswil
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahnhof Giswil
Hotel Bahnhof Giswil
#1 of 4 in Giswil
20 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Loewen
Hotel Loewen
#1 of 1 in Lungern
132 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Sarnen
Hotel Krone Sarnen
#2 of 3 in Sarnen
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#3 of 5 in Hasliberg
34 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seehotel Wilerbad
Seehotel Wilerbad
#1 of 3 in Sarnen
267 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Giswil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Giswil

Property: Hotel Krone Giswil
Address: Bruenigstrasse 92, Giswil 6074, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Giswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Giswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Krone Giswil 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Krone Giswil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing