We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Villa Caesar
Nearby Hotels
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Casa Concerto(Brissago)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Venus Garden(Brissago)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Primavera(Brissago)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rivabella au Lac(Brissago)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ghiggi(Brissago)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
52
33
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
33
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hotelspacious roomon arrivalexcursionssofaolivesdirectortowelsguestsferrylocarnomountainschairsticinomaggioreview
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 91 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went for this year's season's opening - but that was by chance. Our top floor suite featured two rooms and a large bathroom and a large terrace with an outstanding view of this most beautiful lake. Really in the best spot for Brissago - next to the lake and not close to any major road - the views are just outstanding. All staff are most friendly and helpful, the decent buffet breakfast reasonably priced at CHF 18. What sets this place apart from so many is the friendliness of the staff, the attention to cleanliness, and the most enthusiastic of all hotel directors, Mr. Theisen. So, despite the fact that this hotel has a bit of "patina" accumulated to it, as so many do in Switzerland, you should go there. By the way, the local bus will take you to Locarno in about 20min. CHF 3.10 the fare we paid. Almost forgot - staff are most helpful to organize excursions, walks etc. there are many beautiful spots within reach.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a suit ... Does not cost the world
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Urs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Clean spacious room with large balcony. Hotel mere minutes walk away from the lake. Has an indoor as well as an outdoor pool. Staff very friendly and helpful. Price does not include breakfast which is optional. Alternatively you can select your breakfast and take it to your room (and eat on the Balcony - very nice if the weather is agreeable). Complementary drinks during the afternoon: soft drinks as well as the house wine. Only a few minutes from the bus stop with hourly connections to Locano. We went there towards the end of the season and found both the hotel and Brissago very quite and relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor and above are high enough to see the lake.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AhlanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend, from Fri till Sun. It was part of a prize we won, so we didn't pay for the room ourselves. We had the lakeview suite on the highest floor, which as really nice, big and had an amazing view on the lake.

It's located 10min outside Locarno, but a taxi ride is pretty expensive (around 40 CHF). It's better to take a day ticket for the lake boat which docks 200m from the hotel. It costs 28 CHF for an entire day, hop on hop off in all stops.

The breakfast buffet was decent, you have to pay extra for 2 eggs sunnyside up & bacon.
On sunday there were scrambled eggs & bacon included in the buffet.

The hotel has a nice standard outside pool with lounge chairs, inside pool with free sauna.
No free wifi though. Everything in Switzerland goes through SwissCom which is a national WIFI network.. Prizes are pretty steep though.

Room Tip: Room 51 and 53 have the best view as they are the outsides of the penthouse.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaVaeBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

very nice hotel, close (50 meters) to the lago maggiore with great view on the lake. Good food, friendly staff

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank senormisti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

A hotel with very very comfortable large rooms with a decor that wants to make you linger, read and write a perfect book. My room has an amzing view on the lake - i woudl assume every room has this view but i cannot be sure. But mostly I could not get over how kind and thoughtful the staff was - from extra toothbrushes to making sure i always had the food i wanted at dinner, to bringing me towels when they knew i was in a pool [they have two!]. I spent 2 weeks there: wish i coudl have spent more. All in all - a wonderful hotel in an idyllic place for a relaxing, kind vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dccymbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews