We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Meisser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Meisser
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Guarda
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights here from Sept 8-11, 2010. It is a delightful hotel in a beautiful town - we booked here based on other reviews and were not at all disappointed. The hotel had a very warm feel - each room unique - with the staff so sweet and helpful. We loved the evening fires, the delicious food in their restaurant (if you stay here you must dine in at least once - best meals we had in Switzerland) and the views of the Engadine mountains could not be beat. Guarda was by far the most picturesque town we visited in the region. Although the train station is at the bottom of the hill, a very efficient and cheap Post Bus carriers people and luggage from the station to the town center. We HIGHLY recommend this hotel and a visit to Guarda.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soy_latte_togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    44
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
176
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
419 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Meisser is a small family-run hotel in the Engadine area of Switzerland and it had some very nice and comfortable features. The rooms were comfortable and the restaurant dining had terrific views of the entire valley and mountain areas. Average Swiss style breakfast had some nice breads and cheeses and the dinner we had included a nice salad buffet. Well run and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

The Hotel Meisser was a very delightful experience, set in the most charming setting, it was just literally stepping back in time. Very quite, peaceful, relaxing and romantic.
The Meisser family and staff were very welcoming and charming.
Of course we booked and stayed in room 15, where else!
One could stay on the balcony all day without ever going out, the scenery and colours on the mountains, the pastures and river inn valley below constantly changing, absolutely stunning.
The room, although not large was more than adequate and extremely comfortable, but then again you had the balcony anyway which was great, complete with table & seating.
The first thing you see when you open your eyes from bed in the morning, sorry, no the second thing says my other half!!! is the mountain opposite, no sky, just forest and granite rock, which one morning, in the middle of July incidentally, was sprinkled in a light dusting of snow.
The selection at the breakfast table was very fresh & plentiful. The waitresses helping & assisting in your every need.
Must see trips myself & partner enjoyed - The village of Guarda itself, such wonderful ancient preserved and renovated buildings, the walk to Bos-Cha and Ardez, The spa & thermal spring pools at Scuol, where a remarkable three hours worth was spent one evening, Tarasp castle and village, the Swiss national park, the cable car journey up to Diavolezz & Morteratsch glacier, the Bernina and Albula passes complete with the world heritage Rhaetian railway.
Time for us simply ran out.
A truly wonderful holiday, Shall we return, well, yes, wild Chamois or Ibex couldn’t keep us away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tumblewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pully
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

The location is exceptional (charming village), quiet room and beds very comfortable. The service is pleasant and very attentive. The breakfast is marvellous with all the choice possible ! The view that looks out on the montains is impressive, too.
The area of the village Guarda permits a lot of discovery (charming villages and national parc). To be there one time absolutely !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellaPully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

From first stepping inside the hotel you feel relaxed and comfortable. A lovely hotel, attentively run, with fine views. We only stayed 4 days but loved it and will hopefully return. The area is lovely and quiet but with good walking. We stayed in room 27 which has a fantastic view up the valley from the shower. We agree with all the favourable comments made by other reviewers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancashire user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

Superb setting, wonderful hotel, simple but with all the details just right
The staff are extremely helpful, friendly and genuine
Great access to spectacular hiking
Food is tremendous; breakfast is so nice, dining room so attractive and dinner is excellent

Pure air, treat hikes whisks you away from the every day accumulation of stress

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul32066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

The hotel is quiet with good service, friendly personel, traditional quality kitchen, magnificent garden and views. It is not cheap but worth the money. We certainly will come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avanherwerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guarda
9.1 mi away
Guarda Lodge
Guarda Lodge
#1 of 4 in Guarda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Romantica Val Tuoi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piz Buin
Hotel Piz Buin
#4 of 4 in Guarda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Chaste
Schlosshotel Chaste
#1 of 1 in Tarasp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 16 in Scuol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Paradies
Hotel Paradies
#1 of 3 in Ftan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meisser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meisser

Property: Hotel Meisser
Address: Dorfstrasse 42, Guarda 7545, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Guarda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Guarda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meisser 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guarda, a cluster of very old intricately painted farmhouses with flowers at every window, nestles on a mountain shelf high above the Engadine Valley - one of the most picturesque hideaways in Switzerland. Happily, there is a gem of a hotel to match the perfection of the village. The Hotel Meisser is beautifully situated on a promontory overlooking the expanse of green valley below, with a terrace where guests can enjoy refreshments an fine food. The hotel, a typical Engadine farmhouse, dates back to the 17th century. Throughout the hotel there is an old-world ambiance achieved through the use of antique chests, pieces of old copper, oil paintings, and baskets of fresh flowers everywhere. The main house offers simple accommodation in rooms with shower or bath, and tree rooms afford memorable views an enjoy their own balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Meisser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing