We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
204
9
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
204
9
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite beautiful setting other guests many years plan to return wine list venison swiss hospitality bread wonderful hosts family run place repeat visitors courses coming chaste europe perfection generations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 216 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2017

My husband and I were doing a driving trip through Europe this past September, with two other couples, and the Schlosshotel Chaste was our first stop. We stayed there for three nights and received the best customer service I have ever experienced in twenty years of traveling the world. Everything was perfect from the large, well appointed rooms, to the surrounding scenery and the kindness of the staff. The manager and owner Gian patiently spent time with us in the evenings helping us plan what to do the next day which enabled us to explore and experience without worries. We stayed two hotels in Italy, one in Austria and one in Germany and non of them could even come close to the excellence we received at the Schlosshotel Chaste. My husband and I plan to return to this beautiful hotel in the future as it is well worth a second visit.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SpcyItln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

The hotel has a special character and charm. It’s placed in authentic Engadin house, with a beautiful view of the mountains, small mirror-like mountain lake and a famous Castle Tarasp.
Inside the hotel, it is very cozy and warm (we were there middle October and it was getting chilly), so I really appreciated it.
For history fans, there are many old farm tools exhibited on the walls of the hotel and the restaurant as well. This makes walking around the hotel a bit of a tour.
One of the things I really appreciated in the this hotel were its’ hosts. It is family owned hotel and all the family members we’ve seen have a special joy and energy in running this hotel.
The oldest family member always joins for breakfast and dinners, and greets the guests, asking them about their stay and how they enjoy their food. His son has a passion and energy and love for the business and one can tell it’s really important for them the way their visitors feel. This joy is so tangible, that it made the whole experience of staying at the hotel a wonderful experience.
This hotel has also a small spa area, which we used and enjoyed.
Another of the highlights was the restaurant. For breakfast it offered a variety of seeds, fruits, and healthy cereal; cheeses, multi-corn breads, smoked salmon and cottage cheese. Very nutritious, very tasty and very healthy.
Also, if you drink coffee, ask for cappuccino: I’ve rarely tasted coffee that good!
We unfortunately won’t be coming back, since the stay is quite expensive. (It was a very special occasion this time, so we afforded it) But if you can handle the prices, I absolutely recommend it!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BrownDove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gian Andrea P, Geschäftsführer at Schlosshotel Chaste, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017

Dear Mrs BrownDove

Thank you very much for your amazing review and comment on TripAdvisor. We are very surprised, that you remember so many little details, although it has been more than one year since you stayed at our hotel.

We appreciate it very much, that you took the time for writing down all your experience. So in case you will have some Swiss Francs left and if you are going to change your mind, give us a short phone call (ask for Gian) and we will find a good solution, to show you how thankful we are.

Best regards

Gian A. Pazeller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Given all the superlatives used already to describe this hotel it almost seems pointless to add some more. Nonethless here are a few of mine:

It is evident that this is a project of a lifetime - or several to be precise, and clearly the owners are justifiably proud of what they have created. It seems everything has been thought of and everything works beautifully.

Location - occupying much of the hamlet of Tarasp as the hotel expands to take over the old village buildings. The layout is interesting with a series of small terraces and sitting areas with small garden areas too. The village is a small and unspoilt with views of the old castle (Could have been the set for Colditz), which is open to the public.

Rooms - they seem to be mostly wood panelled in an 'alpine' style, but have been beautifully fitted out and not at all kitsch. Naturally they are well equipped, spacious and clean and most seem to have access to the various terraces. They are also incredibly pretty and like most of the hotel, have some beautiful wood carvings and furniture. Its wonderful to think that such skills still exist. Some have small log fires.

Public rooms - there is a series of smaller rooms, which are incredibly pretty and comfortable. The dining room is very beautiful and comfortable.

Food - Now it gets serious. The cooking here is of the highest order and clearly the chef is very much at the top of his game. Superbly cooked with balanced and well judged menus and portions, clearly chef has a great palate as well as cooking skills. Service in the restaurant is superb of course with courses coming at steady and well spaced intervals. Quite perfect and good value too. Good wine list.

Service - Well of course the family are dedicated to their hotel and this comes through in the friendly and helpful service and welcome throughout.

A couple of small considerations - this is a mountain village and the hotel is in old buildings - access might be tricky for anyone unable to cope with stairs and parking is a couple of hundred metres away (with garage available - Chf 14). If you have access issues I'd advise calling the hotel for advice.

There really are no faults with the hotel with everyting of the highest order and clearly well thought out, added to a wonderful location and beautiful buildings this really makes probably one of the world's best small hotels.

Room tip: They will all be superb. Obviously there is no noise - its a tiny hamlet with a few houses, so very peaceful at night.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gian Andrea P, Geschäftsführer at Schlosshotel Chaste, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Inari

What a great review, we are speechless.

Your comment makes us very happy, it makes us proud of what we build up the last years and gives us the confidence that we are doing well, but it's also a good help for all people searching for a holiday hotel on TripAdvisor.
We very much appreciate your effort.
You will be very much welcome at any time.
Best regards
Gian A. Pazeller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

If you are looking for comfort as well as an excellent service - just visit this lovely place. Located on a hill, with a wonderful scenery and quiet/peaceful surrounding, this place is worth to spend a night or two. You will be extremely pleased. This family run place makes you feel just like home. The whole staff is very friendly and makes sure that your are comfortable in staying at the Schlosshotel Chaste. The son who is now in charge knows how to make you feel welcome. Perfection lies in the details - and there is room for improvement in that area. But you are treated like a king. Can't wait to go back!

Room tip: This small village is so quiet and the rooms so well insulated that I would not know what to add.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeanlucp731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gian Andrea P, Geschäftsführer at Schlosshotel Chaste, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Jean-Luc
Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate it, that you took the time to go online and to share the experience you made with us and the Schlosshotel Chastè.
For us it was also a pleasure to host you and you will always be welcome.

Best regards

Gian A. Pazeller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

Enjoyed a very memorable stay at this exquisite family run Relais & Chateaux hotel. We chose it for its remote location nestled at the foot of a castle surrounded by glorious pine forests and mountains, and beautiful architecture and gardens where it was so easy to relax. The hospitality was perfect – helpful and friendly especially to my two young children, food (half-board option) was something special to look forward to and savour every day. It is the kind of place which you want to keep secret for yourself and yet also feel compelled to share and promote. Thank you to Familie Pazeller and staff for a wonderful week and we look forward to another visit!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Londoner838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gian Andrea P, Geschäftsführer at Schlosshotel Chaste, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Allegra chara duonna W.

Grazia fich per la grondiusa valütaziun sün TripAdvisor.
Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. It was also for us a great pleasure to host you and your two daughters, you are welcome at any time.

Best regards, also to your daughters

A revair in la bella Engadine
Gian A. Pazeller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews