We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It would be difficult to conjure up a more beautiful hotel and setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schlosshotel Chaste
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarasp
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It would be difficult to conjure up a more beautiful hotel and setting.”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We picked this hotel for two reasons: it is a member of the Relais et Chateaux organisation (and we have never been let down at a Relais et Chateaux hotel) and its location in the Engadine in Switzerland, a beautiful, if not remote, part of Switzerland. The Schlosshotel Tarasp is worthy of its Relais et Chateaux association and it exceeded our expectations all around.

The building has been in the same family for 500 years. It is a gorgeous Engadine structure completely renovated in and out. Tarasp is a small mountain village with beautiful buildings covered in flowers. This area is a hiker's paradise (and runner's as well, if you like trail running, as I do). Our experience is often hotels have mediocre food - not this hotel. The food is excellent and they have a well-stocked wine cellar with fairly priced wines. Breakfast is a traditional Swiss breakfast with fantastic fresh breads, local cheeses, cold meats, yogurts and the like.

We had three rooms as we were traveling with family and although each room was different, it felt as if one was staying in someone's most wonderful vacation home, rather than a hotel. The rooms are in the style of the Engadine with wood paneling and fabulous beds. All rooms have a fabulous outlook. There are many terasses to enjoy the views and the mountain air. This place is quiet, pastoral and of first rate quality.

Our only regret is we stayed only two nights.

A small niggle - the Swiss have a well-known disdain for air conditioning and breezes in general. The temperature in the dining room of the hotel was easily in the high twenties and if a window was opened, someone promptly shut it - guests and staff alike.

We'd highly recommend this hotel. A stunning location and beautiful, well-maintained historical building. Tarasp isn't easy to get to but it is absolutely worth the trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianm290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
86
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I spent months planning our trip to Switzerland; my third trip in 10 years. I wanted to get beyond the most common tourist destinations and see new parts of the country I had never seen before. So, I chose to spend several days in the Lower Engadine Valley at the Schlosshotel Chaste. It became our favorite hotel of our 2 week trip. First, if your train arrives at night, the hotel sits below a 12th century castle, which is all lit up and spectacular to see from the train. The village is quite small and so quiet, which is exactly what we were looking for. Exploring the other local villages was easy to do when combining hiking with either a local bus or train. At the end of a long day hiking, it was heaven to come back to the Schlosshotel Chaste and relax. We both had massages at the end of the day that were very good and you need to plan these in advance (make arrangements that morning or the evening before). The meals were exquisite, the dining room charming, the staff was attentive; the family who runs the hotel is so dedicated to a high quality experience. We loved our room and the beds. Our room had a door to the outside, so we felt like we were staying in a cottage instead of a standard hotel room. When you are making the decision of which hotel to stay at in this region and you are thousands of miles away, it feels like a momentous decision. But, once we arrived in the region, it really is no contest at all. The Schlosshotel Chaste is without a doubt the best in the local area. It is ideal if you want a peaceful retreat in the country. If you want lots of action, it's not the place for you. We intentionally didn't stay in St. Moritz because we felt it was going to be "too busy". It turned out to be the right decision. We loved our stay so much at the Schlosshotel Chaste, that we cancelled a three day excursion to Lugano and instead extended our stay here. Again, we wanted to avoid the summer crowds of Lugano and avoid a noisy city. When you are in the village of Tarasp, you can easily imagine life as it was hundreds of years ago.

Room Tip: We loved the rooms that had doors to the outside--it felt like coming home to our own country cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brownfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
257 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed for a weekend and discovered the beauty of the lower Engandin. Impressive mountains, picturesque villages, green meadows and friendly people. The hotel is a gem in the local traditional style of chalets. Yet very modern. It offers all the amenities and the cuisine is extraordinary. The owners, the Parzeller family, do everything to make ones stay pleasant and unforgetable. The near-by castle is beautifully maintained and we had the pleasure to enjoy a memorable dinner with friends (catered by the hotel) in an impressive dinning room. 10 minutes away is a rather challenging 9-hole golf course (Golf Club Vulpera). The hotel is a reason to go back to the Engadin.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The Hotel Chaste is run in the 22nd (!) generation by the family Pazeller and it shows: Their hospitality and love for the details is amazing. The Chaste is great if you want to go hiking in the National Forest or enjoy the untouched sites of the Unterengadin, like Sent and Ftan, where you can also enjoy great restaurants!
We had a dinner with friends at Chaste and it was outstanding!I can recommend the tower suite or the other suite, you will enjoy a nice seperate sitting/dining room with a huge flat panel TV, a large bathroom and a cosy bedroom. They offer free wifi, but at miserable speed .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisscheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

May wife and I had traveled with our two sons and their families-children 5-14 for two weeks in the alps in Austria and the Dolomites in Italy...walking vacations...absolutely wonderful, especially to be with the kids and grandkids. Then we went by ourselves to the Engadine Valley. We've been six or eight times to other parts of Switzerland but this was our first here. We treated ourselves the last three days to the Schlosshotel Chaste. It is terrific...high end for our normal vacations but if you want to splurge make sure it's perfect...and this is it. Everyone from the chef to the receptionist to our waitress were nice and helpful. The room and the views were gorgeous. Tarasp probably doesn't have...at least around the area of the hotel more than 100 year round residents. And then, of course, there is what we came to refer to as "our castle", started in 1100, 500 years before the hotel, sitting up there above us, looking down. And the food was exquisite. Finally it would be difficult to say too much about the beauty of the setting.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
245 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

This hotel is ideally located in a remote setting. Big on nature for walking and hiking. The hotel feels like an upscale family inn, which it is. They will make you feel welcome. Take full advantage of the restaurant. This is the best food we've had in Europe. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My wife and I greatly enjoyed staying here. It is one of the prettiest places we have ever stayed at with beautiful flowers all around. One of hte things which makes it special is the "hands on" aporoach of the owners, Rudy and Daniela Pazeller and their son, Gian. Rudy is not only the owner but an excellent chef. An affable, friendly man, he always made the rounds of the tables at dinner and breakfast. The hotel is a member of the Relais & Chateaux group and is an outstanding place to stay. It is near the base of the Schloss Tarasp, one the beautiful castles of Switzerland, perched on a mountain top and there are great views of the castle from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skytop82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarasp
6.3 mi away
Guarda Lodge
Guarda Lodge
#1 of 4 in Guarda
154 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 16 in Scuol
229 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Meisser
Hotel Meisser
#2 of 4 in Guarda
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Romantik Boutique Hotel Guardaval
2.1 mi away
Hotel Astras
Hotel Astras
#1 of 16 in Scuol
226 reviews
5.3 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Romantica Val Tuoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Chaste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Chaste

Property: Schlosshotel Chaste
Address: Sparsels, Tarasp 7553, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Tarasp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarasp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel Chaste 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schlosshotel Chase is a charming Engadine house with modern comfort in a very quiet and sunny location. Our guests get relaxed in the beauty of our nature, our comfortable Swiss pine rooms and our wellness area with different saunas, steam bath and massages. We pamper our guests with culinary delights from the Chaste gourmet kitchen. During 500 years enchanted by the Castle of Tarasp - evolution and tradition of a farmhouse. The transformation of the farm into a hotel started in 1912 by installing a modest inn and grocery store during the restoration of the castle. In 75 years the hotel established its international reputation for its syntheses of nostalgic ambiance, exquisite courtesy and top-level cuisine in paradisiacal environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Schlosshotel Chaste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Chaste Tarasp
Schlosshotel Chaste Hotel Tarasp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing