We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
204
9
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
204
9
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite beautiful setting other guests many years plan to return wine list venison swiss hospitality bread wonderful hosts family run place repeat visitors courses coming chaste europe perfection generations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 216 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

I spent two lovely days at Schlosshotel Chaste and enjoyed every moment. The meals were delicious and the hotel's family owners provided outstanding suggestions on hiking trails and activities. I plan to return with my family next summer. The castle located in front of the hotel is really interesting and well worth a visit.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Seabiscuit1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016

Out of 3 weeks lodging in Switzerland and Italy, this hotel was by far our favorite! We were only able to stay for two nights, so are already planning a much longer trip back. We stayed in a suite with a view of the castle, which is especially beautiful lit up at night. Of course being a Relais and Chateaux hotel we knew it would be fabulous, but it surpassed our every expectation. The entire staff is warm and very sweet and at the same time very professional. We were happy to just spend time there, but enjoyed our hike in the misty rain. What a spectacular area if you like hiking. And if you are a foodie, you won't find better! Our breakfasts and dinners were the highlight of our trip. Thank you so much, Pazeller family, for sharing your place with us. We really can't wait to come back!!!

Room tip: We loved our suite!
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StaceyAlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gian Andrea P, Geschäftsführer at Schlosshotel Chaste, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2016

Dear Mrs and Mr. K.
Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. It was also for us a pleasure to have had you as our guest and specially to start the summer season with lovely people like you.
We are also ooking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards
Gian A. Pazeller with parents and the Schosshotel Chastè team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2016

What a special hotel this is. It is a jewel in every way. The setting is extraordinary and the family who own it are so warm, gracious, and welcoming. Our room was beautifully furnished and offered every possible amenity.
The food is exceptional. The haute cuisine is beautifully prepared and artistically presented.
The younger son who deals with reservations and taking care of,guests was so helpful. He suggested many local,excursions which added to the pleasure of,our three days there.
The hotel is located in one of the most special and unspoiled areas of Switzerland.
It is worth the special detour to visit this special inn.

Room tip: A junior suite Room 134
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

I'd saved taking my wife to this hotel for a special event - our 20th Wedding Anniversary.
The stay was simply stunning and I would have gladly changed our plans and stayed with the hosts all week.

The exquisite hotel is an authentic farmhouse, thoughtfully modernised and extended. We stayed in one of the rooms towards the rear of the hotel with a balcony and views across the valley towards Schoul. Our room was large with sitting area and fireplace. All set ready to light.

The evening meals were to die for - taste and sight delivered each time we ate.

The family who run the hotel make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive until the final goodbye.

The gardens perched above the reception area are great to spend some time in as is the Library inside.

Oh - they may in passing mention they have a small steam room and sauna in the basement - it's underplayed. We left it until our final day to visit - it's one of the most beautiful fitted out Hotel Spa's we've ever seen. Peaceful, quiet and a haven. You can book in advance for Spa Treatments too.

Add to this the delightful little village and castle - views and walks abound.

This place is Heaven on Earth.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tig121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2015

This is the second year in a row that our family has stayed at the Schlosshotel Hotel in Tarasp. We will be back next year. The hotel is the finest we have stayed in during our thirty years of vacationing in Switzerland. The hotel has been in the Pazeller family for 21 generations (500 years, previously a farm), and the family takes great care to make sure that in all respects it delivers the highest quality and most responsive service in incredibly comfortable rooms. Here there are none of the many detractions that characterize so many Swiss hotels, things large and small. The rooms are all very nice sized with beautiful light traditional woods. The bathrooms are modern with standalone showers as well as tubs, and the finest granite counters. The rooms are well lit. The towels and other linens are first class and plentiful. There are plenty of electrical outlets and in most rooms the wireless is quite good. Small things which can be so irritating to a non-European visitor are well-covered (we are from Texas). For instance there are large wastebaskets, with plastic bags. The rooms are airy, and provide a very relaxed feeling.

The hotel is situated immediately below the famous Tarasp Castle. The town is quiet and friendly, and has easy access to an Olympic size swimming pool. The hotel has its own spa, which is small but very nicely done. The access to hiking and other outdoor activities of every degree of challenge is excellent, and there are endless walks and rambles starting from the property to be had. Importantly, one does not feel that one is overwhelmed, or hardly impinged on, by a horde of tourists, and that makes the area especially nice.

The restaurant, like the hotel, is Relais & Chateaux, and the food is superb, both breakfast and dinner. We prefer to eat less formally, and were able to without sacrificing the quality or presentation of the wonderful, very high end meal--a gourmet meal after a long day’s hiking without having to spend hours in the restaurant.

Most importantly, the present members of the Pazeller family, led by Gian, insure that everything is taken care of and well done, very flexibly responding to all of their guests’ needs.

We could not more highly recommend a vacation hotel in Switzerland than the Schlosshotel in Tarasp.

Room tip: all are good
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glr1glr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews