We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but Chilly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Forclaz-Touring
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Martigny
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean and very competitive in terms of pricing where the hotels are very pricey. There is a decent bar, the hotel is very conveniently located for dining out and the railway station. The breakfast is very simple but very fresh.
My biggest complaint concerns the rooms on the road side of the hotel (as opposed to the car park side) - I haven't tried the other side so no comment there - but the rooms are small, basic, old-fashioned. The major problem is the heat... the rooms are freezing.. it was very cold outside, the radiator was on full and I needed to use both duvets to keep warm during the night... the rush to and from the shower in the morning was also not much fun. The bathrooms again are tiny... I could partically take my shower whilst on the toilet (and there was a sink between the 2 to give an idea of the size)... apparently (from a colleague) the room on the other side are better.. (and from the evacuation plan) look far larger than the room I had.

Room Tip: Demand a room on the car park side of the hotel if travelling there in the colder months of the year
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phishmonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Forclaz-Touring
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed here after a skiing trip to Verbier. Handy to get to from train station; about a 5 min walk. Hotel is very dated throughout with some odd reproduction Alpine furniture in the corridors, and the quasi neoclassical artwork in the breakfast room was of questionable taste. Bedroom was pretty Spartan but very clean. Staff at reception very helpful & friendly. Breakfast was modest but adequate. Aesthetic faults aside, this hotel is in a convenient location and cheap, especially so for Switzerland, representing good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowbunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Drove late night into Martigny and needed to crash so looked at a couple of places and then decided on this one. The hotel reception and corridors have an old feel to them, although parts of my room were done up recently. The bathroom especially was totally redone and new. The room was basic, but clean and comfortable. Service at the reception was good, given that I did come in late night when other area hotel receptions weren't even open. There was a loud bar downstairs, but it didn't disturb me much. Free wifi and parking too. Overall, keeping price in mind, a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaggageClaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Overall my overnight stay at Forclaz-Touring was average.

I chose this hotel for its quite central location - a few steps from the railway station and the historic city centre. Fare for a single room was 95CHF/night - a cheap rate when considering high Swiss prices. Breakfast buffet is included.

Check-in was quick and staff polite but a bit disinterested.
My room was rather small but quiet enough and offered basic amenities: large closet with a few coat hangers, small desk with a chair, basic but comfortable single bed. Bathroom featured only basic amenities. TV was quite antic and offered only a few channels. All equipment were working properly, though.
Bathroom is small but shower and WC were spotlessly clean.

I was a bit disappointed by the breakfast buffet. Buffet is well-presented, however choice was rather limited: cold cuts, local preserves, cheese, yoghurts, cereals. No hot food available. Staff was welcoming but a bit slow. A few copies of the local newspaper (in French) were available at the reception.

All in all it is an average 3-star hotel - quite acceptable for an overnight stay, but not recommended for longer vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank q-sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed in a family room with 4 single beds as a stopover night en route . The room was plain and simple but very clean and comfortable with a mountain view and of an adequate size for a stopover -however had not been made up on arrival 3.30 pm. The room was good value for Switzerland - the breakfast was poor value. Bathroom had bath with shower over. No mini bar or safe in room. Advertised Wi Fi not available in our room.
Private free car park at rear of building. No offer of help with luggage - elevator very small.
Advertised restaurant was closed for July and August - reception staff helpfully drew map with walking directions to town centre restaurants - a 10 minute walk away - an offer to book a table or call a cab would have been appreciated.
It was a very hot day and the air conditioning worked well but adjoining pub and car park made rear facing room noisy at night.
Clean comfortable rooms and good value mean I would use again and can recommend it but although public areas look 3 star, rooms and service are what you would expect of a 2 star.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eastleigh_News
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2007

I stayed at the Forclaz over the President's Day weekend, mid-February.

Reason was the hotel in Martigny is central to the three ski areas that comprised the planned Ski Safari trip: Verbier, Portes du Soleil, and Crans Montana.

It's a hotel that caters to large bus groups. Which was great since we were a large bus group, one of two or three.

The reception desk could be crowded, the reception staff a little harried, but they were friendly nonetheless.

The room was clean. The duvet covers very warm. The bathroom furnished with a solid doored shower, and, oddly for a European hotel, in addition to towels for drying off, they also provided washcloths. The wood paneling on the walls and ceiling was a little dated perhaps. And the television a little small, but overall the room was fine. We were there to ski, not live a second life after all.

The breakfast was a buffet, with limited cold cuts and cheese selections, croissants or sliced bread, yogurt, boiled eggs, jam, etc. Coffee was provided on the table.

The dinner was off a prepared menu. And very tasty. Both meals they offered "2nds" of additional noodles and goulash, vegetables, and french fries.

The bar was a little smoky, but not outrageously loud (and outrageously loud is a European "party" expectation), and clean

Overall, the room was clean and neat, the sheets and towels smelling laundry fresh every day, the food was good and plentiful, and the staff friendly. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2005

My wife, 2.5 year-old daughter, and I stayed at the Hotel Forclaz Touring (rated 3 *) in late August. It’s very close to the train station, about a block away. Martigny is a small town, so all of the main attractions, banks, restaurants, and grocery stores are within walking distance.

When we came to our room, I felt like I was walking back into my college dorm. The wood of the furniture was old, chipped, and scraped from many years' use and the carpet looked like it had not been changed in decades. The room had a smoky odor, and there was no refrigerator or safe, much less internet access. Our bed sheets weren’t even washed clean! At least the bathroom was cleaner than that of my college dormitory.

Breakfast was standard fare, and service was lacking. On several occasions, there was no one at the front desk and we had to go searching the first floor for a clerk. When they were there, they were smoking as they worked. I'm not sure how they maintain a 3-star rating - I checked out of the hotel feeling like I needed a shower. Please don’t stay here.

1  Thank fraychel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martigny
0.6 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant du Stand
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vatel
Hotel Vatel
#2 of 9 in Martigny
167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#8 of 9 in Martigny
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Porte d'Octodure Hotel
0.5 mi away
Motel des Sports
Motel des Sports
#7 of 9 in Martigny
41 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel de Fully
Hotel de Fully
#1 of 1 in Fully
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forclaz-Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forclaz-Touring

Address: rue du Leman 15, Martigny 1920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Martigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Martigny
Price Range: $110 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forclaz-Touring 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Forclaz-Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Forclaz Touring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing