We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tradtional Swiss hospitality”
Review of Hotel Meisser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meisser
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Guarda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hotel Meisser is a comfortable and friendly inn with a wonderful location overlooking the Engadine Valley - a family-run hotel in the best traditions of Swiss hospitality. I enjoyed the quietness, good service and really excellent food and wine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear John W.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay at the Hotel Meisser.
The Meisser’s and there crew like to make there guests happy. You are right, it is probably one of the most authentic villages in Switzerland and the Hotel Meisser sits at the south border of the village overlooking the Engadine Valley.
It’s a great place for hiking and explores the nature and culture of the Swiss Alps, with the Swiss national park it’s just the place to be.
We do recommend staying at least a few nights to really get the best out of it.
We hope seeing you again at the Hotel Meisser at Guarda.
Kind regards
Benno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 305 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our 8-day hiking trip started and ended in Guarda. We chose Guarda because it was a small and quaint Swiss village that would delight your heart. For both nights we stayed in Hotel Meisser. The owner and the staff were professional and friendly. The room was rustic and clean. The view from the hotel was serene.

We had two dinners in the hotel restaurant. The overall experience was positive.... the salad and panna cotta dessert were great. I had capuns as main course. The cheese-based sauce was too heavy for me, but the capuns were nicely delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear WoldCulture
This is an other idea, starting and ending your stay at “the Hotel Meisser”.
Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. About the Capuns it is a recipe from my grandma.
Hope seeing you again at Guarda
Kind regards
Benno Meisser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights of our two week trip through Switzerland here in the quaint and pretty village of Guarda. It is a most tranquil and beautiful setting-totally off the tourist circuit-and largely a paradise for hikers of all abilities. Hotel Meisser is a lovely property with views to die for and excellent meals prepared with loving care. We took the half-board option (there is not much alternative in this remote location) and found it delicious. However, for the smaller appetite, I believe there is also the option to order a 'la carte from the hotel menu.There are numerous hiking and walking trails beginning right outside the door, to nearby villages or up into the woods, as well as connecting train service if your energy level sags. (A word of warning: Be sure to have the current bus/train schedule in hand, as not every train is met by the bus and Guarda is set upon a very steep hill. It would be quite a climb, particular towing luggage).

Room Tip: You should know that the hotel does not have an elevator, so those with limited mobility may need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Chinana

You just did the right thing! Spending 3 nights at the Hotel Meisser gives you time to enjoy your holidays and not to rush form one place to the other being at the end more exhausted then before. Maybe next time you spend even more time with us to do some more hiking. It is a great place to enjoy the wild swiss alps and to explore the swiss national park. Here you find so many hiking trails you can easily spend 3 weeks with us. But also if someone is more into culture you find a lot of things to do.
We do have a à la carte restaurant where you can eat. For someone who feels like a 4 course menu would be to much, this would be the solution.
(Buses: are not running at 11am, 1pm and 3pm. If you arrive on one of those trains you better tell us and we come and get you. Also if you arrive late at night.)
Hope seeing you again at Guarda
Kind regards
Benno Meisser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

After spending a week in Bellagio and the lakes region we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days at the Meisser Hotel in Guarda, Switzerland. The beautiful scenery midst the mountains and waterfalls was a perfect escape from the crowds of the lakes. The Meisser family and staff were most helpful in answering questions and making suggestion. Our room was roomy and filled with special touches. We opened the windows and there were the mountains right in front of us. We felt invigorated and relaxed. The lovely buffet breakfast each morning started our day and our dinners at night, although not gourmet were more than adequate. We were just enthralled with the Engadine area and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: our room was on the third floor and was very large. I would not recommend it to an older couple who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear jjashworth
My greetings to Maine US!
Hope you had a good journey back home.

You are totally right to combine different areas like the lakes and the mountains together. The drive is not far and the landscape changes. It gives a different feeling, being in the mountains with its fresh air and also seeing fewer people then in other parts. The hiking from and around Guarda is spectacular; you can discover so many things.
Your room was #26, the eagle’s nest. We have many elder couple they take this room because of the view and the space. It’s situated on the second floor (top floor) and you are right if someone can’t walk well it’s maybe difficult to climb up the stairs. But then we have other possibilities.
It would be nice to see you again at Guarda and the Hotel Meisser.
Kind regards
Benno Meisser
Hotel Meisser
7545 Guarda
hotel-meisser.ch
++41 81 861 55 55

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Guarda in Switzerland is a small village with well kept historical houses. It Is located in beautiful landscape and high mountains, welcoming tourists and hotel guests for long walks and hiking.
We discovered Hotel Meisser long time ago, on recommendation of our friends. Since then, we come back every year, and have stopped counting the number of visits.
Hotel Meisser is a family hotel with long tradition. It is nicely and conveniently located in a place with great view, where sound sleep is not disturbed by noise. Well qualified, friendly and motivated staff provides perfect and efficient service. The owners make sure that they are in daily contact with their guests to listen to their wishes. Menu is opulent, with great variety of selection. Hotel is also famous for the well stocked cellar of wines and spirits. Rooms are clean and neat, with all the necessary amenities. Luxury aprtments are available in a house just across the narrow street. There is an outside garden, where one can enjoy lunch, or sunbath in separated place. In hotel there is also peaceful stuvette with fireplace, library and selection of fresh newspapers every day. Hotel Meisser also offers a large car park.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southside have great view, but mountains and meadows around are also something to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Mr. M.
Many thanks for your review. It was so nice to have you at Guarda again and the way you feel makes us happy. A summer without Guarda would not be a summer. I have never heard this before but probably many of our guests feel this way.
I wish you and you wife all the best and hope to see you again next summer.
Kind regards
Benno Meisser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you like:
Modern accommodations in old stables,
Five star food that will exceed your expectations,
Incredibly friendly and helpful people,
Picturesque tiny village with breath taking views all around you,
A rushing river at your feet and snow capped peaks front and back,
Trout in a tank for a fresh caught meal,
And hiking trails everywhere this is your place.
It will exceed your expectations for charm, scenic beauty, people, and food

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwheatleyiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Kwheatleyiii
Many thanks for your review, we are pleased to here that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much.
Hoping to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Benno Meisser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a great time in this charming hotel which is located in a beautiful small village. The hotel is run by a charming and very helpful family. The staff is very efficient and always there to make sure that everything is ok.
We loved the lawn area with the loungers. Great views and a good place to relax after a day of hiking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galit45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Galit45
Yes you are right, we always like to have our guests satisfied and that’s also why we are trying to do as much as possible to look after there needs. Thank you for being with us and that you have liked it so much.
We hope to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards
Benno Meisser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guarda
0.1 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Romantica Val Tuoi
0.3 mi away
Guarda Lodge
Guarda Lodge
#1 of 4 in Guarda
183 reviews
7 mi away
Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Crusch Alba
Hotel Crusch Alba
#1 of 7 in Zernez
180 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Conrad Scuol
Hotel Conrad Scuol
#4 of 15 in Scuol
69 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Bellaval
Hotel Bellaval
#8 of 15 in Scuol
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meisser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meisser

Address: Dorfstrasse 42, Guarda 7545, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Guarda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Guarda
Price Range: $131 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meisser 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guarda, a cluster of very old intricately painted farmhouses with flowers at every window, nestles on a mountain shelf high above the Engadine Valley - one of the most picturesque hideaways in Switzerland. Happily, there is a gem of a hotel to match the perfection of the village. The Hotel Meisser is beautifully situated on a promontory overlooking the expanse of green valley below, with a terrace where guests can enjoy refreshments an fine food. The hotel, a typical Engadine farmhouse, dates back to the 17th century. Throughout the hotel there is an old-world ambiance achieved through the use of antique chests, pieces of old copper, oil paintings, and baskets of fresh flowers everywhere. The main house offers simple accommodation in rooms with shower or bath, and tree rooms afford memorable views an enjoy their own balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Meisser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing