We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“st bernard dogs”

Musee Et Chiens Fondation St. Bernard
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Martigny
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“st bernard dogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We spent a few hours in this museum. They have 9 dogs on display and you can pat the dogs ( take photographs)when they come out of their enclosures. Upstairs are the displays- many interesting photos and informaiton on the monks and St bernard dogs themselves.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank gypsies5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    76
    40
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Adorable Dogs but So Much More!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Yes, the dogs are absolutely lovely and so well cared for, but this is also a terrific museum that paints a fascinating picture of history and life in this beautiful part of the world. The presentation in the museum is first class and will appeal to all ages. Lovely shop as well. We didn't go into the restaurant but it looked to be very high quality. Combine this with the nearby Pierre Gianadda Foundation with its world-class art exhibitions, Roman artefacts and fantastic vintage car collection and you have a great day out! Thoroughly recommended!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank woburnjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must in Martigny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Museum with St.Bernard puppies, a must! Brings back good childhood memories from watching Beethoven!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great visit (for dog lovers and also History of the Alps)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Yes, for dog lovers, but also a very interesting History Museum of Alpine life, at the time when rescue dogs were, with human efforts, the only means of rescue. Very informative, lots of inspiring artifacts. Takes you to a time and space that is both romantic and heroic. This carried my away for two hours. Besides, there were 10 female St-Bernard dogs. One was with her litter of three or four ( born about Dec 20, 2011): lovely. Really a rare opportunity. Good gift shop. They have a very well made children`s book about the story of Barrie, the legendary rescue St-Bernard dog ( based on true story). They have it in 4 languages, exquisite illustrations. I bought one for my nephew, read it later in the hotel room, then, another day, went back to that gift shop to buy more for my friend`s children. Inspiring read even for an adult, and good general culture for a child (age 7 – 12 yo, I would say). So, not to be missed in Wallis, especially for dog lovers and people interested in History in the Alps.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 88puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“For dogs lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Typical swiss dogs, the museum will show you live dogs and artifacts about their history.
The last floor always hosts interestig temporary exhibits.
In summer, some of the dogs will be at the Grand saint bernard hospice.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 6voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Et Chiens Fondation St. Bernard also viewed

Martigny, Canton of Valais
Martigny, Canton of Valais
 
Martigny, Canton of Valais
Martigny, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Musee Et Chiens Fondation St. Bernard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing