We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth !”
Review of Hotel Meisser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Meisser
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Guarda
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth !”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing week our first visit but not the last. The hotel was lovely and still maintains its home from home feeling, the staff were excellent very friendly and efficient. The food was excellent some of the best we have ever had anywhere on our travels ! The view from the hotel was totally fabulous and we looked forward every morning waking up to the snowy peaks to watch the sun come up before breakfast! The Meisser family have certainly got it right, it is a very friendly, homely hotel very relaxing we didn't want to come home. We look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishermanfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Fischermansfriends

Many thanks to you! Your comments show us that we are on the wright track. Allthough we always ask our self what else can we do better in the future to make our guests even more happy.
Kind regards, see you soon again
Benno Meisser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    44
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
178
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

a very special village, a fantastic location, very good service, very good meals - and an atmosphere which is very relaxing for body, soul and mind - good reasons to come again!

A good place to write novels, to olay an instrument, to mary, to be in nature in winter and summer, in autumn and spring...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Primusfilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Primusfilm

Many thanks for your review.
It was a pleasure to accomondate and host you both over new year.
And it was our pleasure to have so many guests like you who returned for so many times.
Hope seeing you again an other time at the Hotel Meisser.
Kind regards
Benno Meisser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a perfect stay at the unique Hotel Meisser! We enjoyed a very warm and individual hospitality and therefore felt like home. The friendly staff, the wonderful building in the traditional Engadine style and the excellent kitchen left nothing to be desired. The breathtaking view of the lower Engadine valley and the pitoresque village of Guarda are unique and a pleasure to discover. We defiinitively will come back! Thank you very much!

Room Tip: The rooms in the suite building Chasa Pepina in the traditional Engadine style are just gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Silu_12

Also to you a warm thank you.
We enjoied having you at the Hotel Meisser.
Hope seeing you again.
Kind regards
Benno Meisser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamins, Graubunden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much. Hotel Meisser is a very friendly family-run hotel with a very good service, friendly staff and a very good kitchen. From it's sunny terrace you have a wonderful view in the Engadine valley. The Hotel is very clean, with nice rustic decorations. A very nice place to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meli470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Meli470

Many thanks for your review.
It was a pleashure to have you at Guarda and we hope seeing you soon again.
Greetings from the snow white Guarda.
Benno Meisser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We enjoyed our four night stay immensely. The scenery is beautiful beyond description and walks/hikes of all levels can start at the hotel door. The public transport access is great and it is quite easy - and a great relief sometimes - to return by train and post bus. If staying for three nights or more I would recommend the half-board option. The hotel is in a fabulous position, looking east along the valley. The staff were helpful and friendly and the food is good. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: A notice at reception indicates upgrading possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Pfgtravel

Many thanks for your review.
Your oppinion will help others to make the right choice.
We are looking forward seeing you again in the not so far future.
Kind regards
Benno Meisser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hotel Meisser is a comfortable and friendly inn with a wonderful location overlooking the Engadine Valley - a family-run hotel in the best traditions of Swiss hospitality. I enjoyed the quietness, good service and really excellent food and wine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear John W.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay at the Hotel Meisser.
The Meisser’s and there crew like to make there guests happy. You are right, it is probably one of the most authentic villages in Switzerland and the Hotel Meisser sits at the south border of the village overlooking the Engadine Valley.
It’s a great place for hiking and explores the nature and culture of the Swiss Alps, with the Swiss national park it’s just the place to be.
We do recommend staying at least a few nights to really get the best out of it.
We hope seeing you again at the Hotel Meisser at Guarda.
Kind regards
Benno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our 8-day hiking trip started and ended in Guarda. We chose Guarda because it was a small and quaint Swiss village that would delight your heart. For both nights we stayed in Hotel Meisser. The owner and the staff were professional and friendly. The room was rustic and clean. The view from the hotel was serene.

We had two dinners in the hotel restaurant. The overall experience was positive.... the salad and panna cotta dessert were great. I had capuns as main course. The cheese-based sauce was too heavy for me, but the capuns were nicely delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear WoldCulture
This is an other idea, starting and ending your stay at “the Hotel Meisser”.
Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. About the Capuns it is a recipe from my grandma.
Hope seeing you again at Guarda
Kind regards
Benno Meisser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guarda
0.2 mi away
Guarda Lodge
Guarda Lodge
#1 of 4 in Guarda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Romantica Val Tuoi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piz Buin
Hotel Piz Buin
#4 of 4 in Guarda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Chaste
Schlosshotel Chaste
#1 of 1 in Tarasp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 16 in Scuol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Paradies
Hotel Paradies
#1 of 3 in Ftan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meisser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meisser

Property: Hotel Meisser
Address: Dorfstrasse 42, Guarda 7545, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Guarda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Guarda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meisser 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guarda, a cluster of very old intricately painted farmhouses with flowers at every window, nestles on a mountain shelf high above the Engadine Valley - one of the most picturesque hideaways in Switzerland. Happily, there is a gem of a hotel to match the perfection of the village. The Hotel Meisser is beautifully situated on a promontory overlooking the expanse of green valley below, with a terrace where guests can enjoy refreshments an fine food. The hotel, a typical Engadine farmhouse, dates back to the 17th century. Throughout the hotel there is an old-world ambiance achieved through the use of antique chests, pieces of old copper, oil paintings, and baskets of fresh flowers everywhere. The main house offers simple accommodation in rooms with shower or bath, and tree rooms afford memorable views an enjoy their own balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Meisser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing