We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casino Hotel

Casino Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casino Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sierre
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

not very modern but well-maintained hotel in a good location. Parking under the hotel, fast wifi. terrible breakfast, absolutely no choice. Reception very friendly helpful staff, as well as (I think) the owner. fantastic view from the window when you wake up :)

Room Tip: dont take the breakfast, go somewhere else ... waste of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exception79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    18
    13
    9
See reviews for
6
15
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have no idea who on god's earth thinks that this is a 3-star hotel. At best this is a 2-star property (and I am being too generous when I say this)

The only positive is that it is close to the train station. But then Sierre itself is so small that everything is close to the train station. The rooms are dated, look tired and need a face lift sooner rather than later. The bathroom is extremely small and good luck fitting into the shower if you are a bit on the bulky side. The elevator leading to the rooms is extremely narrow and can accommodate two people at best with luggage.

I did not bother checking out the (free) breakfast. The restaurants around the hotel offer much better options. If nothing, go to Migros just opposite the hotel and grab something to eat.

On the positive side : the staff was friendly and the bed was comfortable. But apart from this there is nothing that makes this hotel.

Stay here only if you have no other option in Sierre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaphya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sierre hotels

Niort, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for two nights during the Caprice festival. Although travelling with two friends there were no triple rooms so I had a single room, which in fact was a large double room. My friends also had a large double room with sofa bed, so I can't understand why they don't offer an option of triple rooms.
The rooms were fairly clean (some stains on the carpets), large and comfortable, but the decor needs updating. I had difficulty opening the door to the room on a number of occasions and had to get assistance to open it. The blinds on the windows didn't work, so I couldn't close them at night.
The real plus point for this hotel is it's location near the train station and it was just across the road from the Funiculaire, which brought us up to Crans Montana for the festival.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMH1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukewarmCatastrophe
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a night in Sierre in advance of 2 nights in Miege as part of a trip to the Caprices Festival in Crans-Montana. There are only a very small handful of hotels in Sierre and we literally picked the cheapest and this was it (not particulary cheap at £98 a night without breakfast, especially when compared to the fraction of this amount we paid in Miege!) but we felt this one met our needs above the others.

Firstly, the location in relation to the Sierre Railway station was excellent. Go up the small bank upon exiting the station and turn left onto the main street. The hotel is just a short walk along this street on the left hand side. It's difficult to stop at first as it is the "Casino Cafe/Bar" that you see and the entrance to the hotel is actually inside a shopping centre just to the left of this!

As we entered, the young lady on reception said she had been waiting for us and cracked a few jokes which made us giggle - she was very helpful and informative and knew what she was talking about.

We were assigned a room on the fourth floor which was pleasingly spacious as we entered. It smelled fresh and clean and didn't face out onto the street which meant it was also extremely peaceful.

The interior decor was a little spartan (old style television as opposed to flat screen) and the colour scheme, fixtures and fittings seemed a little dated but this didn't particularly bother us as we literally just wanted a good night's sleep in anticapation of heading up to Miege the next day. (The beds are singles, not doubles, but it is possible to push them together providing you don't fall down the crack in the middle ;) )

The bath appeared to have a crack in it and a blue stain (possibly from bleach but unsure) which was a shame - the shower was old fashioned and pretty much impossible to keep in one place on it's holder (it kept on sliding down and rotating) but with a bit of fiddling and some minor body contortion on our part, we just about managed it - we really weren't fussy.

We had clean, ample towels, soap, a hairdryer and plenty of storage space all included.

The hotel has wi-fi but is allegedly 15 francs an hour (no wonder they don't mention this in the literature!!) so be careful with this if its important to you, it wasn't to us.

A needle and thread was also offered as one of the reception services and ironically, we needed to take advantage of this and they had no needle and thread to offer! However, I must give 5 stars to the receptionist who sent us just across the road to the cobbler who managed to sew the button back onto my partner's shoes and save our trip from being ruined (we only brought one pair of shoes each!)

Overall, it just about does what it says on the tin. It's definitely over-priced, but that's just typical of the hotels in this region. I'd have no problem in staying again if I had to, but I may try a few of the surrounding towns besides Sierre next time as it's an ok place, but there's not much there and it was impossible finding a taxi after dark on a Sunday night! - be warned!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukewarmCatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a bad service honestly. Usually you go to a restaurant to be served well and get what you ask for but in this place this was not the case. We arrived and no one attended us therefore we just sat at a table. We were three and we asked for a meat fondue and a cheese fondue. The waiter refused to serve us that instead he decided to give us 2 meat fondues... Then we asked for more lemon for the water and he unkindly answered "no". We where still hungry and we asked for the menu again, when we did he rolled his eyes... very unrespectful. We get the menu tried asking for a cheese fondue again and he said "no" instead he gave us more meat. I honestly don't understand. The stay was good, fairly nice room and the receptionist was nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daggiestraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

It is ok, if you don't spend much time in the room and no time in the hotel itself. Large rooms and bathrooms. Convenient: possibility to store your bike in a locked-up room in the cellar.

If you want to get a good nights sleep: don't go there, because on one side you will hear the street noise and on the other the railway noise.

Nothing cosy, nothing charming. Just a clean hotel with large rooms and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank namumaschm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a music festival in Sierre.
Hotel is basic, cheap but cheerful, the rooms are big with a decent sized and clean bathroom. Nice shower.
Single beds in double room was bit of a downer.
Centrally located, plenty of shops nearby, supermarket over the road, bars/cafes/coffee shops few yards away. 10 minute walk from Lac du Geronde (Geronde lake which is beautiful and amazing for outdoor swimming with water of 20 degrees+!). Only problem was its literally round the corner from the train station which is really handy, but meant noise from the trains is fairly constant from around 8am most mornings (incl weekends!) which isn't good if you're a light sleeper!
All in all though, good, basic, cheap, central, clean with multi-lingual reception staff.

Room Tip: Maybe try to ask for double instead of twin if travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sierre
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
#8 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Diligence
La Diligence
#21 of 41 in Crans-Montana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Arkanum
Hotel Arkanum
#1 of 2 in Salgesch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
ibis Sion Est
ibis Sion Est
#1 of 9 in Sion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Des Vignes
Hotel Des Vignes
#1 of 1 in Uvrier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
#2 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Hotel

Property: Casino Hotel
Address: avenue General-Guisan 19, Sierre 3960, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Sierre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing